• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 11, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 7 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    May 8, 2014
    80
    Rosemary’s Baby bends to current fashions, and, accordingly, is more straightforward and much gorier than the original film. But partly because the story has been so altered, it still has mystery and suspense.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    May 8, 2014
    80
    This mini reproduces the movie's singular feat of being scary without being graphic, accomplishing more with mood and suggestion than overt shocks.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 9, 2014
    75
    This version, set in Paris, compensates with an atmosphere of chic rot--they have that over there--an increased body count and an excellent cast. [19 May 2014, p.44]
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 8, 2014
    75
    Saldana carries the full load throughout. Her skepticism grows--as does her performance--in tandem with her belly before it all boils over into a full-out escape plan.
  5. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    May 6, 2014
    75
    There are enough deviations to keep horror aficionados at least mildly interested. [9 May 2014, p.61]
  6. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    May 8, 2014
    70
    Although their four-hour production sags and drags in places, it is overall a stylish and engaging new take.
  7. Reviewed by: Elisabeth Vincentelli
    May 12, 2014
    63
    The miniseries is often visually striking, with helmer Agnieszka Holland delivering stylish, cinematic work. But the new script also undermines her mood-setting efforts with cheap shock tactics.
  8. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    May 7, 2014
    63
    It starts to feel repetitive in the second half. But a convincing Zoe Saldana Avatar keeps you vested in the outcome, and the City of Light makes an enticing backdrop for the Prince of Darkness.
  9. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    May 9, 2014
    60
    NBC's version lacks the undercurrent of humor that ran through the 1968 film.... What this Rosemary's Baby has going for it, mostly, is Rosemary herself. Saldana's terrific as a gutsy mother-to-be who knows something's wrong but can't get anyone to believe her. And Holland's direction maintains whatever suspense is possible. Which is only so much.
  10. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    May 9, 2014
    60
    The script can be remedially hokey, but Saldana turns in a feisty and believable performance as a mother fighting for the life of her unholy spawn.
  11. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    May 9, 2014
    58
    Thursday’s conclusion drags a bit if only because the miniseries requires Rosemary to be so deeply stupid for so long, and it’s not entertaining watching Saldana being practically sucked dry by her infernal fetus.
  12. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    May 8, 2014
    58
    Nice to look at, good performances, but ultimately a snooze.
  13. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    May 9, 2014
    50
    Rosemary's Baby is not terrible. Where the original film was shocking, this version, though bloody, is fairly mild.
  14. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    May 9, 2014
    50
    NBC’s Rosemary’s Baby, which premieres Sunday night and finishes up on Thursday, is a not-great remake, but it is also a not-entirely-horrible miniseries, a beneficiary of the soft standards of low expectations.
  15. 50
    Saldana seems to be sleepwalking through most of it, and we rarely feel Rosemary’s fear. Rather than jumping in your seat, you’re more likely to pick up a magazine.
  16. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 7, 2014
    50
    The cast is very good, perhaps showing just how competent they are as they maintain a tenuous hold on our interest long after the film has dropped the credibility ball.
  17. Reviewed by: Zack Handlen
    May 8, 2014
    42
    The new Rosemary’s Baby is, at best, a glossy, flat reminder that there are better versions of this story readily available. At worst, it’s just flat.
  18. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    May 9, 2014
    40
    The problem for the miniseries is that what it adds to fill the extra time feels like padding.
  19. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    May 8, 2014
    40
    The miniseries is leaden and slack. Part of the problem maybe simply be bloat.... But the greater problem is Rosemary and Guy, who are as anesthetically generic as a couple in a credit-card commercial.
  20. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    May 7, 2014
    40
    Steeped in gore but deprived of atmosphere, this update on the Satanic classic suffers from its contemporary setting and attendant improvements in obstetrics, while feeling closer in tone to a remake of “The Omen” than of its namesake.
  21. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    May 8, 2014
    37
    It won't take you long to recognize this inept remake for the dull, clumsy bore it is.
  22. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    May 9, 2014
    30
    Even with actors who have done good work elsewhere, this Baby is a curiously lifeless “reimagining” with a thoroughly modern polish that actually makes the story harder to believe and lands well short of its target of generating atmospheric chills.
  23. 30
    In nearly every scene of this Baby, you're judging it against the Polanski version and wishing you were watching that one instead. The writing is jumbled, the photography often merely pretty, the direction often shockingly clumsy.
  24. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    May 9, 2014
    30
    Nothing is remotely atmospheric, death scenes are predictable and boringly filmed, the best friend character might as well be wearing a red shirt, and the dialogue and plotting are horrendously executed.
  25. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 9, 2014
    30
    Roman and Margaux Castavet (scene-stealing Jason Isaacs and Carole Bouquet, the best reasons to tune in). Closer in tone to ABC's failed 666 Park Avenue homage than to Roman Polanski's still-haunting 1968 adaptation, this Baby isn't likely to keep you at night.
  26. Reviewed by: Matt Brennan
    May 12, 2014
    25
    The style, or lack thereof, works against the tale of psychological terrors to the point that the whole thing feels like a rebuke.
  27. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    May 12, 2014
    10
    So much of this remake loses the original’s subtlety (no doubt decades of more pointed horror movies have taken their toll) that outside of the aforementioned three worthwhile elements [Paris, Zoe Saldana, and Zoe Saldana in her underwear] everything seems to be a waste of time.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. May 13, 2014
    7
    I think they should have made a sequel instead. I would have preferred that. Rosemary's baby is one of my favorite films, and I still wonder what happened after Rosemary saw her baby for first time. I never thought that the satanic cult were real demons or had supernatural skills as it happens here. For me, they were just insane, and I always imagined Rosemary trying to free herself from them, and why not, planing a revenge maybe? Anyway, I don't think this remake is that bad. Zoe is very good as Rosemary, that's what it keeps the story going. I also think the chemistry with her husband works. On the other hand, the production design and image is very good, it sexy and sophisticated. I think that's how the film looked then in 1968 (I was born many years later). And I said before, I didn't like the supernatural element here, as for example that Demon. The satanic cult and the rich neighbors are scary enough. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2014
    1
    Awful writing, slowly paced, I feel that they could have easily condensed Rosemary's Baby into a single "episode", but for whatever reason they felt inclined to just spread it as thin as possible.

    I think what made it the worst was the female lead's portrayal as a sniveling coward. For someone who is worried about the well being of their "baby" and the issues she has, she sure lets an awful lot of people force her into positions she rather wouldn't. She mate it almost un-watchable.

    I would have ended it differently, having Rosemary throw herself and the baby to their deaths, but I guess that's just me.
    Full Review »
  3. May 20, 2014
    9
    so far creator, director Agnieszka Holland presents a whole new genreation + new vision = a remake to Roman Polaniski's version of the project . So far people , critics are not liking this because its not like this because it does not led to the Original. but this show is wonderful and brilliant Grade A+ Full Review »