Rome : Season 2

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 28, 2005
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 175 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 175

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 11, 2014
    8
    Season two of Rome arguably contains twice as much violence and sex compared to its predecessor however, that does not necessarily equate to a better result. Probably the biggest issue in season two is the obvious rushing of historical sequences (years would past by in most every other episode) due to abrupt and unfortunate announcement that HBO would be discontinuing the series. In theSeason two of Rome arguably contains twice as much violence and sex compared to its predecessor however, that does not necessarily equate to a better result. Probably the biggest issue in season two is the obvious rushing of historical sequences (years would past by in most every other episode) due to abrupt and unfortunate announcement that HBO would be discontinuing the series. In the end, what we get is a clunky paced season filled with great scenes but all feeling compacted too quickly. Not much blame can be put on the creators of the show; being only given two seasons to work with, you would expect the time periods to be significantly off, for what it was; they pulled it off tremendously. Octavian's triumph contains a complete lack of dialogue exchange however facial expressions between characters and an excellent soundtrack creates riveting and raw emotion and in my opinion one of the best ending scenes in television. In the end, Rome, season two like season one was entertaining gold. Another victim of HBO of a series ending prematurely. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    The second season is a bit of a disappointment, mainly because I didn't love the turns in the story or in the main characters. It's still an amazing show but it failed to live up to the ridiculously high standard set by the first season.
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    2
    The series got off to such a great start, Caesar has a great actor and is a pleasure to watch and Octavian was interesting. All of the political intrigue was done quite well. The soldiers were carried along quite well, no problems. Then Caesar died and the whole series came crashing down
    The two soldiers became a soap opera story and the series began to devote more and more time to their
    The series got off to such a great start, Caesar has a great actor and is a pleasure to watch and Octavian was interesting. All of the political intrigue was done quite well. The soldiers were carried along quite well, no problems. Then Caesar died and the whole series came crashing down
    The two soldiers became a soap opera story and the series began to devote more and more time to their tiny tales of tiny people. The actually interesting part of the story, the intrigue, began to falter when Augustus Caesar was introduced. The actor just couldn't carry the man and he was no where near a replacement for Julius. Then they show the Egyptians as freeky deeky. I know they are a 3000 year old civilization by this stage but come on. Cleopatra is neither likable nor manipulative, at least in how the show portrays it. They simply say she is manipulative and cut to her getting what she wants, but as they say; the thrill is in the chase, never in the capture.
    The faltering second season just soured the whole thing for me. It became so slow and monotonous, it was just unbearable, I had to skip most of the soldiers sections for being so irrelevant. I'm watching Rome here, I want to see the Senate and the great family's. I don't need the producers creating some plebeians to try and relate to me. I can relate to other human beings just fine thanks, I don't care what their social status is
    Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2012
    8
    Everything that is good about season 1 is still here, to a point. The production quality is still top-notch, and I really enjoyed what seemed a more "grand" scale, maybe a bigger budget? Acting is great, with Cleopatra being especially good. My main issue is with the plot, not that its bad, its just not nearly as compelling as the first season. I still found myself interested and excitedEverything that is good about season 1 is still here, to a point. The production quality is still top-notch, and I really enjoyed what seemed a more "grand" scale, maybe a bigger budget? Acting is great, with Cleopatra being especially good. My main issue is with the plot, not that its bad, its just not nearly as compelling as the first season. I still found myself interested and excited for the next episode, there was just a general lack of plot twists, and the entire mood of the season seemed to be a big downer compared to the previous one. Still, definitely worth watching, wish they didn't cancel it. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    The second season wasn't as great as the first, especially with the jarring change of Octavian as previously mentioned but it was still worth watching. The depiction of the rivalry between Octavian and Mark Anthony was awesome and well done. I wish there was some way they could continue the series at another point in Roman history, it would definitely be worth watching as this one was.
  6. SusanL.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    bigger than life characters in a bigger than anything empire. Costumes, splendour, grittiness -- they got it right.
  7. MarcioP.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    It was the best roman movies I have ever seen. I really hope they make the third, fourth, ... seasons.
