• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 19, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Ryan and Tatum: The O'Neals Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The father and daughter actors reunite in this reality series as they attempt to reconcile their differences.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Reality, Game Show
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: David Knowles
    Jun 20, 2011
    80
    OWN has tapped into an often uncomfortable, always entertaining in-progress drama that keeps you guessing.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 15, 2011
    80
    Though both are actors with pasts that border on Hollywood satire, they appear more "real" than any other set of reality drama stars on TV today. No moral compasses here, no self-sabotage, no attempt to brand themselves with a phrase or a fist pump, just a very, very complicated family and fairly reasonable expectations.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 15, 2011
    67
    Tatum seems genuine and almost desperate to forget the past; Ryan affects the pose that he couldn't care less. Over this is draped a weird "only-in-Hollywood" vibe--and a particularly sad one, too.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 20, 2011
    67
    Damned if it doesn't pretty much work. The O'Neals are still quite a duo, whether they end up staunching a lot of those old wounds or opening new ones.
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 20, 2011
    40
    They both confess to failings, Tatum more than Ryan, and they seem genuinely interested in making things work. Whether they can will be the drama for the next seven episodes, and the only safe bet is that with two people as self-focused as these guys, the ride won't be smooth.
  6. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Ryan & Tatum has an unsavory viscosity to it, making all this soul-baring seem all too calculated.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Aug 15, 2011
    10
    This is one of those programs that I didn't want to like for obvious reasons. Two rich spoiled people complaining about how hard their lives have been, who cares, right! I couldn't have been more wrong. I found it very down to earth and revealing and while no one's life is easy, it drew me in because the emotions, good, bad and ugly, felt very real to me. I am hoping there is a Season II, as I would like to see these two people keep trying to heal. And I'm hoping that Ryan's dog can be housebroken :) Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    I watched "Ryan and Tatum," in one sitting, for what seemed to be a couple of hours or more. Although my family of origin is not famous, I was able to connect well to Tatum's attempt to heal the wounds of her past. Like Ryan, my father met a woman who caused him to forsake his responsibilities to his children This happened after a life-shatering tragedy that hurt all of us. He found her, while we wallowed in pain.

    Unfortunately, in the 60's children were thought by the adults around them to be especially resilient. Like water off a duck's back, no event was beyond a child's ability to transcend their subsequent emotions and lack of insight brought on by any horror. There were no definitions furnished by the adults of my life to describe for me what I was feeling. Child psychiatry and psychology, I believe, was in it's infancy. Even today, these professions seem to be nothing more than pill mills, for there is little talk, as I see it.

    I understand Tatum's deep-seated hurts and feelings. My father, too, was a fighter -- willing to hit anyone who didn't see things his way, or who objected to his behavior.

    In response, I too left home (at 17) and tried very hard to never look back. Unlike Ryan, however, I feel certain my father would never have aired his dirty laundry before an analyst., much less the nation. In fact, he detested the entire mental health system of care.

    May God be with them both.
    Collapse
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    0
    Really?

    "The father and daughter actors reunite in this reality series as they attempt to reconcile their differences" should really say
    "Ryan O'Neal, previously an actor, but hasn't had an acting job in forever, and his daughter reunite in an attempt to capitalize on the death of Farrah Fawcett".

    Come on guys, she's gone, there are no coattails to ride on, give it a rest and let her RIP.
    Expand