• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 14, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Sanctuary Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Amanda Tapping, Robin Dunne, Robin Dunne
  • Summary: Dr. Helen Magnus is in charge of a sanctuary for some of nature's unusual creatures in this new series for Sci Fi that utilizes virtual sets.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
  • Creator: Damian Kindler
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 3, 2008
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 63
    Given that, let me also say that virtual sets don't make up for virtual plots. Not that Sanctuary doesn't have its moments, and those moments might prove to be fast and furious after tonight's two-hour premiere when the show goes to a more manageable one-hour format.
  2. It takes on an early thrilling ride, only to inexplicably start coasting when we need it to shift to the next gear.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    60
    The competent but uninspiring two-hour pilot doesn't deliver the kind of thrills destined to rock anyone else's world.
  4. Much of it feels dreadfully slow, not so much moody as stretched for time....Things do pick up significantly with the arrival of Christopher Heyerdahl as John Druitt.
  5. 60
    Sanctuary’s pace is a little on the stately side, and the show is competent if not particularly innovative sci-fi.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    50
    It’s not an embarrassment for the channel, but it doesn’t raise the stakes either.
  7. The show isn't helped by a two-hour premiere that states and re-states its premise too many times.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 20
  2. Negative: 8 out of 20
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Sanctuary is an incredible series. Thrilling, well-crafted and carried out by talented actors, I greatly enjoy the Sanctuary series. Amanda Tapping plays a convincing Helen Magnus, and manages break out of her Sam Carter SG-1 role successfully. Sanctuary is less geared towards heavy gunfights and explosions that drew in characters for Stargate, I personally think thats why it has less appeal for those hoping for another SG military-based story. While the writing could use some expansion and the storyline could do with a bit of work, Sanctuary is an addictive series if you can get into it. It does seem to be a case of, 'you'll either love it or hate it.' Frankly, I find Sanctuary to be highly enjoyable and the acting is grossly undervalued. To those who accuse Amanda Tappings accent of being poor or inaccurate, I'd like to point out that there is no universal British accent. There is a miasma of different dialects across the UK, and, having lived in Central London all my life, I can say with full confidence that Amanda Tappings' accent wouldn't be even slightly out of place here. However, to address those who believe otherwise, it makes sense that Helen Magnus' accent would be slightly off, the character having been based in America. Regardless, I still maintain that her accent is perfectly fine. To me, Sanctuary is one of the most underrated shows on television. Its innovative special effects and the amazing cast makes up for the lacklustre story which I admit could use some work. However, I'd even go so far as to say that the inspiring components surrounding the storyline makes its rather glaring pitfalls less noticable. I strongly recommend Sanctuary to anyone, very impressed by Ryan Robbins, Amanda Tapping and Agam Darshi especially. Expand
  2. Natasha
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Best show on Sci fi - Damian Kindler is a genius. I love Ryan Robbins. What the hell are you talking about with the accent? There are many different accents. Amanda was born in England. Chris Heyerdahl (Druit) ups the anty here. This is a good show. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    So I admit that this show may not be Golden Globe worthy, there are flaws in design, direction, and acting. But as for entertainment value, what I base my opinion on, it is one of my favorite shows. It's funny and crazy, and full of fun historical fiction. Plus, I like that I can watch it with my mom and not be embarrassed about Syfy. Expand
  4. MikeB.
    Oct 28, 2008
    5
    I will watch the series because I like anything that stirs the imagination. I will however tape the series, definitely better things to do with my Friday night. Expand
  5. PatrickM
    Nov 4, 2008
    3
    Poor quality story telling, yet again, from the Sci Fi channel. With wins like Eureka, SG-1, and BSG under their belt, you'd think that they'd have the formula for compelling sci-fi story telling down. While sci-fi fans await the next great science fiction drama, they're left with these scraps from many, many, many other stories losely tied together as some sort of TV show to deal with. Poor green screen work, lighting that implies that the sun never shines on TV (for some reason...) - here's a clue - darkness in a story is a tone - not actual darkness during every single episode.... Characters so badly drawn that I actually root for the "bad guys" (if there are such a thing in this show - since it's trying very weakly to portray a neutral judgemental position on nearly everything...) to eat one of them...please! The show needs a real villian - a yin to the yang of the crew. And not some cheesy typical American bad "company" - blah, blah, blah... Give us next generation Farscape - not this. Collapse
  6. [anonymous]
    Dec 7, 2009
    2
    sorry amanda but your english accent stinks why try to talk in english when your raised in canada.goesnt make sense. as for the show that stinks as well nothing new or original Expand
  7. KyleB.
    Oct 4, 2008
    0
    Sucks...worst I have seen from Scifi... Amanda should return to Stargate. Scifi should re-start Stargate. Amanda"s English accent is terrible...not even close to believable. Her character is terrible and so is the writing. This show is for saturday morning for little kids. maybe. Amanda is a quality actess but the show and plot is absolutely terrible. Will never watch it again. Gets my vote for the worst new show! Expand

See all 20 User Reviews