  8. SteveF.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Loved the show. The NY Times review and several of the other newspaper commentary are just ridiculous. What
  9. DanB.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    I could have used more politics. Bit more intrigue and scheming and history. Though I'm not sure I'd have exchanged it for all the sex and the blood. The first season is probably better, but this is still fantastic. The only thing I didn't like was Octavian's muddy motivation. How an overly clever boy turned into a pathological man is either not well explained or I could have used more politics. Bit more intrigue and scheming and history. Though I'm not sure I'd have exchanged it for all the sex and the blood. The first season is probably better, but this is still fantastic. The only thing I didn't like was Octavian's muddy motivation. How an overly clever boy turned into a pathological man is either not well explained or simply handled way too subtly, as if his unblinking, gecko eyes are supposed to impart something to us? Anyway. The show is still great. Shame there'll be no third season. Expand
  10. JohnTR.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Best show to come around in years. I was a huge Soprano fan also. Why HBO keep awful series going like Curb Your Enthusiasm and lose franchise shows like Sopranos, Deadwood, etc. is beyond me. Pay the actors what they are asking, drop your dead beat shows ie Curb Your Enthusiasm, and make another season. I could take the remainder of the shows HBO has halted production on and make a Best show to come around in years. I was a huge Soprano fan also. Why HBO keep awful series going like Curb Your Enthusiasm and lose franchise shows like Sopranos, Deadwood, etc. is beyond me. Pay the actors what they are asking, drop your dead beat shows ie Curb Your Enthusiasm, and make another season. I could take the remainder of the shows HBO has halted production on and make a powerhouse network. If you havent seen Rome rent seasons one and two and post a review yourself. Classic, gritty, exciting... A production for men as well as women, but make sure the kids are in bed. Expand
  11. raya
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    This show is fantastic in everyway...espcially if you are interested in the period. So sad to see it end so soon.
  12. AKelly
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Sad that it's ended. James Purefoy as Mark Anthony just rocks, and Pullo, as played by Ray Stevenson, is a fantastic buddy. The duel of hate between Atia of the Julii (Polly Walker) and Servilia of the Junii (Lindsay Duncan) is one no wise man would get between, so they don't :-) I have enjoyed every episode and will buy the two series on DVD because I suspect it will be a long Sad that it's ended. James Purefoy as Mark Anthony just rocks, and Pullo, as played by Ray Stevenson, is a fantastic buddy. The duel of hate between Atia of the Julii (Polly Walker) and Servilia of the Junii (Lindsay Duncan) is one no wise man would get between, so they don't :-) I have enjoyed every episode and will buy the two series on DVD because I suspect it will be a long time before anything as good is on TV again. Expand
  13. MartiM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Superb series. Darker and more emotionally charged than the first. More emphasis on the lower classes in this one and it works well to portray the harsh reality of life for most people at that time.
  14. MichaelC.
    May 30, 2007
    4
    ROME is soap opera intended to titillate like a feather drawn across the skin--or shock like a dagger plunged into the abdomen. But it is not good history or good TV.
  15. MarG
    May 13, 2007
    10
    Excelent season... i dont misses...
  16. CoreyB
    Apr 23, 2007
    9
    Despite what many critics stated, it seems only sensible that this show skims over the battles due to the fact that any effort to portray them would seem mindless and poorly done due to the length and funding the show has. However the inaccuracies due to events and characters missing is a significant loss. In the end, too much time is being delivered in too little time. I give it 2 points Despite what many critics stated, it seems only sensible that this show skims over the battles due to the fact that any effort to portray them would seem mindless and poorly done due to the length and funding the show has. However the inaccuracies due to events and characters missing is a significant loss. In the end, too much time is being delivered in too little time. I give it 2 points higher than it deserves due to originality, I'm referring to Hollywood's lack of quality focus on the most popular civilization in history. Expand
  17. JustinG
    Apr 20, 2007
    9
    I thought the second season was a great follow up to what was an excellent initial outing. As always the show was exceptional when dealing with Vorenus and Pullo, but I thought Attia & Mark Anthony were also very, very good. My primary regret for the second season was that the younger version of August was so much more interesting that the older version, but all in all the show was better I thought the second season was a great follow up to what was an excellent initial outing. As always the show was exceptional when dealing with Vorenus and Pullo, but I thought Attia & Mark Anthony were also very, very good. My primary regret for the second season was that the younger version of August was so much more interesting that the older version, but all in all the show was better than most all around. Expand
  18. VincentL
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    It isn't "I Cladeaus" or "The Fall of Eagles" but just as great or graeter! It isn't history,It is not supost to be. It is about life and socity in general. A little view of us, the great and on first glance insignifacent. It reminds us that we all matter. we are all the product, and makers of history!
  19. ChrisM
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    Easily the best television series I've ever seen. Perfectly done. HBO has obliterated the historical television genre.
  20. ErinC
    Apr 1, 2007
    9
    I am sorry to see it end. I looked forward to it each week. With Sopranos soon comming to an end HBO doesn't seem worth having!
