Robin Hood : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
Robin Hood Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This new 13-episode series represents the BBC's attempt at a fresher, hipper take (complete with modern pop culture references) on the classic Robin Hood legend. It was a hit when it aired in Britain.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. This really is a Robin of Locksley for the "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon" generation.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Alynda Wheat
    75
    For the willing, it's still a story worth hearing. [2 Mar 2007, p.64]
  3. Briskly paced and amusingly corny.
  4. "Robin Hood" boasts most of the usual problems with low-budget epics.... But the show has wit and energy.
  5. You'll get hooked on it early and should stick around to the very end -- even though you have a good idea of what's coming.
  6. If there is a chink to this series' armor, it is in the casting of Armstrong in the title role.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    40
    If this attempt to put a youthful spin on Robin Hood isn't bad per se, it's at best a warmed-over remake that would be diverting for kids if it wasn't occasionally quite violent.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 60
  2. Negative: 12 out of 60
  1. LouisaV.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    I've enjoyed the series since it started. This is a show that is entertaining and is fun to watch with the whole family. It just keeps I've enjoyed the series since it started. This is a show that is entertaining and is fun to watch with the whole family. It just keeps on getting better with each episode. Expand
  2. KatieO
    May 28, 2007
    10
    Absolutely awesome!! I love the guy who plays Robin Hood... Whens the next series?!
  3. KaylaZ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    I got hooked on this show shortly after Saeson One has finished - I went back and re-watched all of the 13 episodes. This show has become an I got hooked on this show shortly after Saeson One has finished - I went back and re-watched all of the 13 episodes. This show has become an addiction!! I just love everything about it. Jonas Armstrong as Robin is witty, sensitive and convincing. Lucy Griffiths as Marian is strikingly beautiful and plays her part with feminine gusto and sparkle. Although I do confess a certain favouritism - Richard Armitage as Guy of Gisborne pretty much stole my heart after the first 3 episodes. His perfectly balanced portrayal of anger and deprivation, showcased through his role as Marian's second suitor, is enough to make you feel sorry for him even after he has run several people through! And you can gripe that the action looks a bit staged at times or that the consistancy with the clothing and time periods is a bit off; overall, this show is brilliant, funny and touching - well worth a watch. But I'll warn you! - you will become hooked!! Expand
  4. ashishn
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    well cast, acted, and compelling storylines...can't wait for season 2!!
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    If it's historical accuracy or realism you're looking for, obviously this is not the show for you. What this show has to offer is fast-pacedIf it's historical accuracy or realism you're looking for, obviously this is not the show for you. What this show has to offer is fast-paced episodes that are dramatic, poignant, action-packed, and funny, with characters you quickly come to care about and stories that pull you in. Jonas Armstrong is a memorable Robin Hood -- a quirky flawed hero who can be, by turns, noble and obnoxious, altruistic and egotistical, kind and mean-spirited. Lucy Griffiths is a strong-willed but conflicted Marian; Richard Armitage gives a fantastic performance as Guy of Gisborne, the Sheriff's brutal henchman torn between his ambitions and his desire for redemption, and Keith Allen is an outstanding Sheriff of Nottingham -- hilarious and terrifying at the same time. Other standout characters: Robin's loyal, simple but brave and goodhearted servant/friend Much (Sam Troughton); Allan A'Dale, a con artist who joins Robin's gang after Robin saves him from hanging; and Djaq, a female Saracen slave who becomes "one of the lads." The storylines manage to rise above the predictable "robbing from the rich, giving to the poor" pattern. The action scenes in this season are often mediocre, but the character drama and the witty dialog more than make up for that. Expand
  6. MarkD
    Apr 10, 2007
    6
    Ok, as long as you don't take it too seriously. As with the recent Dr Who update the BBC has given us fun, entertaining, slightly camp Ok, as long as you don't take it too seriously. As with the recent Dr Who update the BBC has given us fun, entertaining, slightly camp drama for the whole family. Just don't expect historical accuracy or Royal Shakespere Company acting. Expand
  7. PeterJ
    Mar 23, 2007
    0
    Awful - by far the worst Robin Hood ever done - awful acting; awful accents; ridiculous make-up; Yeek!!!

See all 60 User Reviews