• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 11, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Shahs of Sunset Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Six Persian-Americans living in Los Angeles are the focus of this Bravo docu-reality show.
  • Genre(s): Reality
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Mar 9, 2012
    60
    Shahs of Sunset doesn't have any great message except maybe that the world of money knows no geographic boundaries.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Mar 12, 2012
    50
    Shahs of Sunset, which plays like a cross between "Jersey Shore" with an older cast and "The Real Housewives of Oblivion."
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 12, 2012
    50
    While obnoxious luxury is always watchable, the show is lazily cookie-cutter. [19 Mar 2012, p.42]
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 8, 2012
    42
    Another insufferable nose-pressed-against-the-glass reality romp that says the rich are just like you and me--only rich, and exceedingly, tiresomely narcissistic.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 12, 2012
    40
    Though a stray remark of substance here and there escapes into the narrative, the six-part series, which premieres Sunday, has nothing much serious on its mind.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 12, 2012
    40
    The series keeps retreating to familiar tropes of the docu-soap genre, from a contentious dinner to a pool party that produces more finger-wagging verbal pugilism.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Mar 12, 2012
    30
    Their ostentatiousness is more off-putting than aspirational and, frankly, it feels deliberately exaggerated for the camera's benefit.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    I think Shahs of Sunset is a great show, and itâ
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    Real hallarious, different and funny show, I am totally addicted now. I was a Beverly Hills House Wife loyal viewer, actually still am, butReal hallarious, different and funny show, I am totally addicted now. I was a Beverly Hills House Wife loyal viewer, actually still am, but can't wait for every Sunday for Shahs of Sunset. Highly recommended. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    At first i didn't like it that much. Now I won't miss any episode of it. It's the story of persian-americans in their thirty and forties (andAt first i didn't like it that much. Now I won't miss any episode of it. It's the story of persian-americans in their thirty and forties (and twenties) who party hard and work smart and hard as well. I have learned some stuff from it. It is a little non-american since i don't see the usage of drugs in it ! which is good. In real life in these parties across america pot is the center piece of these gathering. I like to see more shows like this. Reza born to a muslim mom and a jew dad has a lot to offer beside proving to the iranian president that "there are gay iranians indeed!" and beside the fact that some gays are smarter than the average.But pushing to help to heal the differences between muslims and jews. Life should not have any boundaries. Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    3
    EEK

    so I was really curious about this show...and it is pretty awful. There are a couple of entertaining characters...but it's just a
    EEK

    so I was really curious about this show...and it is pretty awful. There are a couple of entertaining characters...but it's just a wealthy version of Jersey Shore and GG the big **** baby. Pretty boring. Great idea, but just poorly followed through... don't waste your time.
    Collapse
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    2
    Absolutely garbage. The producer made up extreme to sell it but it still does not work. Things like diamond water or mama consulting are awfulAbsolutely garbage. The producer made up extreme to sell it but it still does not work. Things like diamond water or mama consulting are awful and does not reflect any level of Persians community. Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    1
    I gave this show a chance, no I am giving it 1 season to terminate. Its a embarrassment to the Persian community. They're not rich, they areI gave this show a chance, no I am giving it 1 season to terminate. Its a embarrassment to the Persian community. They're not rich, they are so low class. They show off way to much and their dirty rental condos.They are more like gypsies ! lol

    a bunch of arrogant idiots, showing off. Ryan, what were you thinking producing this show?
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Terrible! I'm a Persian btw and this show is such an embarrassment. There are many successful and classy Iranian in this county why cannot weTerrible! I'm a Persian btw and this show is such an embarrassment. There are many successful and classy Iranian in this county why cannot we have a show about them? Why cannot we show an image that represents the Iranian community rather than some fake spoilt brats living off their parents? I watched the first episode of this show because couple of my non-Iranian friends mentioned it but I am so disappointed with the picture that Bravo is building from our community. So sad... Expand

See all 14 User Reviews