Scrubs : Season 9

  • Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Scrubs Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Season nine of the medical comedy finds the staff working at a new hospital built on Winston University's campus.
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. 88
    The new season looks promising. Let's just hope these kids can sing.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    A ninth season. Wow. In fact, a change of scenery has done Scrubs a world of good. The new students are funny. McGinley is great as always--so, too, is Turk (Donald Faison).
  3. It's a solid little comedy, in which Scrubs fans can recognize the spirit of the show they loved, even if it's not Scrubs at its best.
  4. 60
    At this point, Scrubs has turned its original style into a formula; the fantasy sequences are more predictable, the earnest denouements are automatic. It’s a good formula, but one that’s no longer vibrant.
  5. It's not terrifically awful, but it's also not as reliably fun as Scrubs was in its prime.
  6. 60
    The jokes don’t catch fire in Tuesday night’s opener, but by the second episode things are starting to click.
  7. 25
    The result is a deadly, deal-driven mistake that takes a network that has made great sitcom strides forward one unfortunate step back.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 25
  2. Negative: 9 out of 25
  1. nbc
    May 1, 2011
    9
    The final season of Scrubs wasn't even really Scrubs at all, not that it's a bad thing. I looked at this show as more of a spin-off, and maybeThe final season of Scrubs wasn't even really Scrubs at all, not that it's a bad thing. I looked at this show as more of a spin-off, and maybe if it had be advertised that way, it would have had more success. I enjoyed it as if it was something different and unexpected. Don't try to compare it to the classic version of Scrubs because they are to different. Just enjoy the jokes and storylines. I did. Expand
  2. NickA
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Considering the task at hand, they did a very admirable job. My only concern is where they'll take the show once JD leaves.
  3. EdS
    Dec 2, 2009
    8
    This new show isn't the same old Scrubs, but it shows a lot of promise. You just have to look at it as a different show than the This new show isn't the same old Scrubs, but it shows a lot of promise. You just have to look at it as a different show than the original Scrubs, as Bill Laurence suggested. And even the best shows have terrible first seasons, sometimes. I'll keep watching, and hopefully it will find its own groove in a year or two. Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2014
    5
    More of a spin-off, I've often heard this referred to as Scrubs: Interns, than a new season this features very little of the show’s originalMore of a spin-off, I've often heard this referred to as Scrubs: Interns, than a new season this features very little of the show’s original cast and instead focuses on a new group of medical interns (indeed even JD is replaced as Lucy as the narrator). There is the odd glimpse of the old Scrubs magic, particularly in the first few episodes, but overall it is a bit of a disappointment and not really worth bothering with as the new cast were only ever given these thirteen episodes anyway. Expand
  5. Jul 14, 2015
    4
    My god who cast Lucy Bennett. Some of the newbies hold their own but making that girl the lead med student was a shocker. Thankfully the oldMy god who cast Lucy Bennett. Some of the newbies hold their own but making that girl the lead med student was a shocker. Thankfully the old cast keep it afloat. It's worth the watch as there's some proper scrubs-esque moments and over all it's better than i thought it was gonna be... but still.... lucy bennett????? Expand
  6. TopherR
    Dec 2, 2009
    3
    This wasn't the worst thing I've ever seen, but it should not carry the Scrubs name. If anything, it feels like an extremely This wasn't the worst thing I've ever seen, but it should not carry the Scrubs name. If anything, it feels like an extremely watered down version of a once great show. I don't feel any identification with the new characters, and the lack of explanation for and mentioning of missing characters (Carla, Jordan, the kids, so on) makes me question if the few remaining characters are the real thing. Were Turk and Cox cloned and sent to this new location? For a character who showed little change over 8 seasons, Cox changed way too much in just two episodes. Turk is a good character, but it doesn't seem like he'll be able to survive once J.D. is gone. The new narrator, Lucy, could be good. COULD. For this to work, we need a lot more character development and a reason to identify with her other than she's struggling. Her introduction was severely hurt by the focus still remaining on J.D. Do the right thing, ABC. Call this a spinoff, not a continuation. You'll at least make me feel better about this. Expand
  7. SamK
    Dec 24, 2009
    1
    How do I begin. I loved Scrubs. Watch an episode from season 1 and you will laugh just as much as a more developed episode 6 seasons later. How do I begin. I loved Scrubs. Watch an episode from season 1 and you will laugh just as much as a more developed episode 6 seasons later. The characters are neurotic and while the situations are ridiculous the neurosis, reality, and lack of tv plastic looks make Scrubs so likeable. Now Season 9. These interns are ridiculous. It's as if they went to a stable of pretty boring actors in LA and picked the WORST most plastic pretty young actors around. The show has become a glossed over pretty plastic hollywood version of the once quirky thriving show. It's as if these overly primped kids are trying to "play" neurotic but it just isn't believable. That mixed with the new shooting location just deflates the spirit out of the show. The new location again glosses over what the old show was. The new set is pristine, perfect, glossy, and in a nutshell--completely unrealistic. As Bill Lawrence said this is NOT the same Scrubs it is an entirely new show. Yet, the point is that even as a stand alone show it is not worth the paper it is written on. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews