Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Rogue does a nice job of methodically building an unsettling mood.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 2, 2013
    70
    An intriguing crime drama.
  3. Reviewed by: Darren Franich
    Mar 29, 2013
    67
    Rogue is trash, but thanks to Newton, it's delightful trash. [5 Apr 2013, p.62]
  4. 63
    When Thandie Newton is on screen in Rogue, it's tough to look away.... Other than Newton, though, Rogue is a disappointment in the early going, more tedious than thrilling.
  5. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    60
    Frequently, the mixed signals cross and Rogue seems unhinged. Stick with it, though, and you'll be rewarded with some nice moments that justify an unwieldy script.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 2, 2013
    50
    Rogue starts to become a little more intriguing [by the second episode], but the show only gets to that point after the clichéd set-up and almost two hours spent with a self-destructive lead character.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 4, 2013
    42
    None of this really clicks.
  8. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 3, 2013
    40
    Rogue has all the attributes of pay cable--rough language, extreme violence and no-kidding graphic sexuality and nudity--but little of its depth and nuance.
  9. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 28, 2013
    40
    Other than having an African-American woman as the protagonist, though, this feels like any number of similar movies and series, where cops must decide how far they’ll go (do cocaine? Shoot a guy the boss has tied up?) to protect their cover and get the job done. More fundamentally, the show’s naughty bits feel particularly gratuitous.
  10. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 28, 2013
    38
    Thandie Newton is intimidatingly fierce.... The problem is everyone else. [8 Apr 2013, p.45]
  11. 30
    Over-boiled, over-violent, and overly abundant with sex scenes, Rogue is sure to click with hardcore cop-thriller fans who care less about plotting and characterization than the bang . . . bang . . . bang.
  12. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 2, 2013
    30
    There’s something plodding and portentous about Rogue, as if it were trying especially hard to be taken seriously, to have the ballast needed to compete with other serious cable dramas.
  13. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 2, 2013
    25
    The performances run the gamut from woeful to out-and-out terrible, but in some cases, you can't blame the actors because no one is sufficiently talented to deliver the lines of creator Matthew Parkhill's script with even minimal credibility.
  14. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Apr 3, 2013
    20
    Rogue is pretty terrible, a moody, broody jumble of clichéd characters, pregnant pauses and sex scenes that border on the pornographic.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 24, 2013
    7
    I have to be honest about this 7 rating in that initially with the first episode I felt it was a 5 but gradually it slowly started to peak my interest more and more and thus arriving at this rate of 7. I am however 3 episode away from the season finale so I look forward to see how I end up feeling at the end. By the way, Thandie is hardcore in this show. No nice nice no bubble gum personality AT ALL which is one of the reason why I am intrigued with her performance. She is tough cop when she needs to be and she really brings it. The nudity/sex is really as upfront as you can get and it certainly supersedes ANY premium cable channels like Showtime or HBO. It makes them tame looking in comparison. Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2013
    8
    Funny how a show can split critics. I was so pleased to discover this show. Finally a lead female cop and i'm a big cop show fan) that I can really root for sexy, passionate, a grieving mom, conflicted, facing down all the macho bravado, striking out on her own, a woman of color too (hooray!) Yes it's sometimes a little explicit, even when it's not always sexy, but isn't that what real life is? I'm not sure where it will go from here, it's refreshingly unpredictable, but I know I want to find out. I guess that's what the critics would call "compelling" Full Review »