• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 2, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Sarah Chalke, Spencer Grammer, Chris Parnell
  • Summary: The animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (SpencerThe animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (Spencer Grammer). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
  • Creator: Dan Harmon, Justin Roiland, Michael Waldron
  • Show Type: In Season
  • Season 1 premiere date: Dec 2, 2013
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 10:30 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris E. Hayner
    Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 2 out of 44
  1. May 24, 2014
    10
    I saw this show back in 2013, and I tried it for about 5 minutes and then chucked it... I completely misunderstood it. Due to it looking likeI saw this show back in 2013, and I tried it for about 5 minutes and then chucked it... I completely misunderstood it. Due to it looking like SuperJail, which I tried as well and was turned off by the humor I assumed R&M had the same oddball humor... I was wrong completely wrong. On a whim, I gave R&M another shot, and I'm blown away. The writing for this show is too good, almost to the fault of the show's reputation of storylines. The first 2 episodes are somewhat general audience, and then it finds it's niche around episode 3. I was completely owned by this show at Robodog.. and then I was a superfan at MeSeeks. I can honestly say that this is my favorite show, of all times. I love the characters, the writing, the voice acting, and the art. I was scared that because it was an Adult Swim show that it wouldn't get appropriate love, and most importantly I was concerned that the creators would jump ship should something more lucrative would come (assuming Adult Swim with it's small audience couldn't provide wealth). I'm thrilled that season 2 is a go... although the Wikipedia states there is not much continuity I feel that there is just enough. I don't want to give anything away, I'll just say the writing is just perfect, and has the improv comedy is there as well which lends itself a sense of life. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    We lost Futurama, so this Venture Bros and Archer are making up for it. First episode was great. Every episode after the other is gettingWe lost Futurama, so this Venture Bros and Archer are making up for it. First episode was great. Every episode after the other is getting better. Nice to have something besides Archer to watch on steak night. Steak night at our house is a fat bbq'd ribeye and cartoon time for dinner. It really makes the middle of the week something to look forward to.
    The person giving this a 0 rating complained about the stuttering. I think it works as it gives the sense of silly realism to the characters. It could do with a little less of Rick burping(we get it, he's drunk all the time)but that is a minor complaint. Back off the burping to maybe once or twice an episode and it's perfect 11.
    Keep up the great work, Justin and Dan.
    Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and IThis show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    10
    It's like watching new episodes of one of my old tv shows that use to be on the air. It has alot of common sense to it and is hilarious. TheyIt's like watching new episodes of one of my old tv shows that use to be on the air. It has alot of common sense to it and is hilarious. They picked the perfect outfit for the show since science is better and funner in every way possible. A really fun but at times, interesting show. I think it deserves a 10/10 Expand
  5. May 18, 2014
    10
    Rick and Morty is easily the best animated show on television right now.

    The jokes are sometimes dumb, sometimes smart, and sometimes
    Rick and Morty is easily the best animated show on television right now.

    The jokes are sometimes dumb, sometimes smart, and sometimes raunchy, but they're always funny. Whatever your expectations on where an episode will go are, they'll always be wrong. Nothing plays out quite like what you'd think, and every episode keeps you guessing.

    The characters are the strongest part of the show, the slow awkward grandson Morty is lovable, grandpa Rick is an alcoholic uncaring genius (who is still lovable), and the rest of the family all interact wonderfully.

    All the plots that the show create come together in the end somehow, and all matter. There are no meaningless threads.

    Although the show normally has a lighthearted feel, some episodes do get darker and deeper than you'd think. I'll avoid spoilers, but especially the Episode "Rick Potion #9" (also my favorite episode so far). This is not at all a bad thing though, quite the opposite.

    If you're tired of shows that re-use the same jokes or feel the same every episode, then try out Rick and Morty. You won't... *buuurp* r-regret it Morty! You... you won't! Okay, Morty?
    Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    It's been 6 episodes and this is already my favorite show. Words cannot describe how amazing this is. Comedy and science fiction are my twoIt's been 6 episodes and this is already my favorite show. Words cannot describe how amazing this is. Comedy and science fiction are my two favorite things and this show manages to perfectly combine them. It's the new Futurama, ladies and gentlemen. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    2
    With surprisingly out of touch, low quality voice acting by Justin Roiland and very lousy, poor excuse for animation it's hard to recommendWith surprisingly out of touch, low quality voice acting by Justin Roiland and very lousy, poor excuse for animation it's hard to recommend this show to anyone. Everything is forced and awkward that almost everyone on the show is wooden and draining. This is something that should be cancelled... Sorry to offend anybody but this is show is garbage and doesn't deserve such love. Collapse

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.