• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 2, 2001
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
Scrubs Image
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season nine of the medical comedy finds the staff working at a new hospital built on Winston University's campus.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    88
    The new season looks promising. Let's just hope these kids can sing.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    83
    A ninth season. Wow. In fact, a change of scenery has done Scrubs a world of good. The new students are funny. McGinley is great as always--so, too, is Turk (Donald Faison).
  3. It's a solid little comedy, in which Scrubs fans can recognize the spirit of the show they loved, even if it's not Scrubs at its best.
  4. It works because the three regulars--Zach Braff, Donald Faison and especially John McGinley--are all over these episodes, and the four newcomers are kept in their place.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    60
    The jokes don’t catch fire in Tuesday night’s opener, but by the second episode things are starting to click.
  6. 60
    At this point, Scrubs has turned its original style into a formula; the fantasy sequences are more predictable, the earnest denouements are automatic. It’s a good formula, but one that’s no longer vibrant.
  7. 25
    The result is a deadly, deal-driven mistake that takes a network that has made great sitcom strides forward one unfortunate step back.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
  1. nbc
    May 1, 2011
    9
    The final season of Scrubs wasn't even really Scrubs at all, not that it's a bad thing. I looked at this show as more of a spin-off, and maybe if it had be advertised that way, it would have had more success. I enjoyed it as if it was something different and unexpected. Don't try to compare it to the classic version of Scrubs because they are to different. Just enjoy the jokes and storylines. I did. Expand
  2. EvanB.
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    Not as great as past seasons, but still very good!
  3. MattG
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Its not scrubs, but it doesn't have to be, the old scrubs was getting old, this series has given it a complete makeover, and is still very well done and Entertaining Expand
  4. MichaelB
    Dec 10, 2009
    5
    There are some things I like about the new season of Scrubs: the new location, the return of Eliza Coupe's character Denise, the addition of Michael Mosley as Drew. However, the show has thus far been underwhelming. Partly because new characters Lucy and Cole are unlikeable, but mostly because this has all been done before. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    5
    More of a spin-off, I've often heard this referred to as Scrubs: Interns, than a new season this features very little of the show’s original cast and instead focuses on a new group of medical interns (indeed even JD is replaced as Lucy as the narrator). There is the odd glimpse of the old Scrubs magic, particularly in the first few episodes, but overall it is a bit of a disappointment and not really worth bothering with as the new cast were only ever given these thirteen episodes anyway. Expand
  6. BeccaH
    Dec 17, 2009
    3
    at present moment i am really not liking the new series and hate the chracter lucy i really dont find scrubs funny anymore its lost it all. i really miss the old cast. The only good bit are when we actually get to see the old cast coming together alone without the new idiots Expand
  7. SamK
    Dec 24, 2009
    1
    How do I begin. I loved Scrubs. Watch an episode from season 1 and you will laugh just as much as a more developed episode 6 seasons later. The characters are neurotic and while the situations are ridiculous the neurosis, reality, and lack of tv plastic looks make Scrubs so likeable. Now Season 9. These interns are ridiculous. It's as if they went to a stable of pretty boring actors in LA and picked the WORST most plastic pretty young actors around. The show has become a glossed over pretty plastic hollywood version of the once quirky thriving show. It's as if these overly primped kids are trying to "play" neurotic but it just isn't believable. That mixed with the new shooting location just deflates the spirit out of the show. The new location again glosses over what the old show was. The new set is pristine, perfect, glossy, and in a nutshell--completely unrealistic. As Bill Lawrence said this is NOT the same Scrubs it is an entirely new show. Yet, the point is that even as a stand alone show it is not worth the paper it is written on. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews