Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 326 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (SpencerThe animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (Spencer Grammer). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris E. Hayner
    Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 51
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 51
  3. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. May 24, 2014
    10
    I saw this show back in 2013, and I tried it for about 5 minutes and then chucked it... I completely misunderstood it. Due to it looking likeI saw this show back in 2013, and I tried it for about 5 minutes and then chucked it... I completely misunderstood it. Due to it looking like SuperJail, which I tried as well and was turned off by the humor I assumed R&M had the same oddball humor... I was wrong completely wrong. On a whim, I gave R&M another shot, and I'm blown away. The writing for this show is too good, almost to the fault of the show's reputation of storylines. The first 2 episodes are somewhat general audience, and then it finds it's niche around episode 3. I was completely owned by this show at Robodog.. and then I was a superfan at MeSeeks. I can honestly say that this is my favorite show, of all times. I love the characters, the writing, the voice acting, and the art. I was scared that because it was an Adult Swim show that it wouldn't get appropriate love, and most importantly I was concerned that the creators would jump ship should something more lucrative would come (assuming Adult Swim with it's small audience couldn't provide wealth). I'm thrilled that season 2 is a go... although the Wikipedia states there is not much continuity I feel that there is just enough. I don't want to give anything away, I'll just say the writing is just perfect, and has the improv comedy is there as well which lends itself a sense of life. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and IThis show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2015
    10
    Best new cartoon currently on TV. Can't praise it enough.
    I've watched each episode several times over which is something I rarely do,
    Best new cartoon currently on TV. Can't praise it enough.
    I've watched each episode several times over which is something I rarely do, especially for cartoons.

    The Back to the Future feel of the show is definitely intentional -- and it works so well. The writing is so clever and full of inside SCI-FI references. The insane storylines and twists are some of the best comedy writing I've ever seen. The characters are instantly recognized in their roles.

    So glad the show was picked up for a second season. Kudos to Dan Harmon on another funny, imaginative and entertaining series.
    Expand
  4. May 18, 2014
    10
    Rick and Morty is easily the best animated show on television right now.

    The jokes are sometimes dumb, sometimes smart, and sometimes
    Rick and Morty is easily the best animated show on television right now.

    The jokes are sometimes dumb, sometimes smart, and sometimes raunchy, but they're always funny. Whatever your expectations on where an episode will go are, they'll always be wrong. Nothing plays out quite like what you'd think, and every episode keeps you guessing.

    The characters are the strongest part of the show, the slow awkward grandson Morty is lovable, grandpa Rick is an alcoholic uncaring genius (who is still lovable), and the rest of the family all interact wonderfully.

    All the plots that the show create come together in the end somehow, and all matter. There are no meaningless threads.

    Although the show normally has a lighthearted feel, some episodes do get darker and deeper than you'd think. I'll avoid spoilers, but especially the Episode "Rick Potion #9" (also my favorite episode so far). This is not at all a bad thing though, quite the opposite.

    If you're tired of shows that re-use the same jokes or feel the same every episode, then try out Rick and Morty. You won't... *buuurp* r-regret it Morty! You... you won't! Okay, Morty?
    Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    Rick and Morty is deep, twisted, aggressive, ambitious, thoughtful, controversial, and down the right hilarious! By far and away the bestRick and Morty is deep, twisted, aggressive, ambitious, thoughtful, controversial, and down the right hilarious! By far and away the best animated piece of media I have seen in my life and one of the greatest tv series I have seen in my life! With commentary on issues ranging from bureaucracies to feminism through the eyes of a troubled, alcoholic scientist and his incompetent but useful grandson side kick, this show elevates SciFi comedy to a level it's never been. I also love Rick's new catchphrase, "I don't give a f*#k"! Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    The first episode of the show hit all the right points for me, it was funny, well written, was full of references, and had just the rightThe first episode of the show hit all the right points for me, it was funny, well written, was full of references, and had just the right amount of absurdity to it. There are a lot of big sci-fi concepts here, and I hope they work out. One thing I will say it that I hope there are some overarching plot lines, largely because the "every episode is standalone" format only works for so long.
    I think the show certainly has what it takes to stand with the likes of the other Adult Swim successes like: Robot Chicken, Frankenhole, China, IL, and Superjail. Only time will tell if it reaches the pinnacle of the channel; The Venture Bros. I'm excited to see where it goes.
    Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    2
    With surprisingly out of touch, low quality voice acting by Justin Roiland and very lousy, poor excuse for animation it's hard to recommendWith surprisingly out of touch, low quality voice acting by Justin Roiland and very lousy, poor excuse for animation it's hard to recommend this show to anyone. Everything is forced and awkward that almost everyone on the show is wooden and draining. This is something that should be cancelled... Sorry to offend anybody but this is show is garbage and doesn't deserve such love. Expand

See all 51 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.