Rick & Morty : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
Rick & Morty Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 735 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (SpencerThe animated comedy from Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland follows the adventures of mad scientist Rick Sanchez (Justin Roiland), who returns after 20 years to live with his daughter (Sarah Chalke), her husband (Chris Parnell), and her children Morty (also voiced by Roiland) and Summer (Spencer Grammer). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rick And Morty
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Nov 25, 2013
    100
    The animation, overseen by art director James McDermott, is fresh, colorful and as wacky as the script.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Dec 2, 2013
    91
    If the second episode can build even more on the insanity of the first, then Rick And Morty has the potential to be a versatile, entertaining comedy.
  3. 90
    Rick and Morty won't get us any closer to a workable definition of Harmon's genius, but at least it clarifies that the unhinged quality that Community once had wasn't accidental.
  4. 80
    Between the funny characters and the endless possibilities of worlds the two can visit, Rick and Morty has plenty of places to go.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 13, 2013
    75
    In the golden age of narrative TV, cartoons offer countervailing subversive pleasures: They're juvenile, satiric, surreal. Those words all apply to the wild spree Rick and Morty. [23 Dec 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Fenwick
    Dec 4, 2013
    75
    Roiland and Harmon have put together a finely balanced show, with infinite possibilities that leave the door open for an exciting future.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 2, 2013
    70
    While Rick and Morty isn’t necessarily the stuff dreams are made of, in its buoyant flights of fancy, it does betray a welcome attempt to dream just a little bigger.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 2 out of 78
  1. Tgc
    Oct 19, 2015
    10
    Since Simpsons, Family Guy and even South Park started to get boring and Futurama and Brickleberry get cancelled I started looking forSince Simpsons, Family Guy and even South Park started to get boring and Futurama and Brickleberry get cancelled I started looking for something new. And this is it. It reminds me completely sick version of Doctor Who. It has own unique graphic style and music (which also reminds me Doctor Who theme). Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2013
    10
    This show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and IThis show is simply charming, which is strange to say for a show that looks weird. The first episode of this show already has me hooked and I cannot wait to see were Rick and Morty go next on their adventures. Granted, it may not be the funniest TV show, but funny nonetheless. Its charm and animation will be the major factors in reeling you in to watch, trust me. Like I said, I am already hooked just by the first episode, and if that does not show this shows impact, then I do not know what will.

    Basically, if you watched and enjoyed the movie series "Back to the Future" and the TV show "Futurama," you should have no problem adjusting to and enjoying this show. The shows two main characters are Rick and Morty. Rick is Morty's grandfather whom is obsessed with science, drinking alcohol, and is seriously a fantastic nod to Doc Brown from "Back to the Future." Morty is Rick's grandson who is constantly dragged into Rick's experiments and adventures.

    Overall, a fantastic, charming show!
    Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2017
    10
    Rick is sick, Morty is funny... Excellent just brilliant. It's shows like these that make me believe old school drawing toons will never dieRick is sick, Morty is funny... Excellent just brilliant. It's shows like these that make me believe old school drawing toons will never die plus I think we found the smartest character ever cause Rick is amazing 10! Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2015
    10
    Funny, creative, subversive. The two main characters, rick and morty, are awesome and work well together. Rick in particular is in theFunny, creative, subversive. The two main characters, rick and morty, are awesome and work well together. Rick in particular is in the Homer/Cartman class. He's that good. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Finally a Cartoon again on adult swim! Pure genius at that too! Love it! I really Hope they pick this one up for second season and continueFinally a Cartoon again on adult swim! Pure genius at that too! Love it! I really Hope they pick this one up for second season and continue with wild antics! Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    Let me start off by saying this show is CRAZY. It definitely reminds me of regular show in its wackiness. Probably the best new show on adultLet me start off by saying this show is CRAZY. It definitely reminds me of regular show in its wackiness. Probably the best new show on adult swim. The art style is crazy as the show and again reminds me of regular show. Rick is insane and I love it! Though him saying "morty" about a hundred or more times got on my nerves a bit. The comedy was good but the action and interdimensional travel are the highlights. This inter dimensional traveling the duo go on brings me back to Brian and Stewie's adventures through the multiverse in family guy. This show definitely does not "ripoff" either regular show or family guy and stands out on its own. I recommend a watch of this show I'm glad I watched it and even if you didn't much care for the pilot you still may want to stick around to see what crazy situations this likable duo get into in future episodes. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2016
    1
    Rick and Morty is the definition of hapless comedy and its a tragedy that it has warped thousands of innocent viewers into mindless slobberingRick and Morty is the definition of hapless comedy and its a tragedy that it has warped thousands of innocent viewers into mindless slobbering zombie fans. Fans and many critics say it's the greatest Sci-Fi TV show of all time, they couldn't be so wrong and stupid at the same time for it is nothing more and nothing less than a smoking rotten pile of dog crap. Fans like to say that the show has deep meaning and philosophical themes depicting the human condition, however in reality the show is not much different from Family Guy, considering that Rick is a giant ass with moments of a softer side but overall a self centered and unsympathetic jerk while Morty is just an average teenage boy with wild fantasies and a wavering sidekick who gets hurt often on their wacky misadventures. To be really honest, the show sometimes had it's funny quirks and occasional made me laugh at the right times. But ultimately it's comedy is just dick jokes, toilet humor, utter randomness, and large amounts of ultraviolence and bloody gore which get old very very quickly. People say the writing is clever and original, that might be true but the gas runs out faster than you think and its intelligent writing is just smelly garbage and feces in the form of a elegant flower. Rick and Morty is a show for tiny fanboys and critics with the minds of sponges who just follow the crowd with no real individual opinion. I liked it once, but now I pity it since it will fall into the bottomless trench of crude humor and awfulness. As the fans, critics, and staff members cry out for help in total desperation, I will look down and whisper "NO" Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 21 TV Shows to Watch This Summer

    21 TV Shows to Watch This Summer Image
    Published: May 9, 2017
    Get details on the top new and returning shows debuting this summer, including the returns of Twin Peaks and Game of Thrones.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.