Rick & Morty : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
Rick & Morty Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 566 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (SpencerThe animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (Spencer Grammer). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. 80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 71
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 71
  3. Negative: 4 out of 71
  1. Aug 14, 2015
    10
    way better than your standard tv show. Rick 'n Morty are a lot of fun to share a few hours with. it's like a Southway better than your standard tv show. Rick 'n Morty are a lot of fun to share a few hours with. it's like a South Park/Futurama/Superjail/Twilight Zone cocktail, with just the right mix. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and IThis show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2016
    10
    Epic, 10/10, would give more points to compensate for all the butthurt people with thesauruses if i could, if you want something realistic,Epic, 10/10, would give more points to compensate for all the butthurt people with thesauruses if i could, if you want something realistic, don't watch a cartoon. Thanks. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2014
    10
    Very few flaws, one of my favorite shows ever. Hilariously funny, with 3 dimensional characters and a surprisingly deep worldview. Roiland'sVery few flaws, one of my favorite shows ever. Hilariously funny, with 3 dimensional characters and a surprisingly deep worldview. Roiland's voice work as Rick needs some work, the constant belching is off-putting in a way that I'm not sure was intended. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    have not seen something this original in a good while the humor is quick witty and science based. brings a lot of things together, and that'shave not seen something this original in a good while the humor is quick witty and science based. brings a lot of things together, and that's what makes it great. a must watch! this show has the potential to go places no other can go. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    Let me start off by saying this show is CRAZY. It definitely reminds me of regular show in its wackiness. Probably the best new show on adultLet me start off by saying this show is CRAZY. It definitely reminds me of regular show in its wackiness. Probably the best new show on adult swim. The art style is crazy as the show and again reminds me of regular show. Rick is insane and I love it! Though him saying "morty" about a hundred or more times got on my nerves a bit. The comedy was good but the action and interdimensional travel are the highlights. This inter dimensional traveling the duo go on brings me back to Brian and Stewie's adventures through the multiverse in family guy. This show definitely does not "ripoff" either regular show or family guy and stands out on its own. I recommend a watch of this show I'm glad I watched it and even if you didn't much care for the pilot you still may want to stick around to see what crazy situations this likable duo get into in future episodes. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2016
    1
    Rick and Morty is the definition of hapless comedy and its a tragedy that it has warped thousands of innocent viewers into mindless slobberingRick and Morty is the definition of hapless comedy and its a tragedy that it has warped thousands of innocent viewers into mindless slobbering zombie fans. Fans and many critics say it's the greatest Sci-Fi TV show of all time, they couldn't be so wrong and stupid at the same time for it is nothing more and nothing less than a smoking rotten pile of dog crap. Fans like to say that the show has deep meaning and philosophical themes depicting the human condition, however in reality the show is not much different from Family Guy, considering that Rick is a giant ass with moments of a softer side but overall a self centered and unsympathetic jerk while Morty is just an average teenage boy with wild fantasies and a wavering sidekick who gets hurt often on their wacky misadventures. To be really honest, the show sometimes had it's funny quirks and occasional made me laugh at the right times. But ultimately it's comedy is just dick jokes, toilet humor, utter randomness, and large amounts of ultraviolence and bloody gore which get old very very quickly. People say the writing is clever and original, that might be true but the gas runs out faster than you think and its intelligent writing is just smelly garbage and feces in the form of a elegant flower. Rick and Morty is a show for tiny fanboys and critics with the minds of sponges who just follow the crowd with no real individual opinion. I liked it once, but now I pity it since it will fall into the bottomless trench of crude humor and awfulness. As the fans, critics, and staff members cry out for help in total desperation, I will look down and whisper "NO" Expand

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.