• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 13, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Ringer Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bridget returns home to see her twin sister, Siobhan (both roles played by Sarah Michelle Geller), after running into trouble in New York. When it appears her sister committed suicide, Bridget decides to assume her twin's identity, only to find that her sister's life is not much safer than her own.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Sep 7, 2011
    100
    Gellar commands every scene. Hers is a true, potent star turn. [12 Sep 2011, p.43]
  2. Ringer may not be able to match the Master of Suspense at the top of his game, but it does a great job of creating a constant state of queasy tension.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Sep 13, 2011
    75
    If you can suspend your disbelief enough to get over the improbable premise (and overlook Nestor Carbonell's abuse of eyeliner as FBI agent Victor Machado), Ringer takes you on an exciting, suspenseful ride full of more twists and turns than Siobhan's hallmark hairdo.
  4. Reviewed by: Michelle Welch
    Sep 13, 2011
    60
    Ringer is at times cleverly handled, suggesting numerous plot avenues for the future. Unfortunately, Gellar's wooden performance in the premiere episode doesn't bode well.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 12, 2011
    58
    Tuesday's premiere certainly has enough intrigue for starters. What it needs is more overall electricity.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 12, 2011
    42
    Barring a significant step up in quality--or at least the self-awareness to stop taking its silly plot and characters so seriously--those people [Gen X'ers who loved "Buffy"] will only be watching out of loyalty to a part that Gellar played a long time ago, on two different networks that no longer exist, and not because she's presently doing work that merits that kind of devotion.
  7. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 12, 2011
    25
    The lousy effects that put the twins in the same room are sloppy, and the story line--ripped from a cheesy daytime soap--is worse.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    See Sarah Michelle Gellar again is very cool ! I was waiting for this all summer long and i am not dissapointing ! The show is excellent, i already love it ! Not only because she is in but also because the story is exciting ! Can't wait to see the episodes ...!! Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This show is awesome. I love the concept, and I'm always wanting more from Sarah Michelle Gellar. I think she plays her roles really well. I am a true fan of this show and hope it runs for a very long time. I also like the rest of the cast, and how each has their own problems but somehow it links to the whole story line. Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    The first 10 episodes of season 1 were amazing. Ringer is brilliantly mixing different kind of formats. At first you might think it is only a Soapy Drama because of all the shocking twists and turns but quickly you will see the show has a unique touch in the television landscape with a strong visual identity thanks to dark lightings and confined sets. Its Thriller / Film Noir aspect is really compelling, respecting all the different genre codes (a complex lead role with a far from brilliant past surrounded by strong and important supporting roles dealing with murder, adultery and treason, a fourth-rate cop manipulated by a femme fatale, night scenes, wet sidewalks, oversized sunglasses, trench-coats, firearms...) It is a great quality, mature series (especially for The CW) with amazing established actors such as Sarah Michelle Gellar (The Grudge, Buffy), Ioan Gruffudd (Fantastic Four, King Arthur), Nestor Carbonell (The Dark Knight, Lost), Jaime Murray (The Deaths of Ian Stone, Dexter) and Jason Dohring (Deep Impact, Veronica Mars). I can't hardly wait for the next episodes! Expand
  4. nbc
    Jan 8, 2012
    8
    Compelling and intriguing. The show keeps you interested in coming back each week to find out what happens. Sarah Michelle Gellar plays both characters very well. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    7
    All credit goes to SMG, as without her channeling of her early career peaks as Buffy and Kathryn from Cruel Intentions, this would be little more than an edgy nighttime soap. But the writers have just enough noir-ish ideas and the rest of the cast is game enough to assist Gellar's double duty into making this cool enough to follow regularly. Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    7
    Well, I'm pleasantly surprised. Having seen the previews and knowing it had been pushed off on the CW, I was expecting a minor disaster. Although a majority of the reviews had been positive, I can see the criticisms of the negative ones and find them fair. The opening sequences with Gellar playing both twins ultimately worked, but it is unfortunately because only one of the twins actually feels human. Siobhan comes off like a stock character, her ending moment even suggesting a Cruella DeVille cartoon caricature. Hopefully a redeemable character can be fleshed out with appropriate flashbacks and future screentime or this will become an unforgivable flaw in the series. Gellar fares much better as Bridget pretending to be Siobhan, spending a majority of the episode as a deer in headlights trying to assess the tangled web of her sister's relationships with the people in her life. Better yet is Gellar as Bridget, with the shining moment of the pilot being her AA confession as a troubled woman on the verge of breakdown seeking amends. Aside from Gruffudd as Siobhan's husband, the supporting roles didn't have much to do. The only pairing I was disappointed in was the scene between the FBI agent and Bridget-Siobhan. I would have liked to see more playfulness and mysterious undertones there on Bridget-Siobhan's part. Having said that, they seemed to have assembled a perfectly capable cast and I look forward to watching them stretch once the breakneck speed of the pilot wears off.

    Setting up a high concept show like this is a tall order. I found the script largely successful with its jumping around and glossing over what I figured would have been key sequences. The dialogue was just fine, the character roles and relationships were presented nicely, but I could have done without the revelations at every commerical break. I have a feeling that's going to be a running theme throughout this show, too. Direction wasn't anything too special, but the sets and cinematography were impressive. There were some beautiful, if not obvious, sequences that hinted at film noir genre staples from the past. I especially liked the overhead shot with Henry and Bridget-Siobhan at the gala. The special effects with the twins were pretty damn good, but there was a greenscreen on a boat that was one of the worst I've ever seen. One obvious addition with the CW switch is the intrustive soundtrack. I sincerely hope they cut a majority of the soundtrack for score in the future, because that was distracting.

    It's foolish to put too much stock into the pilot episode, especially with this one which was greyhound paced. The true test will be in episode 2, because honestly I have no idea how the subsequent episodes for this show are going to play as of now. There's no way they can keep up the pace of these storylines without nosediving into daytime soap territory. The show will turn into something special if it allows the characters to drive instead of the plot. I'm judging this pilot on two criteria - it successfully set the tone of the Ringer world and its players (minus Siobhan) and it piqued my curiosity for more. Pilot = success. The next few episodes will determine whether the show is or not.
    Collapse
  7. Dec 31, 2011
    0
    What was only touted as the new face of television Noir in the wake of Veronica Mars fame has only been a true disappointment this show can only muster up enough strength to be a fourth rate soap opera. This show lacks the sly smart Noir of Veronica Mars or the soapy charm of Dynasty or Twin Peaks. The worst part of this show is that it suffers from Extra Horrible Writing, Terrible Casting, & Mediocre Acting.â Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.