  21. gb
    Apr 1, 2007
    10
    It is a masterpiece and the critics are more concerned about peoples perceptions of their personal taste than in giving this show a fair review. I give it 10 out of 10! Bring on Season 3!
  22. MikeK
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    Salve, This was one of the best shows ever placed on television.
  23. SanazE
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    Please, please do another season! This is one of the best historic tv series EVER!!!
  24. EvanH
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite shows. It's a real shame it ended. It did seem rushed and the 68 average critic review was shocking. The setting is beautiful. Most of the critics seem angry that it's not historically accurate. I didn't know the show presented itself as a historical/educational program; I thought it was just a clever setting for otherwise ordinary problems.
  25. diurnalG
    Mar 29, 2007
    9
    Picture not the best but the story is delightful. Great ending and finally HBO ended something right for a change. PS no more seasons end it here HBO
  26. BrianK
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    So disappointed to see the series end. Fascinating characters, brisk pace. It seemed like the hour for each episode flew by. I hope Time Warner changes its corporate mind (and "resurrects" Vorenus).
  27. MikeH
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Sorry to see it end, wish there would be a third season.
  28. DracoM
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Vini, vidi, vici...way to go HBO!
  29. RoyRob
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    This show was great! Definitely hoping for a third season.
  30. JPaulParker
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    Common, as Titus and Lucius thread their way through history (sort of) is a hoot. Bring on a third season.
  31. johnh
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    great shgow but did not have to end
  32. rafaelo
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Up there with 'The Wire' as one of the best show ever made. Beautifully realized characters. Respect and acclaim will only grow once it's off the air. Critics really got this one wrong.
  33. AJElmore
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    The show had its flaws but honestly people who get HBO aren't exactly history majors. The character developement gets you hooked. I caught it at the tail end of the 2nd season which is quite dissapointing. I don't see why HBO would end such a good show. Lucius Vorenus and Titus Pullo...come on how can you not love it. I am sad that I wont have my Sunday's at 8 to settle The show had its flaws but honestly people who get HBO aren't exactly history majors. The character developement gets you hooked. I caught it at the tail end of the 2nd season which is quite dissapointing. I don't see why HBO would end such a good show. Lucius Vorenus and Titus Pullo...come on how can you not love it. I am sad that I wont have my Sunday's at 8 to settle down over a new episode of Rome. I have never purchased a show before and I baught Rome...come HBO...get it together here. Expand
  34. alib
    Mar 25, 2007
    10
    Why does it need to end?? Finally something that could replace the Sopranos.
  35. SteveR
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    Best series on HBO ever. It's the only show I look forward to watching every week without fail. Intrigue, politics, history, sex, violence and characters I really care about - no other series has ever matched it's depth. I only wish it had presented at a slower pace, with Caesar's life ending at the end of year two, and spending another two years watching the battle for Best series on HBO ever. It's the only show I look forward to watching every week without fail. Intrigue, politics, history, sex, violence and characters I really care about - no other series has ever matched it's depth. I only wish it had presented at a slower pace, with Caesar's life ending at the end of year two, and spending another two years watching the battle for control of Rome and Marc Anthony's slow decay unfold. Expand
  36. kostya
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    One of the greatest series ever aired =)
  37. Don
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    This show is awesome! I look forward to it's viewing each week. I hate that it won't be back for a third season.
  38. WilliamK
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Sorry to see it end in 2007
  39. MichaelP
    Mar 18, 2007
    9
    Much like Deadwood, it's ending too soon.
  40. MattM
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    Once in a while the critics seem to have blinders on (okay more often than not it seems nowadays). How this series could be rated anything less than perfect by the 'experts' is beyond any rational explanation. Its characters are intriguing -its storyline's plots and subplots intertwine to form a mesmerizing epic. This show is destined to become a cult classic. I fully Once in a while the critics seem to have blinders on (okay more often than not it seems nowadays). How this series could be rated anything less than perfect by the 'experts' is beyond any rational explanation. Its characters are intriguing -its storyline's plots and subplots intertwine to form a mesmerizing epic. This show is destined to become a cult classic. I fully realize how bold the following statement is - This is the best show HBO has ever put out. Expand
  41. richardr
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    Best show on HBO, bar none.
  42. IanM
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    This show is great! Definitely hoping for a third season.
  43. StephenM
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    I have to go back to I Claudius to find as good a series. I wish Rome would go as far as the reign of Nero.
  44. warrenb
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    Not as good as the first season, still very watchable and easily the best thing on the box. The collaboration of the BBC and HBO was bound to make something good e.g. extras
  45. JH
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Best series on tv.
