• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 7, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Saving Hope Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Canadian supernatural medical drama begins with Hope Zion's Chief of Surgery Charles Harris (Michael Shanks) in a coma after a car accident. He discovers he can move around the hospital in spirit form to observe what is happening around him.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jun 1, 2012
    83
    A sober, intelligent, placidly paced drama as only the Canadians can make.
  2. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jun 6, 2012
    63
    This "Ghost"-meets-"A Gifted Man"-meets-"Grey's Anatomy" has some fun, clever and emotion-stirring moments, but they're handicapped by cheesy montages and one too many scenarios designed to remind us of the importance of having hope.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jun 6, 2012
    50
    It's not bad so much as tired: sexual tension between doctors, mysterious ailments that are diagnosed at the last possible second, even the hoary old cliché about the patient who needs life-saving surgery that their religious beliefs forbid.
  4. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    50
    Saving Hope is pretty easy to watch, despite its abundant potential for eye-rolling.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 7, 2012
    42
    [Smallville's Erica Durance, Stargate SG-1's Michael Shanks and The Vampire Diaries' Daniel Gillies] should be a winning cast, but the writing and plodding execution are worthy of a quick DNR order.
  6. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 7, 2012
    40
    Unlike "Awake," however, Saving Hope does not have Jason Isaacs, a nifty crisscrossing police procedural at its heart, or anything interesting to say about the various forms of reality.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jun 6, 2012
    25
    The sloppy sentimentality is cheap and unearned, greasy camera lenses notwithstanding.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 2 out of 4
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    I like this show, its incredibly interesting. I want Charlie to wake up and I think the cast is excellent. It deserves another season of wonderment. It made me feel someone - most tv doesnt. Collapse
  2. Jul 7, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Saving Hope" only just became interesting in the character aspect with the ortho surgeon( the dude from Vampire Diaries) denying his lover a part on the hand reattachment surgery. Other than that? The character development kind of sucks with the majority of the characters seem to date.

    I wish to see more of the OCD neuro guy and his partner as I find the neuro guy such an interesting character I mean it's rare to see a show where one of the main characters or supporting characters just know who they are and are not afraid to say hey look. I just don't do that. The leading lady is a terrible actor and it seems like she has no idea what she is doing. And with five weeks since Charlie entered his coma... I don't think she will have the skills to pull off the torment that she will need to be feeling with wanting to be by Charlie's side and wanting to live. Michael Shanks, well I love him as an actor but I don't feel that he is being challenged in this series. It's like he stands around with his hands in his pockets waiting for something to happen. Come on writers! Give him something anything to do! Just please do not do the cliche thing of one episode of Charlie where he thinks he wakes up and blah blah blah. That would just be silly. I'm sad to say it, but "Saving Hope" has very little going for it other than there is nothing else to watch in that time slot.
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    0
    I absolutely love this series..my daughter and i have it on series recording so we don't miss an episode..a well written show, please keep it on the air.. Expand