• Network: Lifetime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: David Knowles
    Aug 12, 2011
    70
    A sassy piece of voyeuristic candy that explores the Russian immigrant community of Brighton Beach, N.Y.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Aug 11, 2011
    63
    Huge egos, big tempers, blood feuds and bling.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    It's tacky, da--or should we say duh?--but likable. [22 Aug 2011, p.45]
  4. Reviewed by: Leah Greenblatt
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    Dolls has the acrylic stink of a low-rent reality show. Small dramas--like the twentysomething whose parents disapprove of her Spanish beau--could be interesting; instead, it all just devolves into Girls Behaving Badly.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    Russian Dolls reinforces every negative stereotype about Russian women.
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 11, 2011
    40
    It feels like a retread--and a toothless one at that.
  7. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Aug 11, 2011
    30
    The producers didn't have any difficulty recruiting a gaggle of vain, vulgar spendthrifts willing to hiss, preen and cry on cue for the camera.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 11, 2011
    30
    The series lacks the sort of connective tissue that provides at least a modicum of narrative coherence to the "Real Housewives" franchise, or any number of programs that have beaten Dolls to the punch.
  9. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Aug 11, 2011
    25
    Russian Dolls is so busily edited--is any shot longer than 3 seconds?--that there's no flavor of anything.
User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    I'm from Russia.And, fairly,I wanted to vomit, when I had been watching this show, because level of improbability and delirium read off scale.I'm from Russia.And, fairly,I wanted to vomit, when I had been watching this show, because level of improbability and delirium read off scale. Russian girls in a reality not such spoiled and stupid stinkers, as shown in that show. This is a "reality-show", which continues tradition to bend representation about Russia and Russian people In USA .I would advise to you not to watch this show and to spend more time with a family and friends Full Review »
  2. Aug 21, 2011
    0
    First of all - these people are not Russian, I flinched every time they spoke about their "Russian culture", "Russian family", etc. EveryoneFirst of all - these people are not Russian, I flinched every time they spoke about their "Russian culture", "Russian family", etc. Everyone in this show comes from a very provincial tradition of Russian Jewry, it's a subculture not a single Russian is admiring or belongs to. Imagine Russian TV making a show with - say - some Cajuns from a very backward areas in Louisiana and representing that exotic minority as Americans.

    I'm aware that USA is a nation made of many ethnic groups but I think you understand what I mean.

    The people from this show (the older generation) held the Russian passports, they speak (heavily accented and lowbrow) Russian, but presenting them as Russians is wrong.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    Although the show started out on an over dramatized note of self-absorption and a vain unrealistic representation of the Russian community itAlthough the show started out on an over dramatized note of self-absorption and a vain unrealistic representation of the Russian community it has become more interesting as the weeks went on. It's a bit laughable the ladies obsession with themselves is the premise here however, it is significantly more interesting and enjoyable that Jersey Shore has ever been. At the very least, there seems to be more to their lives than drinking themselves into an oblivion and making complete fools of themselves. Full Review »