Scandal : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 5, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 5, 2012
    83
    On "Grey's Anatomy," particularly in the first two years, Rhimes proved herself skilled at crafting gripping love stories. She's outdone herself here.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Apr 4, 2012
    75
    The formula doesn't always work (insert memories of your least favorite "Grey's" story arc here), but when it does, Rhimes is as successful at tugging for the heartstrings as anyone in the business.
  3. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 30, 2012
    75
    Scandal is about as realistic as Mamie Eisenhower Witch Hunter but it has so much headlong energy, you may not care. [9 Apr 2012, p.40]
  4. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Apr 6, 2012
    70
    It's still a fun, fast ride, with lots of twists and turns, murder and menace, and after only a few episodes we know enough back story about most of the main characters to care what happens to them.
  5. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    Rhimes hustles the audience into episodes in the middle of things. Pope and her colleagues speak at a clip suggesting years of study at the West Wing School of Elocution and Composition. In the rush, I scarcely had time to scoff at the over-the-top content of the pilot.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    Scandal isn't a deep show, but it's bright enough.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    Even if Scandal isn't quite as instantly addictive as "Grey's Anatomy" was back in the day, this is a well-paced, generally well-acted show with some promising elements (though there is also an occasional tendency to offer contrived redemptions that don't make a ton of sense).
  8. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    It's entertaining to watch, though, distracting in a highly caffeinated way, and Washington and Cusick are especially fun together, but at no point do the characters seem like people or the venue anything but a fast-paced, occasionally clever television show.
  9. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    It's energetic and inventive enough that I suggest you check it out. Maybe twice. Shonda Rhimes has certainly earned at least a second look.
  10. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    This may not be Peabody material, but if you like a show that's not afraid to go bananas, this might just be your type of low-hanging fruit.
  11. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    It is stylish, hammy, sexy, dirty, devilish, laughably bad TV, the guiltiest pleasure since the network unveiled "Revenge."
  12. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Apr 5, 2012
    70
    While there are bouts of facile speechifying, some of the twists are predictable, and the plot gears are greased a little too easily in the pilot--the various OPA employees know, and have dirt on, everyone from cops and mobsters to politicians and reporters--it's a satisfying, fast-paced, well-acted hour with flashes of humor.
  13. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Apr 4, 2012
    70
    While there are moments that are downright laughable, Scandal has flair and even sophistication.
  14. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 3, 2012
    67
    Clear away the soap bubbles, and you'll find ... more soap bubbles. But you won't be bored.
  15. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    This female-skewing drama gets points for its actors' performances and its originality.
  16. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Apr 5, 2012
    63
    At just seven hours, you can think of Scandal as the modern equivalent of those old Sidney Sheldon miniseries and enjoy it at that level. Assuming you can get through the first hour. And past the main character.
  17. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 4, 2012
    63
    A tantalizingly juicy soap opera.
  18. The cast around Washington is also quite solid, and the show looks and is refreshingly different from a typical procedural. But it also feels a little too slick and superficial, and those gaps in logic may be a problem for some viewers.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 50
  2. Negative: 15 out of 50
  1. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    I discovered Scandal really late. I am not a fan of Private Practice or Greys so I avoided this show but I am now hooked,. Scandal is smart,I discovered Scandal really late. I am not a fan of Private Practice or Greys so I avoided this show but I am now hooked,. Scandal is smart, fast and sexy. Its like a romance ,mystery , crime novel wrapped up in a nice package . I love it Full Review »
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    2
    This show had a lot of promise and decent production values but the writing and acting are simply horrible, on the caliber of high school. TheThis show had a lot of promise and decent production values but the writing and acting are simply horrible, on the caliber of high school. The characters are unimaginative stereotypes which allows you to know what's going to happen in every scene without any effort. After slogging through this premiere ep I couldn't delete it fast enough and to unschedule all future recordings of it - this show needs to be cancelled asap. Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2012
    1
    Very disappointing. Unbelievable storyline, no depth to the acting. I lasted 20 minutes and could not continue. I particularly didn't likeVery disappointing. Unbelievable storyline, no depth to the acting. I lasted 20 minutes and could not continue. I particularly didn't like the lead character who so seemed somewhat vacuous. Full Review »