User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 48
  2. Negative: 35 out of 48

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2010
    3
    I did not see any positives for this show at all. Bad dancing, acting and over all concept. Disney has to do a lot better than this to keep up with Nick.
  2. Nov 8, 2010
    1
    Four words. Worst Disney show EVER! Seriously the dancing was bad and easy to imitate, the jokes were kiddish and dumb and to top it off the acting was terrible. To be honest some Playhouse Disney shows are better.
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    0
    This is the worst Disney show I've ever seen. Of all the mindless "teenager" shows I've seen, I can usually find either a redeeming message for kids, or at least some clever humor. With this show, I'm at a loss. The dancing is bad, the acting is bad, the WRITING is horrible and the enormous doses of canned laughter are almost insulting. I can't decide which girl is more annoying. Perhaps the message Disney is trying to send here is that even kids with no talent and no personality and no depth can have a television career. I hope they realize how bad this show is. If Perry the Platypus got his own show, it would be more interesting than this one. Collapse
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    0
    Gosh somebody messed up on this one. It's just so obvious what they say. They have that setting problem too, where there are only like three sets. I just don't understand.
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    0
    This show is so stupid! Along with Fish Hooks, one of the worst Disney shows ever. The dancing and acting is horrible. Seriously, how did it get THIS bad? Disney made cartoons, not little slutty girls dancing their little slutty asses off.
  6. Dec 14, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well, it is official! I have banned my kids (ages 10 & 7) from watching a Disney show. This is the lamest, meaningless piece of crap show on TV today. What kind of message does it send to little girls when the show is about two 13 yr olds who sneak out of the house to attend an "adult" party and then flirt and make dates with older boys?? And...what police department in America allows their officers to wear their uniform shirts half-buttoned and their long hair flowing out from underneath their crooked hat? At least *try* to have *some* sense of realism. Anyway, the acting and dancing is poor and the story-lines are terrible. And this show will be BLOCKED on my DVR. Guess we'll be switching over to Nick for that time slot to watch whatever show may be on at that time, because anything is better than Shake It Up. (I'm giving it a 1 rating because I did laugh at something on the show the other day...can't remember what, but I did laugh.) Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2011
    0
    This show is garbage. I enjoy Disney shows with my kids all the time. I laugh at them too. But this is just disgusting garbage. We watched 2 episodes and I was so angry after the 2nd I refuse for them to watch it at home.

    The first episode had the girls getting debit cards and spending all their money so they lied to their friends and took them to dinner and then tried to put bugs in
    their food and dine and ditch to get out of their bill. I'm still trying to find the lesson in it since they didn't get in any trouble.

    The second had them throwing a house party when their parents were away. Come on Disney what are we trying to say here. I get it kids are kids but these kids are void of any moral compass.

