Scrubs : Season 9

  • Network: ABC , NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 100
  2. Negative: 26 out of 100

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Mar 13, 2017
    6
    Худший сезон.
    Смешные шутки есть, но от этого сезона не получить и 1/4 эмоций, которые можно получить от любого другого.
    Если 8 сезон имел просто замечательную концовку, то тут она никакая. Это не ужас, но и не уровень прошлых сезонов. Лучше не портите впечатления, не смотрите.
    Худший сезон.
    Смешные шутки есть, но от этого сезона не получить и 1/4 эмоций, которые можно получить от любого другого.
    Если 8 сезон имел просто замечательную концовку, то тут она никакая.
    Это не ужас, но и не уровень прошлых сезонов.
    Лучше не портите впечатления, не смотрите.
  2. Nov 30, 2015
    7
    After watching the entire 9 season of Scrubs 6 times through (it's one of the most re-watchable shows for me, like Friends or Firefly), I have come to appreciate this final season enough to enjoy it, I just wish there was more of it to balance the cast of old with the upcoming class of Scrubs. Because of season 9's brief episode selection, there isn't ever quite enough time to sayAfter watching the entire 9 season of Scrubs 6 times through (it's one of the most re-watchable shows for me, like Friends or Firefly), I have come to appreciate this final season enough to enjoy it, I just wish there was more of it to balance the cast of old with the upcoming class of Scrubs. Because of season 9's brief episode selection, there isn't ever quite enough time to say farewell to those that made Scrubs special and adopt those that would continue the show's traditions. As a result, I like (incomplete) season 9 but not enough to see it as a fair sendoff for a once-amazing series. Expand
  3. Jul 14, 2015
    4
    My god who cast Lucy Bennett. Some of the newbies hold their own but making that girl the lead med student was a shocker. Thankfully the old cast keep it afloat. It's worth the watch as there's some proper scrubs-esque moments and over all it's better than i thought it was gonna be... but still.... lucy bennett?????
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    5
    More of a spin-off, I've often heard this referred to as Scrubs: Interns, than a new season this features very little of the show’s original cast and instead focuses on a new group of medical interns (indeed even JD is replaced as Lucy as the narrator). There is the odd glimpse of the old Scrubs magic, particularly in the first few episodes, but overall it is a bit of a disappointment andMore of a spin-off, I've often heard this referred to as Scrubs: Interns, than a new season this features very little of the show’s original cast and instead focuses on a new group of medical interns (indeed even JD is replaced as Lucy as the narrator). There is the odd glimpse of the old Scrubs magic, particularly in the first few episodes, but overall it is a bit of a disappointment and not really worth bothering with as the new cast were only ever given these thirteen episodes anyway. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    6
    It may be the result of the show's cancellation and it may be the lowest rated season, but it doesn't mean it's entirely bad. This is the show trying to do something different, revamping the show with new cast members, a bold move rarely seen in successful shows and it should at least be applauded for making that effort alone. But the result is sometimes stale, the concept of setting theIt may be the result of the show's cancellation and it may be the lowest rated season, but it doesn't mean it's entirely bad. This is the show trying to do something different, revamping the show with new cast members, a bold move rarely seen in successful shows and it should at least be applauded for making that effort alone. But the result is sometimes stale, the concept of setting the show in a medical school is missing the shows' trademark humor, like J.D. and his fantasy sequences, but it does, however, give the show a nice, fresh look. The new characters could be funny, that's how all shows start, but there's not enough character development, compare to previous seasons, to root for the shows' new lead, Lucy Bennett. The new cast tries their best but ultimately, it's the original cast, Dr. Cox and Turk, who holds the show together. It's missing the humor of the original cast and the show has lost it's touch but even though season 9 is lacking, it's still a pretty good one. Collapse
  6. Sep 4, 2011
    1
    I'm a huge fan of the original Scrubs. As far as I'm concerned, the show ended at season 8. Season 8 had the perfect ending, and it satisfied me and I'm sure many other fans of the show. This is just a perfect example of someone who cannot help but tamper with a format until it becomes a virtually unrecognisable failure. The new cast weren't promising at all, they were hollow, wannabeI'm a huge fan of the original Scrubs. As far as I'm concerned, the show ended at season 8. Season 8 had the perfect ending, and it satisfied me and I'm sure many other fans of the show. This is just a perfect example of someone who cannot help but tamper with a format until it becomes a virtually unrecognisable failure. The new cast weren't promising at all, they were hollow, wannabe Scrubs stars. And the original cast seemed like a paler version of the greatness they once had. Expand
  7. Jul 25, 2011
    3
    Was really disappointed and not in the least surprised the show got cancelled after this season. The writing (and comedy payoff) just wasn't there. You could see it not only in the new crew, some of whom weren't too bad, but in the lines from old favourite characters like Turk, Dr Cox and Kelso.
