• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: May 23, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Save Me Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After nearly dying, Cincinnati housewife Beth Harper (Anne Heche) discovers she can talk to God.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    May 21, 2013
    75
    The Save Me pilot saves itself artistically. But debuting in a summertime double dose makes series salvation improbable.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    May 17, 2013
    70
    Ms. Heche's Beth is just madly menacing enough to keep things interesting.
  3. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    May 17, 2013
    58
    Save Me really wants to be is a sly, prickly black comedy, not the broad, feel-good yukker that it tries to be for most of the pilot--an approach that actually yields few laughs. [24 May 2013, p.77]
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    May 23, 2013
    40
    It almost feels like a weird, little indie film if indie films were somewhat flat and predictable.
  5. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    May 23, 2013
    40
    Tonally, Save Me, with its slightly muddled message about redemption (which in at least one case involves another character's rediscovery of oral sex), doesn't seem to fit with whatever it was that NBC was trying to do with its new sitcoms this season.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    May 23, 2013
    30
    This shrill parable of redemption, being burned off in back-to-back episodes, is like a spiritual Enlightened for the tone deaf.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    May 23, 2013
    20
    Heche, a strong comic actress, can’t fully conquer the material here, and while the rest of the cast tries hard, there isn’t much with which to get traction.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    We need more shows like Save Me!! Funny, witty and NOT OFFENSIVE! I'm personally sick of the cussing, sex and stupidity that has become the norm for prime time tv! Critics of this show are more concerned with being politically correct than promoting good, clean family entertainment.
    Anne Heche and the cast are perfect together!
    I LOVE this show and truly hope it gains enough support to stay on for many seasons to come!
    Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    Great show! I don't know why the critics have mixed feelings. It gives a tasteful difference to ABC's list of shows. Definitely an enlightened comedy, that is fine for the family, but has more of an adult attitude tied in. I really hope this show continues! Collapse
  3. May 25, 2013
    8
    I was expecting this sitcom for so long time, but I have to admit, I forget about this until the premiere days ago and what a big surprise.
    This is more, much more than I was expecting, is really fun and charming.
    The second episode is better than the pilot, wich is a good sign for the quality.
    I think this season gonna be wonderful.
    Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Loved it! I found myself laughing out loud. Heche nails the role and makes the sitcom engaging. Its not earth-shatteringly original, but it is better than most comedies out there. Expand
  5. May 30, 2013
    6
    There are some funny moments, and Heche is basically up to her role, but there's nothing exceptional, or even original, in this. Many better comedies get cancelled every year. Expand
  6. May 27, 2013
    0
    As a show it is just below mediocre, which for some styles of show e.g. cop shows can be bearable; but as a comedy, and one that is shamelessly unoriginal, it is unwatchable. It seems to borrow concepts from already existing IPs like the sitcom "Enlightened" and the web-show "The Book of Dallas", but is much less clever or funny than either.

    Don't waste your time.
    Expand
  7. May 25, 2013
    0
    I was shocked to find out about this series...it's totally stealing the premise of a web series on KoldCast.tv called The Book of Dallas...the first episode of Save Me is even called The Book of Beth!
    Seriously, you can watch the whole web series here:
    http://www.koldcast.tv/video/the_book_of_dallas_chapter_1

    And it's a LOT better.
    Expand