Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 302 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (SpencerThe animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (Spencer Grammer). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris E. Hayner
    Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 2 out of 47
  1. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Rick and Morty is one of the best shows that I have seen in what feels like an eternity. It is belly-crampingly funny, confusing, original andRick and Morty is one of the best shows that I have seen in what feels like an eternity. It is belly-crampingly funny, confusing, original and it manages to surprise you at every second corner without ever feeling lame and uncreative. The show is like a bomb of wacky ideas, exploding in a cascade of fireworks. On top of that, it has more continuity and better plots than many programs that think they take themselves seriously. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and IThis show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Collapse
  3. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    FINALLY a sci-fi themed cartoon with well-written characters and some real, everyday cynism - gotta love how they interact with each other.FINALLY a sci-fi themed cartoon with well-written characters and some real, everyday cynism - gotta love how they interact with each other. The pilot immediately got me hooked; binge-watched the whole first season, and can't wait for the second. If c*** like Bob's Burgers can go for 5 seasons, this show should deserve at least 10. Just keep it interdimensional and don't focus that much on the family drama. Expand
  4. May 18, 2014
    10
    Rick and Morty is easily the best animated show on television right now.

    The jokes are sometimes dumb, sometimes smart, and sometimes
    Rick and Morty is easily the best animated show on television right now.

    The jokes are sometimes dumb, sometimes smart, and sometimes raunchy, but they're always funny. Whatever your expectations on where an episode will go are, they'll always be wrong. Nothing plays out quite like what you'd think, and every episode keeps you guessing.

    The characters are the strongest part of the show, the slow awkward grandson Morty is lovable, grandpa Rick is an alcoholic uncaring genius (who is still lovable), and the rest of the family all interact wonderfully.

    All the plots that the show create come together in the end somehow, and all matter. There are no meaningless threads.

    Although the show normally has a lighthearted feel, some episodes do get darker and deeper than you'd think. I'll avoid spoilers, but especially the Episode "Rick Potion #9" (also my favorite episode so far). This is not at all a bad thing though, quite the opposite.

    If you're tired of shows that re-use the same jokes or feel the same every episode, then try out Rick and Morty. You won't... *buuurp* r-regret it Morty! You... you won't! Okay, Morty?
    Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    It's been 6 episodes and this is already my favorite show. Words cannot describe how amazing this is. Comedy and science fiction are my twoIt's been 6 episodes and this is already my favorite show. Words cannot describe how amazing this is. Comedy and science fiction are my two favorite things and this show manages to perfectly combine them. It's the new Futurama, ladies and gentlemen. Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    The first episode of the show hit all the right points for me, it was funny, well written, was full of references, and had just the rightThe first episode of the show hit all the right points for me, it was funny, well written, was full of references, and had just the right amount of absurdity to it. There are a lot of big sci-fi concepts here, and I hope they work out. One thing I will say it that I hope there are some overarching plot lines, largely because the "every episode is standalone" format only works for so long.
    I think the show certainly has what it takes to stand with the likes of the other Adult Swim successes like: Robot Chicken, Frankenhole, China, IL, and Superjail. Only time will tell if it reaches the pinnacle of the channel; The Venture Bros. I'm excited to see where it goes.
    Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    2
    With surprisingly out of touch, low quality voice acting by Justin Roiland and very lousy, poor excuse for animation it's hard to recommendWith surprisingly out of touch, low quality voice acting by Justin Roiland and very lousy, poor excuse for animation it's hard to recommend this show to anyone. Everything is forced and awkward that almost everyone on the show is wooden and draining. This is something that should be cancelled... Sorry to offend anybody but this is show is garbage and doesn't deserve such love. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.