• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 2, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Rick & Morty Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 248 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (Spencer Grammer). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris E. Hayner
    Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    Rick and Morty is deep, twisted, aggressive, ambitious, thoughtful, controversial, and down the right hilarious! By far and away the best animated piece of media I have seen in my life and one of the greatest tv series I have seen in my life! With commentary on issues ranging from bureaucracies to feminism through the eyes of a troubled, alcoholic scientist and his incompetent but useful grandson side kick, this show elevates SciFi comedy to a level it's never been. I also love Rick's new catchphrase, "I don't give a f*#k"! Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    How can you not love this show lol It has wit, humor and tons of excitement. Not since earlier seasons of South Park have i enjoyed an animated show so much. Its def worth a watch :) Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Collapse
  4. Jun 4, 2014
    10
    Best show of 2013. I didn't think I was going to like this show because the animation seem cheap, but the characters, the story and the jokes are brilliant. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    This is probably the best, and most promising show to appear on adult swim in some time. It's fresh, exciting, and a very good show to watch under the influence. Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Rarely has a pilot episode made me say "I love this show"....but Rick and Morty's first episode made me say exactly that within the first 6 minutes. I personally can't wait to see what else these two get into in the future. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    2
    With surprisingly out of touch, low quality voice acting by Justin Roiland and very lousy, poor excuse for animation it's hard to recommend this show to anyone. Everything is forced and awkward that almost everyone on the show is wooden and draining. This is something that should be cancelled... Sorry to offend anybody but this is show is garbage and doesn't deserve such love. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.