• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Russian Dolls Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lifetime tries its hand at a Real Housewives/Jersey Shore-esque reality show focused on the lives of young Russian-American men and women from Brooklyn's Brighton Beach neighborhood.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: David Knowles
    Aug 12, 2011
    70
    A sassy piece of voyeuristic candy that explores the Russian immigrant community of Brighton Beach, N.Y.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Aug 11, 2011
    63
    Huge egos, big tempers, blood feuds and bling.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 11, 2011
    50
    Russian Dolls reinforces every negative stereotype about Russian women.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 12, 2011
    50
    It's tacky, da--or should we say duh?--but likable. [22 Aug 2011, p.45]
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 11, 2011
    40
    It feels like a retread--and a toothless one at that.
  6. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Aug 11, 2011
    30
    The producers didn't have any difficulty recruiting a gaggle of vain, vulgar spendthrifts willing to hiss, preen and cry on cue for the camera.
  7. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Aug 11, 2011
    25
    Russian Dolls is so busily edited--is any shot longer than 3 seconds?--that there's no flavor of anything.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    I like Russian dolls and people ;) So, if you like the energy of a bright sunny day which brings you joy and happiness then smoke Glamour Amber. If you want to meditate, to intensify your psychic awareness, and to increase your imagination and inspiration then smoke Glamour Lilac. http://www.cigs4girls.com/ Expand
  2. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    Although the show started out on an over dramatized note of self-absorption and a vain unrealistic representation of the Russian community it has become more interesting as the weeks went on. It's a bit laughable the ladies obsession with themselves is the premise here however, it is significantly more interesting and enjoyable that Jersey Shore has ever been. At the very least, there seems to be more to their lives than drinking themselves into an oblivion and making complete fools of themselves. Collapse
  3. Aug 29, 2011
    2
      I watched with interest the three episodes of the show, but I was very disappointed with the representation of the Russian community on the show. I came to Brooklyn when I was eight and grew up near Brighton beach. I was shocked at how the community is being represented on the show. Yes we love to party and go to banya, we take pride in how we dress and look but unlike on the show , Russian American women work hard to succeed. I wish the producers of the show would have chosen beautiful, successful Russian girls that contribute to society i.e. The Real Russian Dolls.... Just for the record calling your your mother a b.... on and off the camera is never acceptable in the Russian community. Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2011
    0
    They are Jewish not Russian. Jews who left Russia because they didn't like it's culture and principles. To represent Russia and claim it's tradition is awkwardly wrong. The drama is all real and that's how those Jews (Not Russians) really act in Brooklyn. They are brave to put themselves out there by representing their own lifestyle but never a Russian one.  Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2011
    0
    First of all - these people are not Russian, I flinched every time they spoke about their "Russian culture", "Russian family", etc. Everyone in this show comes from a very provincial tradition of Russian Jewry, it's a subculture not a single Russian is admiring or belongs to. Imagine Russian TV making a show with - say - some Cajuns from a very backward areas in Louisiana and representing that exotic minority as Americans.

    I'm aware that USA is a nation made of many ethnic groups but I think you understand what I mean.

    The people from this show (the older generation) held the Russian passports, they speak (heavily accented and lowbrow) Russian, but presenting them as Russians is wrong.
    Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2011
    0
    I'm from Russia.And, fairly,I wanted to vomit, when I had been watching this show, because level of improbability and delirium read off scale. Russian girls in a reality not such spoiled and stupid stinkers, as shown in that show. This is a "reality-show", which continues tradition to bend representation about Russia and Russian people In USA .I would advise to you not to watch this show and to spend more time with a family and friends Expand