• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 23, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Saving Grace Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Only an actress of sublime abilities could lift this material from the downright silly to something intriguingly watchable.
  2. 80
    Saving Grace is my second-favorite cable drama this summer ("Mad Men" being the obvious front-runner), thanks to the excellent cast (Kenny Johnson and Laura San Giacomo, among others), and the fact that Hunter plays Grace with so much authenticity and scratchy sweetness.
  3. 80
    The good news is that the smartly written "Saving Grace" is not a mess. In fact, it's one of the most distinctive new shows of the year.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    70
    Self-consciously edgy while flirting with cosmic schmaltz, Saving Grace is overdone, but not run-of-the-mill.
  5. This is not a shoot-the-moon, wholly unique story, but it's comforting and thoughtful.
  6. 60
    Hunter is so good that she may save this erratic show.
  7. We're left with a heap of hocus-pocus that will offend some viewers and seem pretentious or silly to others.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 45
  2. Negative: 23 out of 45
  1. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    Great Acting And Plots!
    10! Perfect TV Show.. :)
  2. JanineW.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    The show is great....I love it!!! For all the folks out there that are offended...it's just entertainment...see it for what it is. I myself can see the message in every episode. Expand
  3. DuaneJ.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    Like the not so perfect cop that's still good at her job. The angel is funny at times and a good touch to the show.
  4. CathyK
    Dec 19, 2007
    3
    I wanted so bad to like this show because I love HH, and I will continue to watch it, but it is so shallow. The writers never take time to develop either the personal spiritual journey of Grace or the criminal cases; so as a result, both suffer. The spiritual journey is by far more interesting than the mundane crime solving storylines. And, what's up with last night's line of her asking a dog if he was God? Please, people, just because it's God spelled backward doesn't mean you have to be so hard up that you make it part of the script. Expand
  5. KenC
    Mar 17, 2009
    2
    Disappointing! Holly Hunter is a good actress trying to push some sort of mythical envelope. I would hate to see any of the characters in this show try to deal with any criminal activity anywhere. If the Oklahoma City Police Department is anything like this bunch of oversexed, self-destructive characters then God help Oklahoma City. Expand
  6. LelandK
    Jul 31, 2007
    1
    Hunter is swearing, drug addicted, slutty cop who we can't root for.
  7. LindaN.
    Jul 25, 2007
    0
    I did not get beyond the opening scene because it was offensive. I thought "I'm not going to watch this trash" and turned off my t.v. I had hopes that this show would be worth watching - it is not. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews