• Network: ABC , Global
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 24, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 79
  2. Negative: 20 out of 79

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    10
    This is a cop show so I will score it as a cop show. Its one of the best I've seen. It brings the job of cops down to earth in a way that people can relate. Some person hold very high expectations of police officer (even new police officers) but in reality, there still human, the longer they do the job the better they get at it and as with everyone they can make mistakes. I don't believe this show portrays police officers in a negative way or that makes them look "stupid", if anything it humanise them. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    7
    Rookie Blue isn't the best show in the world, but it might be one of the best Cop shows on the air at the moment. It's got very real, relatable characters whom you grow to actual care about, and the show is more about the characters than anything else. It's essentially a cop-themed soap opera featuring a cast of beautiful women and good looking men and original plots that aren't half-bad. It's a show worth watching if you find yourself attracted to cop dramas. Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    I have really enjoyed the show from the beginning. is has all the makings of a great show and I don't know why so many people seem to not like it. I would hate to see this show cancelled before it has enough time to allow the characters to fully build. Me personally will take any decent drama over all these moronic reality crap shows that flood our prime time and most other time for that matter!! Sorry about the small rant I am just sick of any and all reality TV show. They will make a show about almost anyone or anything anymore. I for one am SICK of it! Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    Love this show. It works extremely hard to be as realistic as possible, and it does a pretty great job. The characters are not all crazy gifted, and they make their fair share of mistakes, making them extremely believable as people. The angle on this show is basically if you like seeing some justice and also like shows that capture real emotions, and focus on the characters more; then you will like this. All the actors are extremely talented and interact with each other like you would with colleagues at work, another very humanizing factor in the show. Great, if your into this stuff. Expand
  5. May 16, 2012
    10
    Police Drama, Police Procedure shows have a shelf life these days of no more than like 8 seasons unless they can work an interesting angle like forensics like CSI, psychology with criminal minds or getting at the motives like colombo or something. Rookie Blue gets at exactly that what it is like a rookie. As for shelf life, i don't know how these rookies can be rookies for 8 years but it is very entertaining and the show has the characters we want to see more of. Down to earth development of plots and surprises make this show. Unlike watching paint dry, seeing a rookie in this light has potential for some real stories. Third Watch was the best before all these new shows which had that down to earth feel I see here. Third Watch left on a high when it was ahead. 9/11 gave Third Watch its rich drama, Rookie Blue needs to find its groove like Third Watch or it will be hard to reach 5 seasons. In the end, it benefits from the summer crowd who can make the investment into the show. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Rookie Blue i have to say is one of the best cop shows i can say where i can sit and watch the whole show without being disgusted. Why you say this is the only show? Well, the plot outline is as simple that is appropiate for a cop show because its not so in depth where you might have to go back to the beginning if you get confused during the middle end. Also, I admire how you have the lifestyle of a cop at home and at work with their personal problems getting in the middle of everything. Ok you might think its cheesey but nothing beats old school style stuff! I can see why they allowed it to go for a third season. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2011
    7
    I just discovered this show last week and I'm really enjoying it. I'm not usually a fan of cop/detective shows but this one has me hooked. It also has a good balance of drama and action.
  8. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Please please tell the characters that they are mumbling. No, we are not hard of hearing and do not have this problem with any other television series. We just can not understand half of what is mumbled by the actors, or they have the worst sound system in television.
  9. Nov 7, 2010
    3
    Overall Rookie Blue has a great premise, the problems are the annoying, unrealistic characters that tell the story. The characters in this show make cops look stupid and unprofessional...something they're not. Overall, this show makes just about every rookie mistake in the book.
  10. Oct 1, 2010
    10
    It's funny and entertaining. The plot always keeps me interested and I care about the characters and their development. I hope this show sees more seasons, I have no idea what the "professional" critics are looking for and I don't have the time to read through their criticisms and comment on each one but I definitely don't agree with the low rating.
  11. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    I have thoroughly enjoyed the entire series. I liked getting to know the characters and look forward to more and changing dynamics. I like the clean language and the fact that I'm not subjected to bloody violence. I look forward to the new season. Thanks.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 50
    Rookie Blue makes every rookie mistake there is. And the main message going out to the public about new police recruits? "They're so cute!"
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    50
    The pilot goes down smoothly enough, but lacking a single novel beat and with no one but Peregrym registering, there's simply no compelling reason to make another visit to this precinct
  3. Reviewed by: Katherine Stevens
    50
    Despite occasional moments of solid acting on the part of Peregrym and Okuma, Rookie Blue sinks under the weight of its cheesy montages, references to the rookies as "fresh paint," and the lack of chemistry between the main characters.