Season #: 1, 2
Salem Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In 1692 Massachusetts, John Alden (Shane West) returns from war to find his friend Cotton Mather (Seth Gabel) leading the Salem witch trials and his former lover Mary Sibley (Janet Montgomery), married to the elderly and wealthy George Sibley.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Apr 17, 2014
    80
    When Salem isn’t being deliberately outrageous, it’s cultivating a dynamic that could be fruitful as things move along.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Apr 18, 2014
    70
    There's plenty of room in the graveyard for Salem, although it's way too early to tell if it can effectively build on the scary and sensual elements introduced in Sunday's premiere.
  3. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 18, 2014
    63
    Salem as a whole reflects the difference in the work of West and Montgomery. Yet its wildly uneven premiere has enough going for it to make me watch at least another episode.
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 17, 2014
    42
    Salem is replete with scenes that make little sense. It’s mostly a jumble of decent enough special effects, less-than-decent acting, a script that also should be lashed with “10 hard ones” and lots of blood-curdling screaming.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 17, 2014
    40
    The Salem pilot is rather plodding except when occasionally punctuated by these more gonzo scenes.
  6. Reviewed by: Zack Handlen
    Apr 18, 2014
    33
    Salem uses real life to prop up its shallow theatrics, and the result is too distractingly tacky to be enjoyed as pure foolishness.
  7. Reviewed by: Sara Stewart
    Apr 17, 2014
    25
    It’s like watching the cast of “One Tree Hill” put on a production of “The Crucible.”

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 5 out of 28
  1. May 29, 2014
    10
    Awesome. The way the creators have made it close to how things went down historically makes it even more awesome. I hope there will be moreAwesome. The way the creators have made it close to how things went down historically makes it even more awesome. I hope there will be more seasons to come! Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2014
    10
    The show is terrific. Very dark and holds nothing back. Like everything about it. It's different to see Salem through a witches perspective.The show is terrific. Very dark and holds nothing back. Like everything about it. It's different to see Salem through a witches perspective. Not everything is so black and white. Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    Fantastic series and great concept. Love it. loved the first episode, surely the rest of the season is gonna be awesome.
    with elementary,
    Fantastic series and great concept. Love it. loved the first episode, surely the rest of the season is gonna be awesome.
    with elementary, sapce dandy, big bang theory and da vincis demons soon ending their seasons this is gonna be an awesome expierence during the summer
    Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    8
    Salem is WGN America's first Drama, and I believe it will mark the possible beginning of a new successful cable network. The fact that SalemSalem is WGN America's first Drama, and I believe it will mark the possible beginning of a new successful cable network. The fact that Salem is on WGN, and not on a pay-network like HBO or Showtime, Is a very good thing. Almost always, dramas set in the past featured on pay-networks cater to the fact that they are allowed to show whatever they want without any restrictions. The writers get so carried away in sexual violence and historical accuracy that they forget the main purpose of their series -- to entertain. What if a younger audience, or someone like me, who doesn't like watching women be treated as sexual objects and tortured wants to watch a fantasy drama or period piece? Well, we can't, not on the pay networks. But now, with Salem, we can. I am proud to report that the pilot had no sexual violence! Woo-hoo!

    Salem is a fresh take on the supernatural, venturing into the dark past of Salem, the center of the witch trials of 1692. The show centers on a War veteran (Shane West) who returns to Salem after being held prisoner by Native American's for 5 years only to discover his town has become a warzone as well. However, this battle is very different than the one he fought. Witches hide in plain sight. You don't know who you can trust. Salem does a good job creating an accurate feeling environment, and focusing on all the right things. It feels a bit like Sleepy Hollow, only, if Ichabod had not woken up in 2013.
    I recommend.
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2014
    7
    It could be better, it could be worse. This is one of those shows I watch just because of one character, and right now it's Alden, of course.It could be better, it could be worse. This is one of those shows I watch just because of one character, and right now it's Alden, of course. It's going a bit too fast...It lacks mystery to it. But gruesome scenes are great. Expand
  6. Apr 28, 2014
    5
    The Salem Witch Trials have always been both one of the blackest and of the most fascinating pages in American history. It would not haveThe Salem Witch Trials have always been both one of the blackest and of the most fascinating pages in American history. It would not have taken long before popculture would have picked up on these gruesome but mysterious events. Too bad the Salem series WGN aired for the first time last Sunday is quite atrocious for my liking.