  8. Jun 30, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Really, really unnecessary. After the Season finale of Season 8, this season is just an awkward piece on Scrubs' history. Though funny at times and still feels like the Scrubs we know and love, the comedy is more cartoony and forced. The med students are completely uninteresting and sometimes annoying, especially the new main character, Lucy Bennett. Her crazy disposition is not as funny as Elliot's but rather creepy and a must avoid, her day dreams are not as surreal and funny as J.D.'s and she's just right down annoying. The only saving grace on this season is Dr. Cox and the rest of the previous main characters that appear as guests. Expand
  9. nbc
    May 1, 2011
    9
    The final season of Scrubs wasn't even really Scrubs at all, not that it's a bad thing. I looked at this show as more of a spin-off, and maybe if it had be advertised that way, it would have had more success. I enjoyed it as if it was something different and unexpected. Don't try to compare it to the classic version of Scrubs because they are to different. Just enjoy the jokes andThe final season of Scrubs wasn't even really Scrubs at all, not that it's a bad thing. I looked at this show as more of a spin-off, and maybe if it had be advertised that way, it would have had more success. I enjoyed it as if it was something different and unexpected. Don't try to compare it to the classic version of Scrubs because they are to different. Just enjoy the jokes and storylines. I did. Expand
  10. Kate
    Jan 10, 2010
    2
    All the girls are blonde.. It gets confusing. I was confused by the explanation of why the setting was different, and felt that they're trying too hard.
  11. SidselR
    Jan 10, 2010
    2
    It just doesn't work. The new characters are both annoying and boring at the same time and the jokes are flat and predictable. I loved the first six seasons of this show, but then it took a serious downfall into emotional sappiness and season nine just hits rock bottom. Unfortunately.
  12. DariusK
    Jan 6, 2010
    8
    It's gotten better with every episode. Reviewing a season before it hits its stride is a mistake. I've always loved Scrubs and even as Med School, it's one of my favorite shows. Cole has made himself the best character and Lucy is even getting to be an interesting lead. If Scrubs had to go on after season 8, I'm glad it's like this.
  13. KhrystyneB
    Jan 4, 2010
    2
    I will list the problems from bugging me mist to least. And 1. J.D needs to be in it. 2. Carla, Janitor, and Ted needs to come back. 3. My main chick has got to go. 4. I don't like the whole school thing. And 5. It doesn't feel like it should be Scrubs anymore.
  14. MattS
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    Scrubs was getting old, but season 9 has just enough of the old and new characters to make it feel rejuvinated. I'm very excited to see how the new show develops, it looks to be promising.
  15. JaredU
    Dec 30, 2009
    5
    As someone who has seen every single episode of Scrubs at least 4-5 times, this show comes as a bit of a let down. While there have only been a handful of episodes, the new characters feel very soulless and two dimensional. Lucy is vaguely annoying and unbelievable as the new "voice" of the show. I simply cannot relate to her in any way due to her inability to sell her character's As someone who has seen every single episode of Scrubs at least 4-5 times, this show comes as a bit of a let down. While there have only been a handful of episodes, the new characters feel very soulless and two dimensional. Lucy is vaguely annoying and unbelievable as the new "voice" of the show. I simply cannot relate to her in any way due to her inability to sell her character's personality. Cole is beyond terrible, with lines that grate on every single one of my nerves. Drew is the only one of the new characters that is even remotely likable. If anything, Drew should be the voice of the show, since he has, by far, the most charisma of the bunch. The old cast serves as an anchoring device to what I loved about the old show, yet they still feel out of place...like ghosts that have yet to move on due to unfinished business. However, I feel like this show has potential. This first season with the new characters may not contain the charm of the very first season of Scrubs, but I have faith in Lawrence and his ability to write great shows (Cougartown not withstanding). If the actors playing Lucy and Cole can grow into their roles instead of trying to play them as the textbook stereotypes that they are right now, I can see this show developing into something great. It just won't be what Scrubs was, and that's ok. It shouldn't be. I don't think it can survive more than one or two seasons if continues to try to be Scrubs 2.0. Expand
  16. SamK
    Dec 24, 2009
    1
    How do I begin. I loved Scrubs. Watch an episode from season 1 and you will laugh just as much as a more developed episode 6 seasons later. The characters are neurotic and while the situations are ridiculous the neurosis, reality, and lack of tv plastic looks make Scrubs so likeable. Now Season 9. These interns are ridiculous. It's as if they went to a stable of pretty boring actors How do I begin. I loved Scrubs. Watch an episode from season 1 and you will laugh just as much as a more developed episode 6 seasons later. The characters are neurotic and while the situations are ridiculous the neurosis, reality, and lack of tv plastic looks make Scrubs so likeable. Now Season 9. These interns are ridiculous. It's as if they went to a stable of pretty boring actors in LA and picked the WORST most plastic pretty young actors around. The show has become a glossed over pretty plastic hollywood version of the once quirky thriving show. It's as if these overly primped kids are trying to "play" neurotic but it just isn't believable. That mixed with the new shooting location just deflates the spirit out of the show. The new location again glosses over what the old show was. The new set is pristine, perfect, glossy, and in a nutshell--completely unrealistic. As Bill Lawrence said this is NOT the same Scrubs it is an entirely new show. Yet, the point is that even as a stand alone show it is not worth the paper it is written on. Expand
