• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 5, 2008
  • Season #: 1
Samurai Girl Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Heaven (Jamie Chung) learns the way of the Samurai to avenge an attack on her family.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Reviewed by: Tanner Stransky
    83
    The winning Samurai has lots of action, and is generously peppered with comedic asides. [5 Sep 2008, p.70]
  2. 75
    Its newest show, Samurai Girl, is an action-packed, three-night martial arts miniseries that introduces girls to the world of Asian action flicks.
  3. It's not perfect, but it certainly is different, so why not just enjoy the ride?
  4. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    63
    The first two hours are decent.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    50
    It needs a lot more moments like the one when the samurai girl bursts through a door to find her chauffeur on the verge of disemboweling himself. “Seriously?” she asks, eyeing the knife in his hands. “Seppuku?”
  6. 50
    Samurai Girl takes up a lot of time and space, but manages to do only one surprising thing: prove that it's possible to be action-packed and dull at the same time.
  7. Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    40
    Samurai Girl tries to spice things up visually with comicbook-style act breaks, but the fighting sequences would need to be staged more imaginatively to compensate for the various deficiencies, and frankly -- even with a few skewerings and a torture scene -- those shiny swords can do only so much damage on ABC Family

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. MariaF.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    My family and I hope this will be a weely series and that Jake and Heaven will be a team, later to be a couple. It was a good mystery, action My family and I hope this will be a weely series and that Jake and Heaven will be a team, later to be a couple. It was a good mystery, action and suspenseful 3 nights and most disappointed in the ending but something to look forward to when they meet up again. Expand
  2. ElaineS.
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    I love this show!!! I hope there will be a season two so that I can find out what happens next. I am waiting for Heaven and Jake to meet I love this show!!! I hope there will be a season two so that I can find out what happens next. I am waiting for Heaven and Jake to meet again and to see what adventure they fall into next. Expand
  3. MatthewP.
    Sep 7, 2008
    10
    love this show. i really hope they make more we all home it become a full session if people don't like this show then don't watch love this show. i really hope they make more we all home it become a full session if people don't like this show then don't watch it. i love this show and i wish it never ended. Expand
  4. MeaghanV.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    LOVE this show you should totally make it into a series! Can't get enough.
  5. BarbD.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    I loved this show. i agree it may not be realistic but it's a great drama/romance/action mini-series. i hope they continue to make I loved this show. i agree it may not be realistic but it's a great drama/romance/action mini-series. i hope they continue to make episodes. the ending only kept me wanting more!! Expand
  6. RayF
    Sep 7, 2008
    9
    Action packed with splashes of comedy and drama. Jamie Chung is smoking HOT! It cant hurt that Stacy Keibler is in it too! Jamie and Stacy Action packed with splashes of comedy and drama. Jamie Chung is smoking HOT! It cant hurt that Stacy Keibler is in it too! Jamie and Stacy alone would keep me coming back for more. I hope they turn this into a series! Their acting is above average considering they don't have much acting experience. Overall, this is a FUN show. Just watch and enjoy and not think if it's realistic or not! Collapse
  7. JamesB.
    Sep 6, 2008
    5
    Honestly, I didn't think this was a very good show. It wasn't anywhere NEAR as bad as "The Secret Life," a really terrible show, Honestly, I didn't think this was a very good show. It wasn't anywhere NEAR as bad as "The Secret Life," a really terrible show, but it still wasn't very good. The action was solid, and the story wasn't too awful, but there are a bunch of issues I took notice of- why the hell does a japenese girl speak perfect english, with no accent, even when she's in japan? Why does she even have a wedding in america? Realistically, most people in america don't go to japan to get married, right? Why is the very first action scene of the series so... lame? Everybody dies instantly, and there is no time to even get to know any of the characters that died, so nobody cares if they die. Why is the name so lame? Samurai Girl? Are you for real!?! But, it could be much worse. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews