Season #: 1, 2, 3
Rick & Morty Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 780 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (SpencerThe animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (Spencer Grammer). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rick And Morty
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. 80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 86
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 86
  3. Negative: 6 out of 86
  1. Jul 27, 2015
    10
    Best new cartoon currently on TV. Can't praise it enough.
    I've watched each episode several times over which is something I rarely do,
    Best new cartoon currently on TV. Can't praise it enough.
    I've watched each episode several times over which is something I rarely do, especially for cartoons.

    The Back to the Future feel of the show is definitely intentional -- and it works so well. The writing is so clever and full of inside SCI-FI references. The insane storylines and twists are some of the best comedy writing I've ever seen. The characters are instantly recognized in their roles.

    So glad the show was picked up for a second season. Kudos to Dan Harmon on another funny, imaginative and entertaining series.
    Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and IThis show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2017
    10
    Rick is sick, Morty is funny... Excellent just brilliant. It's shows like these that make me believe old school drawing toons will never dieRick is sick, Morty is funny... Excellent just brilliant. It's shows like these that make me believe old school drawing toons will never die plus I think we found the smartest character ever cause Rick is amazing 10! Expand
  4. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    We lost Futurama, so this Venture Bros and Archer are making up for it. First episode was great. Every episode after the other is gettingWe lost Futurama, so this Venture Bros and Archer are making up for it. First episode was great. Every episode after the other is getting better. Nice to have something besides Archer to watch on steak night. Steak night at our house is a fat bbq'd ribeye and cartoon time for dinner. It really makes the middle of the week something to look forward to.
    The person giving this a 0 rating complained about the stuttering. I think it works as it gives the sense of silly realism to the characters. It could do with a little less of Rick burping(we get it, he's drunk all the time)but that is a minor complaint. Back off the burping to maybe once or twice an episode and it's perfect 11.
    Keep up the great work, Justin and Dan.
    Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    have not seen something this original in a good while the humor is quick witty and science based. brings a lot of things together, and that'shave not seen something this original in a good while the humor is quick witty and science based. brings a lot of things together, and that's what makes it great. a must watch! this show has the potential to go places no other can go. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2014
    9
    This show is honestly one of the funniest I've seen in the past few years. The comedy is of it's own, Dan Harmon does an amazing job and youThis show is honestly one of the funniest I've seen in the past few years. The comedy is of it's own, Dan Harmon does an amazing job and you can see some of the humor from community showing in Rick and Morty. The story follows a drunk genius scientist (Rick) and his grandson(Morty) he drags along on almost everything he does. Obviously this means there is an insane variety in the story and because of Rick's inventions any planet/universe is within reach.
    All together Rick and Morty is near perfect and I highly recommend it to any fans of Community or pretty much anything on adult swim.
    So far there is only one season that was just released on DVD/Blu-Ray. But with and hope and prayer season 2 will be here soon.
    Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2017
    0
    Rick and Morty the TV series is about a guy called Rick and a boy called Morty, who go on adventures in to different universes using aRick and Morty the TV series is about a guy called Rick and a boy called Morty, who go on adventures in to different universes using a teleporter and it has adult humour, is fully of funny humour. My favourite episode is Pickle Rick, the scene that I like was when he was in the sewers and he had a fight with some rats. He killed them and use their limbs to make a better version of himself, when he tried to get out he ended up in some secret mansion. They called him (solenya) Russian for pickle, they were scared of him and what he could do it was really funny to watch. The best bit was when the main bad guy killed his 2 friends and made a run for it to the helipad pad. However, Rick was on it and a guy called Jaguar who they kept locked up, when they were starting to fly of rick throw a match down on to some fuel that led to a fuse to some bombs. When the building started to blow up the main bad guy went on to his knees and said “fair well solenya”. Expand

See all 86 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 21 TV Shows to Watch This Summer

    21 TV Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 9, 2017
    Get details on the top new and returning shows debuting this summer, including the returns of Twin Peaks and Game of Thrones.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.