Ringer : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 13, 2011
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 7, 2011
    100
    Gellar commands every scene. Hers is a true, potent star turn. [12 Sep 2011, p.43]
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 13, 2011
    83
    Ringer at times straddles camp--Bridget stays briefly in the "Double Nickel Motel," a wink that the two women truly are flip sides of the same scarred coin --but never succumbs to it, thanks to Gellar's muted performances.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 13, 2011
    80
    The CW's tale of an evil twin and an even eviler twin, is devious doppelganger drama at its best.
  4. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 13, 2011
    75
    If you can suspend your disbelief enough to get over the improbable premise (and overlook Nestor Carbonell's abuse of eyeliner as FBI agent Victor Machado), Ringer takes you on an exciting, suspenseful ride full of more twists and turns than Siobhan's hallmark hairdo.
  5. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 12, 2011
    75
    The show is great fun, and clearly the star herself is having fun in the lead roles.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 12, 2011
    75
    Two Sarah Michelle Gellars may not be better than one, but they're certainly just as good. And thankfully, that's more than good enough to get the new TV season off to a roaring early start.
  7. Ringer may not be able to match the Master of Suspense at the top of his game, but it does a great job of creating a constant state of queasy tension.
  8. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Sep 12, 2011
    75
    Ringer, it turns out, is so good that it's CBS' bad.
  9. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Sep 7, 2011
    75
    If Ringer can retain the gloss and suspense of tonight's premiere, this could be a new series worth getting hooked on. [9/16 Sep 2011, p.133]
  10. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Sep 13, 2011
    70
    Ringer is no Buffy, so that's enough of that. It is a cleverly constructed take on the old concept of the evil twin, a soap opera staple that dates back more than a thousand years through movies, books, and poetry.
  11. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 13, 2011
    70
    The first episode opens and closes on the cliffhanger of Bridget-as-Siobhan being stalked by an unseen menace, but which sister is the actual target? As long as Ringer keeps us asking questions like this, and Gellar keeps us engaged in the deluxe and twisted sister act, we're more than happy to be put through the romantic-suspense wringer.
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Sep 20, 2011
    7
    All credit goes to SMG, as without her channeling of her early career peaks as Buffy and Kathryn from Cruel Intentions, this would be littleAll credit goes to SMG, as without her channeling of her early career peaks as Buffy and Kathryn from Cruel Intentions, this would be little more than an edgy nighttime soap. But the writers have just enough noir-ish ideas and the rest of the cast is game enough to assist Gellar's double duty into making this cool enough to follow regularly. Full Review »
  2. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    The first 10 episodes of season 1 were amazing. Ringer is brilliantly mixing different kind of formats. At first you might think it is only aThe first 10 episodes of season 1 were amazing. Ringer is brilliantly mixing different kind of formats. At first you might think it is only a Soapy Drama because of all the shocking twists and turns but quickly you will see the show has a unique touch in the television landscape with a strong visual identity thanks to dark lightings and confined sets. Its Thriller / Film Noir aspect is really compelling, respecting all the different genre codes (a complex lead role with a far from brilliant past surrounded by strong and important supporting roles dealing with murder, adultery and treason, a fourth-rate cop manipulated by a femme fatale, night scenes, wet sidewalks, oversized sunglasses, trench-coats, firearms...) It is a great quality, mature series (especially for The CW) with amazing established actors such as Sarah Michelle Gellar (The Grudge, Buffy), Ioan Gruffudd (Fantastic Four, King Arthur), Nestor Carbonell (The Dark Knight, Lost), Jaime Murray (The Deaths of Ian Stone, Dexter) and Jason Dohring (Deep Impact, Veronica Mars). I can't hardly wait for the next episodes! Full Review »
  3. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I love the show! i cant wait for the rest of the season! i really really like Ioan Gruffudd! i think its great for him to do american television and i love his character so far. love love love Sarah Michelle Gellar (Prinze). omg so great to see that beauty come back! The show first started off a little corny and slow for me, but after the 3 commercial i was hooked. i cant wait to give the rest of the season the run down. i know it can only get better from here. with awesome producers and writers the show will pick up great. I love the shots, the scene cuts and the stylization of the filming. Adding that twist of glamor in the clothes and characters with mystery always makes me weak in the knees. Full Review »