  46. ChuckS
    Feb 26, 2007
    9
    I thought this show did an excellent job in portraying the Rome that was. The reason I didn't give it a 10 is that I think they could have toned down on the nudity and still got the point across. I would be really interested in another series that covers the rein of Nero.
  47. PhilH
    Feb 25, 2007
    3
    Couldn't wait for the 2nd season, but have been badly dissapointed. It has lost something - turned into a sex and violence fest (not that I have anything against sex and violence). First season was classic - it may be that Michael Apted left.
  48. r.davidc
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    always entertaining
  49. NickP
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    I can't wait from one Sunday to the other. Pleace make season three. Go all the way to the end I got it all figured out: Pullo is going to have a son and Lucious Vorenus has the son of his wife and the other guy. They can take the story after their parents die of age. Continue the friendship and join the army bla bla bla thru Caligula, Neron and all those guys and of course pilatos I can't wait from one Sunday to the other. Pleace make season three. Go all the way to the end I got it all figured out: Pullo is going to have a son and Lucious Vorenus has the son of his wife and the other guy. They can take the story after their parents die of age. Continue the friendship and join the army bla bla bla thru Caligula, Neron and all those guys and of course pilatos washing his hands regarding jesus. It will be just great. Expand
  50. TomS
    Feb 22, 2007
    10
    Wonderfully acted, wonderfully directed, great cinematography, great storyline. Not only engaging and entertaining but educational and cerebral.
  51. [Anonymous]
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I still have yet to see any haters present a logical argument of why this show is not outstanding. I just wish it wasn't finished after 2 seasons
  52. GraceC
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    Best show on television. There are admittedly too many moments of soapoperaishness, but the show wouldn't be as interesting if it were pure history. Either way, Rome sticks by history pretty closely, much more closely than most other historical dramas on TV or in movies do!
  53. MichaelC
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    Smart and fun
  54. RikeneF
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    Best show on tv...
  55. steves
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    If you are a history buff, as I am, this show is pure pleasure. The fact that the cast is made up of quality British actors lends a certain class to the historical production. I can't think of a more fun show on TV today.
  56. peterd
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    A TV classic, a level (but just a level) lower than I Claudius, this is a gem that for some unknown (to me) reason has not caught on with the intellegentia. Bravo! A memorable show, and educational too.
  57. matta
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    It is just sad to see this how get slighted so often by critics. Not only is Rome totally underrated-it is better than both Six Feet Under and, and I know I'll be hated for this, Deadwood (It's still not quite on par with The Sopranos or The Wire-but those are the two best TV Dramas ever, so......). Season 2 has started just fine, all you naysayers. It's just ridiculous It is just sad to see this how get slighted so often by critics. Not only is Rome totally underrated-it is better than both Six Feet Under and, and I know I'll be hated for this, Deadwood (It's still not quite on par with The Sopranos or The Wire-but those are the two best TV Dramas ever, so......). Season 2 has started just fine, all you naysayers. It's just ridiculous that show is mentioned in the same breath as Aaron Spelling in some of these capsules. Although I will not try and argue that everything in the show is historically accurate (as far as characters and events go), it still gets the overall atmosphere right, and all the sex and violence that goes on is entirely appropriate. Regardless of the history though, the show just flat-out entertains, in addition to being expertly acted and produced. Easily one of the top five shows on the air right now. Forget the critics, check this show out. Expand
  58. Erikj
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    It is hard to describe how huge the scope of this show is. Its cast isn't quite as large as HBOs show The Wire, but it is close and still has 2 more seasons to catch up. Although the cast isn't as large as the wire yet, the sets/locations might as well be as accurate as Baltimore, except 2000 years ago. The historical accuracy of the story lines is questionable, but the emotion It is hard to describe how huge the scope of this show is. Its cast isn't quite as large as HBOs show The Wire, but it is close and still has 2 more seasons to catch up. Although the cast isn't as large as the wire yet, the sets/locations might as well be as accurate as Baltimore, except 2000 years ago. The historical accuracy of the story lines is questionable, but the emotion is very strong. The storylines parallel many modern day issues so it is easy to get immersed. I agree with previous reviews that Season 2 isn't off to the start the first season was, but the season is still young. And HBO shows have a tendency to put the best episodes at the beginning and end of the season. Expand
  59. JulioM
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    one of the best shows on TV today . I found the show to watch after the Sopranos Finale.
  60. JoeD
    Feb 1, 2007
    10
    I can't understand why the critics are so lukewarm towards this great show - Philistines if you ask me. ' 'Deadwood' in togas it certainly is - and that was one of the best TV series I have ever seen.
