• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 17, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Revolution Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 345 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In a post-apocalyptic America, where all technology had ceased to work 15 years ago, people are living under the control of militias and warlords. Charlotte "Charlie" Matheson (Tracy Spiridakos) seeks out her uncle (Billy Burke) and kidnapped brother along with answers to how everything changed.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 17, 2012
    83
    The pilot, directed by co--executive producer Jon Favreau ("Iron Man"), poses numerous questions, and to the credit of everyone involved, delivers some surprising payoffs that other shows would hold for weeks, if not seasons.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 14, 2012
    80
    The mind reels with possibility, and even hope, which is why we keep coming back to stories like these.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Sep 17, 2012
    70
    Ambitious setups like this don't always hold up, but Revolution has the potential to be a more disciplined "Lost"--not necessarily more plausible but with any luck less preposterous and pretentious.
  4. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 13, 2012
    60
    The clash between the callow and the compelling set off an ongoing debate between the hopeful part of my brain, which wants to like a sci-fi-ish show dreamed up by executive producers J.J. Abrams and Eric Kripke, and the scarred part of my brain, which has been burned dozens of times by genre-flavoroed shows that had interesting elements or cast members but also disappointing executions and annoying younger characters.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 17, 2012
    60
    A cool premise can only take a show so far, and there's some work to do on the character front to make the show worthy of using all available technology not to miss.
  6. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 17, 2012
    60
    Revolution is just all right, no better, no worse.
  7. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 18, 2012
    40
    On the bright side, no one is in danger of having to watch this inert action show.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 122
  2. Negative: 57 out of 122
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Acting needs to improve but there's too much talent working on this show for it not to be good. I'm predicting it'll become a solid show by episode five. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    i have watched every episode and can't wait until season 2. this show has really captured my attention! Eric Kripke keep up the good work and go on like NCIS. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers. Ok i have read many many many of the reviews that people have posted and i want you to think about this, you compare a gun to an engine, most engines are more than just simply controlled explosions unless you are talking about the first initial style of engines like steam, which if you would watch more than 1 or 2 episodes you would see they use and obviously work, they are not so simple. Modern day engines have computers controlling every function carefully regulating the impute and output and that aside you still need to generate a spark, and your battery gives you that initial spark and alternator keeps the power flowing without that you have nothing. Now look at a gun there is NOTHING electronic in it, a bullet contains a primer powder and bullet as simply as can be put, all guns operate on the same premise a hammer strikes a firing pin that strikes the primer and that ignites the powder. Nothing electronic at all.

    As for the one militia controlling the entire united states, yet again if you would watch more than one episode you would see that there are many militias and the Monroe militia is only controlling part of the country.

    "Physics went mad" that was not an explanation this was someone who didnt understand what went wrong and was trying to put some meaning to it. The more of the show you watch the more is revealed.

    So please before you try and bash a show think about what you are saying and if you gave it a fair shake, one episode maybe two not enough shows have to develop, things that are said at the start that may not make sense to you, but later on you understand, without these plot developments there would be no buildup and without buildup and actual conflict and resolutions you cannot have a functioning form of entertainment
    Collapse
  4. Sep 13, 2013
    4
    Not a horrible 'concept' for a television show, and has its moments. However, the acting is absolutely dreadful and the situational story lines are far fetched in their best moments. In short, very difficult to watch a whole episode without rolling your eyes a bit as yet another conveniently loose bolt frees your hero from near death situation once again. Sure are a lot of loose bolts in post apocalyptic Illinois huh? Two of them in the first four episodes. That is my warning to you. If lazy cliched action adventure writing and poor carpentry is your thing. This is the show for you. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Miles gets taken and tied up by Monroe gets taken and tied up by Both escape and kill (number of their captors). Fill in the blanks, and you've got any given episode of Revolution. Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2013
    2
    Poor execution of an interesting premise. I love sci-fi and dystopia, so thought this one would be a safe bet. The show starts with some promise, but wooden acting, awful dialog and increasingly unbelievable characterisation and plot lines make this one to miss. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2012
    0
    This show can be technically good but sometimes that's not enough, all the things happen again and again and (i think) that's cliche.Even Giancarlo Esposito couldn't save it. Expand

See all 122 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Second Look: Revolution (NBC)

    Fall TV Second Look: Revolution (NBC) Image
    Published: October 9, 2012
    Throughout the next month, we'll be taking a second look at select new fall television shows to see how critics' opinions are evolving. We start today with a re-evaluation of NBC's hit "Revolution."
  2. 2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide

    2012 Fall TV Preview: Our Night-by-Night Guide Image
    Published: August 28, 2012
    Our massive preview has details on the most promising new shows and your favorite returning series arriving during the coming months, from "Last Resort" and "Revolution" to "American Horror Story" and "The Walking Dead." You'll also find schedules for each night of the week, and a look at what the networks have planned for midseason.