• Network: Bravo
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 11, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 7 out of 16

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    its OK not an extremely good show but promises loads of Drama. Many of the characters are unlikable at this point but I think it holds promise! as far as the representation of Persian armericans go no reality show has been praised for being a true representation at least no successful one!
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    What has TV come to? This show is the scum of all shows, at the bottom of the barrel along with Jersey Shore and all of the other mindless reality shows that these producers are constantly releasing. These Persians are SO superficial, shallow, and pretentious. I am Persian or as these people WOULDN'T put it, Iranian myself and i hate this show with a passion (along with most other reality shows out there). Don't waste your time watching this, there are plenty of quality shows out there, and this is definitely NOT one of them. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    Don't like the show yet, MJ is ok she sounds Geniune, I already like her. But GG is just daddy's girl who needs to grow up and may be get more surgery on her left eye. She said she hates ugly people and she must hate herself.
  4. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    Shah's should not be taken at face value. It is a show that is meant to portray its own ridiculousness. It is in no way different from House wives of Beverly hills or Jersey Shore, and it certainty is tamer. People should look at it for comedic entertainment, not a deeper meaning. This way, they can truly be entertained.
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    I watched the first episode just because I'm Persian hoping it would be something I could be proud of or atleast hopes that it would keep my attention.Total disappointment . Showing your money off in these shows r definitely getting old n a bit obvious that it's been exaggerated. Fake arguments and pointless drama? Need i comment on it? Haha but in all fairness there was a bit of positive in their plot...Some of the characters are go-getters who have been successful and through a lot who value family time but besides that there are nothing great from the show. It's just made up drama and showing off money for the sake of a reality show because they have nothing better to offer the viewers. I won't watch it again. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I gave this show a chance, no I am giving it 1 season to terminate. Its a embarrassment to the Persian community. They're not rich, they are so low class. They show off way to much and their dirty rental condos.They are more like gypsies ! lol

    a bunch of arrogant idiots, showing off. Ryan, what were you thinking producing this show?
  7. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    EEK

    so I was really curious about this show...and it is pretty awful. There are a couple of entertaining characters...but it's just a wealthy version of Jersey Shore and GG the big **** baby. Pretty boring. Great idea, but just poorly followed through... don't waste your time.
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    2
    Absolutely garbage. The producer made up extreme to sell it but it still does not work. Things like diamond water or mama consulting are awful and does not reflect any level of Persians community.
  9. Mar 27, 2012
    7
    I'm a Persian who's grown up in the culture but never been to Iran. I saw the first two episodes and I see both sides of it. I think Shahs of Sunset is not trying to represent the Persians, same way Jersey Shore isn't trying to illustrate the Italians. It's just a reality tv show, what more can one expect? I think the plus side of it is that it is giving a different (not better; just different) perspective of Persians. Even once I heard one of the characters say "not all persians are materialistic" and another one had said something along the lines of " since when does religion matter, we have all sorts of persians, bahais, muslims, jewish, christians, all of them" and that's a true point. Without a doubt some of them are spoiled, and sound snobby, but that's not where people should focus. It should be viewed as a comic approach on their lives, not yours, and not mine. Personally, when I watch it, I actually find some parts hilarious. Life's too short to take it offensively. If it's offensive; don't watch it. I found 300 way more offensive than this. One thing that worries me, is that people create new stereotypes. But then again, not like the stereotypes they have now is any better. As if the media would ever show us as normal people; even if they did, who would watch that on tv? I know I wouldn't watch a reality tv show if it was about people who are living a similar life as my own! Expand
  10. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Real hallarious, different and funny show, I am totally addicted now. I was a Beverly Hills House Wife loyal viewer, actually still am, but can't wait for every Sunday for Shahs of Sunset. Highly recommended.
  11. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Terrible! I'm a Persian btw and this show is such an embarrassment. There are many successful and classy Iranian in this county why cannot we have a show about them? Why cannot we show an image that represents the Iranian community rather than some fake spoilt brats living off their parents? I watched the first episode of this show because couple of my non-Iranian friends mentioned it but I am so disappointed with the picture that Bravo is building from our community. So sad... Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I think Shahs of Sunset is a great show, and itâ
  13. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    At first i didn't like it that much. Now I won't miss any episode of it. It's the story of persian-americans in their thirty and forties (and twenties) who party hard and work smart and hard as well. I have learned some stuff from it. It is a little non-american since i don't see the usage of drugs in it ! which is good. In real life in these parties across america pot is the center piece of these gathering. I like to see more shows like this. Reza born to a muslim mom and a jew dad has a lot to offer beside proving to the iranian president that "there are gay iranians indeed!" and beside the fact that some gays are smarter than the average.But pushing to help to heal the differences between muslims and jews. Life should not have any boundaries. Expand
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 12, 2012
    30
    Their ostentatiousness is more off-putting than aspirational and, frankly, it feels deliberately exaggerated for the camera's benefit.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 12, 2012
    40
    Though a stray remark of substance here and there escapes into the narrative, the six-part series, which premieres Sunday, has nothing much serious on its mind.
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 12, 2012
    50
    While obnoxious luxury is always watchable, the show is lazily cookie-cutter. [19 Mar 2012, p.42]