• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 23, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
Saving Grace Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Only an actress of sublime abilities could lift this material from the downright silly to something intriguingly watchable.
  2. Writer/creator Nancy Miller ("Any Day Now") imbues the show with touches both subtle and a little overwrought but the divine "Grace" still offers stronger characters and better stories than many other summer series.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    The show's blessings, however, are more earthy - beginning with Hunter, who oozes anger, sexuality and irreverence, sometimes all at once. San Giacomo is perfectly cast as her friend and sounding board, and Johnson, Rippy and Woodbine all deliver solid support, with the jailhouse sequences among the show's best.
  4. Reviewed by: James Norton
    70
    The acting is strong, the music is good, and the show's not likely to leave many viewers lacking an opinion.
  5. [Hunter] captures well the worn-to-the-bone, irritable and slightly skanky buzz of a person living on too little sleep and too many medicinally applied Cokes, while infusing her character with a gentle heart and a sudden, dazzling smile. But much of the rest of the show is tediously familiar.
  6. 60
    Hunter is so good that she may save this erratic show.
  7. 30
    Hunter seems to mostly flail in a show that is too unremarkable for her talents.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 45
  2. Negative: 23 out of 45
  1. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    Great Acting And Plots!
    10! Perfect TV Show.. :)
  2. JanineW.
    Aug 12, 2007
    10
    The show is great....I love it!!! For all the folks out there that are offended...it's just entertainment...see it for what it is. I The show is great....I love it!!! For all the folks out there that are offended...it's just entertainment...see it for what it is. I myself can see the message in every episode. Expand
  3. DuaneJ.
    Nov 11, 2007
    9
    Like the not so perfect cop that's still good at her job. The angel is funny at times and a good touch to the show.
  4. CathyK
    Dec 19, 2007
    3
    I wanted so bad to like this show because I love HH, and I will continue to watch it, but it is so shallow. The writers never take time to I wanted so bad to like this show because I love HH, and I will continue to watch it, but it is so shallow. The writers never take time to develop either the personal spiritual journey of Grace or the criminal cases; so as a result, both suffer. The spiritual journey is by far more interesting than the mundane crime solving storylines. And, what's up with last night's line of her asking a dog if he was God? Please, people, just because it's God spelled backward doesn't mean you have to be so hard up that you make it part of the script. Collapse
  5. KenC
    Mar 17, 2009
    2
    Disappointing! Holly Hunter is a good actress trying to push some sort of mythical envelope. I would hate to see any of the characters in Disappointing! Holly Hunter is a good actress trying to push some sort of mythical envelope. I would hate to see any of the characters in this show try to deal with any criminal activity anywhere. If the Oklahoma City Police Department is anything like this bunch of oversexed, self-destructive characters then God help Oklahoma City. Expand
  6. LelandK
    Jul 31, 2007
    1
    Hunter is swearing, drug addicted, slutty cop who we can't root for.
  7. LindaN.
    Jul 25, 2007
    0
    I did not get beyond the opening scene because it was offensive. I thought "I'm not going to watch this trash" and turned off my t.v. I I did not get beyond the opening scene because it was offensive. I thought "I'm not going to watch this trash" and turned off my t.v. I had hopes that this show would be worth watching - it is not. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews