• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Dec 2, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Rick & Morty Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (Spencer Grammer). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris E. Hayner
    Dec 3, 2013
    80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Ive only seen 2 episodes and im all ready in love with the characters, Dialog, Animation, Humor, Wit and the fact that it feels like a Back 2 The Future parody(for some Odd Reason). Yet despite me absolutely ,loving everything about the show in 2 episodes im kinda confused about why i like all these things, i mean, the animation is dreadful compared 2 over shows, the humor really isn't that funny and the characters are probably a bit 2 witty, yet maybe some how believable, I don't know this show is confusing it makes me go through these rather odd emotions of excitement, it just feels so fresh in an un-fresh kinda why, its very hard to describe why i like this show, i just kinda do for some weird reason

    -So it gets a confused 10/10 from me, opinions my change for ive only seen 2 episodes
    Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    How can you not love this show lol It has wit, humor and tons of excitement. Not since earlier seasons of South Park have i enjoyed an animated show so much. Its def worth a watch :) Expand
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    Rick and Morty is a whacky, yet hilarious new show. From the first episode it's original concept and writing grabbed and kept my attention., the second episode only added to my excitement for the series' future. Everything about Rick and Morty has really stood out to me and in my book, deserves a damn good score. Good job Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland, I can't wait to see more. Expand
  5. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    I'm writing this review after watching the 5th episode. This show is awesome. The characters are really growing on me and the plot is great. The music, animation, voice acting are top-notch. "Rick and Morty forever. A hundred years Rick and Morty!" Expand
  6. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    Rarely has a pilot episode made me say "I love this show"....but Rick and Morty's first episode made me say exactly that within the first 6 minutes. I personally can't wait to see what else these two get into in the future. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2014
    8
    Dan Harmon strikes again with this amazing animated series. I love almost all the animated shows on Adult Swim, it lets creators let loose with whatever creative path they want to take with their animated shows. This is perfect for the hilarious "Community" creator Dan Harmon's new series. It's raunchy and hysterical that will have you coming back for more. It is also smart and surprisingly well written for a show of these circumstances, I guess that's what you get with Harmon. Each new episode takes you on a whole new imaginative adventure with Rick & Morty with a detailed interesting story to each episode. I think this show has great potential to be one of animated television's greatest. Hopefully this won't be like almost every other Adult Swim series and have at least 2-3 years between seasons. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews