• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: May 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 23, 2013
    30
    This shrill parable of redemption, being burned off in back-to-back episodes, is like a spiritual Enlightened for the tone deaf.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    May 22, 2013
    30
    "Enlightened" with Laura Dern covered some of the same territory with sensitivity and honesty. Save Me, in the premiere, turns this subtle idea into a romp devoid of charm.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    May 23, 2013
    25
    Sometimes they’re [TV networks are] still smart enough to know when they have a stinker.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 16, 2013
    25
    Consider it dead on arrival. [27 May 2013, p.40]
  5. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    May 23, 2013
    20
    Heche, a strong comic actress, can’t fully conquer the material here, and while the rest of the cast tries hard, there isn’t much with which to get traction.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Great show! I don't know why the critics have mixed feelings. It gives a tasteful difference to ABC's list of shows. Definitely anGreat show! I don't know why the critics have mixed feelings. It gives a tasteful difference to ABC's list of shows. Definitely an enlightened comedy, that is fine for the family, but has more of an adult attitude tied in. I really hope this show continues! Full Review »
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Loved it! I found myself laughing out loud. Heche nails the role and makes the sitcom engaging. Its not earth-shatteringly original, but it isLoved it! I found myself laughing out loud. Heche nails the role and makes the sitcom engaging. Its not earth-shatteringly original, but it is better than most comedies out there. Full Review »
  3. May 25, 2013
    0
    I was shocked to find out about this series...it's totally stealing the premise of a web series on KoldCast.tv called The Book of Dallas...theI was shocked to find out about this series...it's totally stealing the premise of a web series on KoldCast.tv called The Book of Dallas...the first episode of Save Me is even called The Book of Beth!
    Seriously, you can watch the whole web series here:
    http://www.koldcast.tv/video/the_book_of_dallas_chapter_1

    And it's a LOT better.
    Full Review »