• Network: TLC
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 14, 2010
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    So boring? You betcha--perhaps even for many who otherwise admire Palin.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    Palin is a decent, likable guide to the wonders of Alaska, when we get to them. But the real agenda of this show more often seems to be the wonders of Sarah Palin.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    If not for the polarizing nature of its star--people who love her and hate her will tune in to revel in her Palin-ness or mock her for it--no one would be talking about this dull, derivative TV show.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    Every scene, no matter where it's filmed, inevitably seems to become some kind of Palin political dispatch.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    If you loathe Palin, well, Sarah Palin's Alaska will not change that. If you love Palin, there's probably plenty here to solidify your beliefs.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 9, 2010
    58
    Sarah Palin's Alaska is part-travelogue, part-"Todd and Sarah Plus Eight," part-slick political infomercial, and part Mark Burnett hokum - and oddly fascinating for all those reasons.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 9, 2010
    63
    The Most natural thing here is Palin's effortless command of the camera. In That Regard, the show is fascinating. [22 Nov 2010, p.38]
  8. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    If "Survivor" and "Gene Simmons Family Jewels" had a love child, it would be called "Sarah Palin's Alaska.
  9. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Dec 8, 2010
    58
    Sarah Palin's Alaska turns out to be a tepid travelogue of the former governor's home state's tourist attractions interspersed with homespun homilies and family downtime.
  10. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    The snowcapped mountains, pine forests and shimmering lakes are majestic, the Palin children are adorable, and the series looks like a travelogue--wholesome, visually breathtaking and a little dull.
  11. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    It's the fabulous shamelessness, the awful and yet admirable brilliance of the thing. Whether Palin will ever run for office or not, Sarah Palin's Alaska sets a new standard for political ads.
  12. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    It's still pretty blah and rarely rises above a relative's chatty slide show of vacation pictures.
  13. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    The Palin's in Sarah Palin's Alaska is a possessive. But you could be forgiven for suspecting it's really a contraction--Sarah Palin Is Alaska--or for wondering if someone is hoping for a spin-off: Sarah Palin's America.
  14. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Dec 9, 2010
    40
    It delivers only a couple of brown bears and virtually no entertainment, but plenty of Palin, Palin, and more Palin.
  15. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Dec 9, 2010
    60
    Judged by the standards of the form, it is totally OK. There is a soothing mundanity to it, and voyeurs will come away gratified. Though this is hardly an intimate portrait.
  16. Surely it will have Palin lovers rushing to plant wet smooches on the screen and all the haters citing it as proof that TV is, indeed, full of dreck.
  17. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Dec 8, 2010
    30
    Like the Osbournes, Whitney and Bobby, the Simmons, the Kardashians, and the Hammers, they perform themselves: they talk to the camera, they act out, they make complain and look to score points.
  18. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    Dec 9, 2010
    50
    It's essentially "John & Kate Plus Eight." Minus the divorce. Plus cavorting grizzly bears.
  19. Reviewed by: Nancy Franklin
    Dec 9, 2010
    30
    We do meet her parents, but nearly every other moment comes across as calculated--including, in the first episode, the absence of her daughter Bristol--and we find out nothing about Alaska that we didn't learn in elementary school. I know that some Americans think Palin is stupid, but I never realized that she thinks we're stupid.
  20. 75
    This hybrid reality/nature show doesn't offer much in the way of compelling story lines, but there's just something fascinating about anyone who, upon seeing bears frolicking, inches in for a closer look rather than running for home. [12 Nov 2010, p.70]
User Score
1.5

Overwhelming dislike- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 7 out of 10
  1. Dec 11, 2010
    2
    I can't believe a guy lives next to Sarah Plain for the sake of writing about her. God bless him, because she's not interesting at all. Her show is boring, and we ALL know that the only reason she's doing this is for the fame. Fame is all this woman cares about, and it's clear when you combine her motives with what she says. Dissing on immigrants in the middle of her show is absolutely abominable and distasteful. Full Review »
  2. Dec 4, 2010
    0
    While I don't mind a nature show set in Alaska, I do not want a Sarah Palin nature show! It would be no different then the right-wing biased Fox News!
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    0
    nobody cares, why is this on T.V.? i fell asleep watching this boring ass show, and when i wasn't sleeping i was stunned at the stupid crap flowing out of Palins mouth. to sum it up, there were better shows then this garbage that got canceled after the first episode. Full Review »