    The sneak peek they sent out into the world brought us a clear message : these would not be the nice and gullible witches from the Secret Cirkle, nor the funny kind we know from shows like Charmed. No, these witches were downward scary. Salem was bound to be a horror flick : WGN's answer to the success of American Horror Story. But they did not deliver at all.

    So where did it go wrong?

    For a start : the series did not succeed to put forward even one likable character. You could argue that John Alden is not that bad, but you wouldn't invite him to your dinner party either. He left his girlfriend in a hypocritical puritan hellhole where you get whipped and branded for having sex, to go and kill some Indians and still claimed he loved her. When the girl – Mary, discovers she has a bun in the oven, she desperately turns herself to the devil.

    Years later, when the brave war hero Alden steps back into town he finds the city is held by some sort of witch craze. Everybody is scared while the religious forces in the area seem to be happy to hang people from the highest tree out of fear they might have maybe possibly by chance been a witch. But as the episode enrolls, we find out that fear might have been well-grounded.

    And yes it all seems scary and yes there are some slight plot twists, but I still ask myself why I would take the time to sit down and spend one hour in front of TV when there is nobody to really root for.
    Besides, the especially bad acting of Seth Gabel ( John Alden) makes me puke a bit in my mouth every time he appears on screen.
    The storyline isn't that exciting either : we get to see some CGI scary stuff that made us shiver for a second or two and there were some scenes I enjoyed quite a lot, but there is nothing there that would lift the series out of the pit of damnation, better known as ' the average bin' .

    You could argue this is only a pilot, and that we should wait until the series has evolved a bit more. And I would agree. Still : it does not have the grandeur of American Horror Story, by far. When I peek at the IMDB page of the series I must note that there will be some more – and maybe even vital, changes throughout not only the cast, but also the series itself. I'll camp out for another episode or two because there is a lot of potential. Now just hope the creators find the guts to bring that potential forward.

    www.geekin.me
    Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2014
    0
    I am appalled in the extreme!

    The promotional blurb says "This drama series set in 17th-century Salem, Massachusetts, explores what really
    I am appalled in the extreme!

    The promotional blurb says "This drama series set in 17th-century Salem, Massachusetts, explores what really fueled the town's infamous witch trials, uncovering some dark truths". Not only is this misleading, it is an outright LIE! I was hoping for a historical-based drama. What I got was some dark fairy tale based on belief systems 400 years out of date.

    Did the writers and producers get their 'truths' from the Malleus Maleficarum or did they just collectively decide to throw history, truth and reason to the winds? Even Salem itself admits that what 'fueled the ... witch trials' was politics and greed. There is actual factual and physical evidence now available that proves beyond any doubt that the girls that started it all were, in fact, 'playing a joke' on the town because they were bored. Further documents confirm that Magistrate John Hathorne and Reverend Cotton Mather conspired with these girls to grab land and wealth since convicted witches forfeited all their property to 'the crown' who auctions it off to locals at bargain rates.

    Worse than the outright misrepresentation of the story-line, this show not only perpetuates, but actually embellishes upon the negative image of witches and witchcraft as devil-worshipers that was held in the 18th century. If you tried today to depict Native Americans as blood-thirsty savages, Black Americans as ignorant vicious voodoun practitioners, or Muslims as intrinsically violent woman-haters, the critics and sensors would be all over this show, shutting it down. But the writers and producers think nothing about a show that degrades and humiliates REAL witches - yes, they do exist - who are peace-loving, earth-protecting, animal-loving individuals who live by the law of "Harm None".

    Wicca, along with all other Pagan denominations is a Federally-recognized religion discussed in the Military Chaplains Handbook as a religion which "Worships the sacred as immanent in Nature, often personified as Mother Earth and Father Sky. It is very important to be aware that Wiccans do not in any way worship or believe in "Satan," "the Devil," or any similar entities. They point out that "Satan" is a symbol of rebellion against and inversion of the Christian and Jewish traditions. Wiccans do not revile the Bible. They simply regard it as one among many of the world's mythic systems, less applicable than some to their core values, but still deserving just as much respect as any of the others."

    It's about time people stopped degrading and misrepresenting both Salem and Witches for the sheer purpose of sensationalizing a money machine. I has taken 400 years for the hatred and violence caused by the witch hunts to begin to wane. Now this show purports to show us the 'truth' about Witchcraft as a Satantic, violent, blood-thirsty, power-hungry cult!

    I, for one, will NOT be watching this show and I am very sorry to see such talented actors, whom I have long respected, allowing themselves to become a part of this bigoted hate-fest that is targeting a very valuable section of the population and labeling them, yet again, as Evil.
    Expand

See all 28 User Reviews