  17. MichaelT
    Dec 22, 2009
    6
    The metascore is pretty accurate. This season is sadly a VERY dull and lack luster version of the show. The JD character no longer has the appeal it once had with it now border-lining pathetic. For instance, the whole #1 thing has JD whine and moan about not getting it and such and be pointlessly jealous of someone who doesn't want the spot...that sounds funny on paper but it comes The metascore is pretty accurate. This season is sadly a VERY dull and lack luster version of the show. The JD character no longer has the appeal it once had with it now border-lining pathetic. For instance, the whole #1 thing has JD whine and moan about not getting it and such and be pointlessly jealous of someone who doesn't want the spot...that sounds funny on paper but it comes across as simply sad. The "new class" of doctors are also a bit one dimensional...rebel (with a cause), gullible hot girl, egotistical tool, hot foreign girl who has to overcome her beauty to be taken serious (reminiscent of some episodes where Elliot did the same thing). The removal of Carla and Janitor is unfortunate and also loses very important dynamics to the show. Overall the show is still somewhat funny but at times comes across as VERY dull and it truly is a shame that ABC execs are so stupid to end a show and then want it back with just enough time for some cast members to not be available...way to go. Expand
  18. MylesL
    Dec 18, 2009
    7
    I think its still great! MUCH better than the couple of LAST seasons. I'm hoping for more musical numbers!
  19. BeccaH
    Dec 17, 2009
    3
    at present moment i am really not liking the new series and hate the chracter lucy i really dont find scrubs funny anymore its lost it all. i really miss the old cast. The only good bit are when we actually get to see the old cast coming together alone without the new idiots
  20. MichaelB
    Dec 10, 2009
    5
    There are some things I like about the new season of Scrubs: the new location, the return of Eliza Coupe's character Denise, the addition of Michael Mosley as Drew. However, the show has thus far been underwhelming. Partly because new characters Lucy and Cole are unlikeable, but mostly because this has all been done before.
  21. MattG
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Its not scrubs, but it doesn't have to be, the old scrubs was getting old, this series has given it a complete makeover, and is still very well done and Entertaining
  22. TopherR
    Dec 2, 2009
    3
    This wasn't the worst thing I've ever seen, but it should not carry the Scrubs name. If anything, it feels like an extremely watered down version of a once great show. I don't feel any identification with the new characters, and the lack of explanation for and mentioning of missing characters (Carla, Jordan, the kids, so on) makes me question if the few remaining characters This wasn't the worst thing I've ever seen, but it should not carry the Scrubs name. If anything, it feels like an extremely watered down version of a once great show. I don't feel any identification with the new characters, and the lack of explanation for and mentioning of missing characters (Carla, Jordan, the kids, so on) makes me question if the few remaining characters are the real thing. Were Turk and Cox cloned and sent to this new location? For a character who showed little change over 8 seasons, Cox changed way too much in just two episodes. Turk is a good character, but it doesn't seem like he'll be able to survive once J.D. is gone. The new narrator, Lucy, could be good. COULD. For this to work, we need a lot more character development and a reason to identify with her other than she's struggling. Her introduction was severely hurt by the focus still remaining on J.D. Do the right thing, ABC. Call this a spinoff, not a continuation. You'll at least make me feel better about this. Expand
  23. EdS
    Dec 2, 2009
    8
    This new show isn't the same old Scrubs, but it shows a lot of promise. You just have to look at it as a different show than the original Scrubs, as Bill Laurence suggested. And even the best shows have terrible first seasons, sometimes. I'll keep watching, and hopefully it will find its own groove in a year or two.
  24. cables
    Dec 2, 2009
    2
    As someone who enjoyed seasons 1 through 6, this comes off as a complete disaster. Anyone remember "saved by the bell: the college years"? Braff takes annoying to a whole new level.
  25. NickA
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Considering the task at hand, they did a very admirable job. My only concern is where they'll take the show once JD leaves.
  26. EvanB.
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    Not as great as past seasons, but still very good!
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 88
    The new season looks promising. Let's just hope these kids can sing.
  2. It works because the three regulars--Zach Braff, Donald Faison and especially John McGinley--are all over these episodes, and the four newcomers are kept in their place.
  3. It's a solid little comedy, in which Scrubs fans can recognize the spirit of the show they loved, even if it's not Scrubs at its best.