  61. GlennC
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    Spectacularly convincing and complex personalities, in a largely accurate historical portrayal. Ancient Rome brought to life and made human. A brilliant series. Brilliant!
  62. Sean
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    One of my top 5 TV shows, and the second season started fantastically hopefully proving that this season will leave its intended mark. Tonight's episode should be wonderful.
  63. keithw.
    Jan 27, 2007
    7
    I would have given a higher score,but sort of dissapointed in the start of season 2,compared to the end of season 1.It still has a chance to get back to the unpredictability of last year,but seems to be getting caught up in the unneccessary.In the grand scheme of things it seems to be staying with the actual story on the rulership of Rome,and Egypt.*spoiler*If so sorry about your luck I would have given a higher score,but sort of dissapointed in the start of season 2,compared to the end of season 1.It still has a chance to get back to the unpredictability of last year,but seems to be getting caught up in the unneccessary.In the grand scheme of things it seems to be staying with the actual story on the rulership of Rome,and Egypt.*spoiler*If so sorry about your luck M.A,and big C,Octo boy rules! Expand
  64. JudyT.
    Jan 22, 2007
    7
    Though not as good as the first season, its still my favorite guilty pleasure to watch. I can't wait to see what they do with Octavian.
  65. nickj
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    I love this show very much
  66. Patty
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Wow, I'm totally hooked on this series! I just watched the first season all in one weekend via HBO-On Demand and loved it. Rome has it all: sex, drugs, heads rolling, and one hellofagood story line. Now waiting until Sunday night each week to watch the next episode is going to be hard! It must cost millions to produce and they do an amazing job. Try it, you won't be sorry.
  67. johnc
    Jan 19, 2007
    0
    messed up
  68. vallonickafilms
    Jan 19, 2007
    8
    It's a great show about one of the greatest civilizations to ever exist and is by far the best non-reality show on TV after 24.
  69. cegarazor
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    the best ever
  70. tata
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    awesome, awsome, awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!
  71. BrendanN
    Jan 16, 2007
    9
    Rome may not have as much of a following as a show like CSI or even The Sopranos, but it still remains one of the most epic, bloody, erotic, beautiful, intense series on TV EVER! Sure, this may be the last season, but people will be replaying this series for years to come. It truly does make you feel like no penny was wasted in the budget for this show. Everything has a purpose, even if Rome may not have as much of a following as a show like CSI or even The Sopranos, but it still remains one of the most epic, bloody, erotic, beautiful, intense series on TV EVER! Sure, this may be the last season, but people will be replaying this series for years to come. It truly does make you feel like no penny was wasted in the budget for this show. Everything has a purpose, even if it's purpose is only to prove that Rome truly was one of the most amazing and horrifying places to ever exist. Expand
  72. christopher
    Jan 15, 2007
    8
    I was intially bummed reading the reviews for this season...and then I saw the first episode. Improved pacing and character exploration, entertaining action and gore, and a bit more sophesticated story telling overall. Please explain to me how a reviewer uses a spelling/90210 analogy for the "new direction" of this series? This is my 4th favorite HBO series of the 4 I enjoy emensly, but I was intially bummed reading the reviews for this season...and then I saw the first episode. Improved pacing and character exploration, entertaining action and gore, and a bit more sophesticated story telling overall. Please explain to me how a reviewer uses a spelling/90210 analogy for the "new direction" of this series? This is my 4th favorite HBO series of the 4 I enjoy emensly, but come on folks, it is still emensly enjoyable and worth watching. HBO continues to outdo itself. Expand
  73. RikeneF
    Jan 14, 2007
    10
    Best show on tv...
  74. ErnestD
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Well acted!!! Great story beyond the story. HBO does it again
  75. muzs
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    excelent series
  76. joeldb
    Jan 12, 2007
    10
    Tad Friend and Matt Roush are fucking retards. Best show ever.
  77. BrandonS
    Jan 11, 2007
    8
    Rome's first series got better and better as it went along last year. Since this will be its second and final series, the quality should remain very high, so I'm very excited that they'll bring the story to a satisfying ending. You never know, though. It could stink. My hopes are up, though. Combined with Battlestar Galactica, Sundays are back in business!
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 75
    "Rome" treats viewers as long-term fans of deep terrain. To follow "Rome," it is required you keep up. If you do, you may be rewarded with a fine tale, proper acting and a better-told history lesson.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    63
    As in season 1, the acting is rich and lusty, with no costume-drama fustiness. [15 Jan 2007, p.33]
  3. Turns like this take the series further into Aaron Spelling territory than it ever was, an idea that may offend those who can't let go of the notion that HBO is supposed to be better than regular TV.