    And they are snide and their acting sucks. Awful show. Just painfully bad.
    Expand
  8. Jun 24, 2012
    0
    This show is bad. The jokes are over-used and corny and is unrealistic! I mean in every dance Cece & Rockey are the main dancers. Aren't they back up? Then why are they always in the front? And the girls are always in the same dances. If this were real then the choregraphers wouldn't give a **** if two girls are BFFS and pick the best one. Which in this case is none. AND WHATS WITH THE CLOTHES?! They go to school in the most stupidest, divaist, a sparkly clothes. No one wears that! This show is so HORRIBLE it KILLS ME! Expand
  9. Jul 5, 2013
    4
    While watching this show all I could think to say is "meh". After two episodes, you don't get much out of its humor and wishes that repeats of hit shows like "Wizard's of Waverly Place", "Hannah Montana", or "Suite Life of Zach and Cody" were out. But, it'll do for now.
  10. Dec 16, 2010
    0
    Of all the stupid shows in the world, this has got to be in the top 5, it's just plain retarded!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i hate the directors of this show
  11. Dec 15, 2010
    0
    Where is the BARF BAG!!! Disney must be desperate to air a show that has kids on there who can't act, dance, or sing. THIS MUST HAVE BEEN THE BOTTOM OF THE BARREL PICK OF KIDS! The hispanic girl is talented and humorous, but the one with the bangs is terrible. How did she even make it through the audition process I wonder??? She is like 12, but looks, acts, and dresses like she is 21! TROUBLE -TROUBLE-TROUBLE. Disney seems to pick kids that end up drinking, on drugs, or pregnant! Nice role models for our kids to admire. HOPE THIS SHOW ENDS SOON... Expand
  12. Dec 16, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one way to say Disney sucks. I love Disney, but if you guys are going to make a show about this at least have actors that can act. All except the one who played on Camp rock sucks. Yeah, that means you 'Rocky' & "Cece." Expand
  13. Dec 18, 2010
    2
    The writing in this show is extremely flat and overdoes it on the corny even for Disney standards. While I understand they are very young, the 2 main actresses also overdo it, even for Disney standards. I understand Disney's penchant for going a bit over the top with expressiveness when it comes to the acting, but it is just almost unbearable to watch on this show. Perhaps the thing that bothers me the most about this show is how they dress these girls. They are 13 (ish) years old and are in full hair, makeup and clothes that would rival Gossip Girl. As if teenage girls don't have enough thrown at them, now the pre-teen sect has 2 girls who wear cakes of makeup and painstakingly gorgeous hair styles that take over an hour to perfect, not to mention a wardrobe that is better suited for a wealthy NYU student living in Chelsea loft. Skin-tight animal print skinny jeans, layered tank tops and shirts, 4 inch heels, short shorts and skirts with the excuse of bright leggings, piles of boho chic jewelry...it's ridiculous. Disney is now slutting up the pre-teen sect. Not to mention the fact that these characters have seemingly no authority figures or moral fibers beyond a laughable blink-and-you'll-miss-her cop mom who is never around. Oh yeah, and an episode that features a Justin Bieber-esque character having an affair with his much older manager. Good one, Disney. Other Disney shows like Wizards, Suite Life, Sonny with a Chance and Hannah Montana all have decent writing and a nice balance of the tried and true wrong vs right morality lessons that this show completely lacks, no matter how ridiculous some of them may be at times. Shake It Up also completely lacks the quirkiness and acting ability that all of the aforementioned shows have in spades. I'm sure this show will probably be around at least for a few seasons, but it is truly the most terrible new edition and is in desperate need of a complete overhaul or writing, styling, directing and casting. Expand
  14. Dec 31, 2010
    0
    Worst show ever. Shake it up is horrible. I am a 13 year old and a dancer in real life(I have been doing ballet,tap,jazz,modern, and a bunch of other dance genres since I was 2) and the two main girls are the worst dancers I have ever seen. The dances they do are so easy to do and easily mimicked. My younger sister was watching the show in disgust and easily did the dance they were doing. They are also the 2 worst actresses I have ever seen. They are overacting so much and it is just horrible. The writing and the sets are also horrible. And finally I am 13 and no one dresses like the do. Their outfits are hideous and they load on the make-up. No 13 year old looks like that. And that Bella Thorn girl isn't pretty in real life. The Hispanic girl is a bit better of an actresses and prettier than the ginger but not by much. I turned on the tv once and shake it up was on so I turned it right off and went and read the Market section in the Wall Street Journal. That's how much I hate this show. Expand
  15. Jan 2, 2011
    0
    i saw this show and to be honest Disney should stop making tv shows for awhile because to me this is basically Hannah Montana just double the Hannahs . as a channel Disney lacks creativity, the shows they put out it seems recycled. from the plot to how the characters are OVER dramatic. plus how they have a 13 yr old on the show but she don't look her age when i saw this i thought that she is 15 probably almost 16 in real life not 13. BTW i am talking about CeCe, the girl with red hair
    also if this is supposedly in Chicago then why none of them have the accent or corporate the most known or popular dances done in Chicago, for instance footwork or stepping.
    Disney should hold off on the new projects and bring back some of the old shows or the re-runs. Since '07 the tv shows that came out was just pitiful
    Expand
  16. Jan 7, 2011
    0
    This is the worst show ever on Disney really bad .BAD acting bad dancing .there is nothing good or funny about this show . i hope DISNEY not going down hill there alot of great shows but this is not one of them .
  17. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    This truly is the worst tween show out there. The two main characters can't act and they can't dance. I'm not a professional dancer at all but I can tell those girls can not dance. It's disgusting that disney even puts this show out there. I'll still the watching iCarly and Victorious over this show. It is really sad.
  18. Jan 15, 2011
    3
    Score: 3.0/10

    This is a very low comedy. The dancing moves are amatuer, and repetitive. A child can easily learn them. The humor is terrible, and the jokes barely work. Disney needs to work on jis show, they need to find ettr dance moves and create more jokes.
  19. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    We all know, Disney can't keep a good show, but it's just ridiculous how fast this show wore off. I was really optimistic, after seeing the pilot, and was impressed by the second episode, but after that, the show, I thought just went down the drain. the only 3 disney shows of the decade, I liked throughout the whole series, was Even Stevens, That's so Raven, and Suite Life. But both Raven and Suite Life of Zack and Cody, were ruined with their spin offs. Expand
  20. Jun 5, 2011
    0
    It's pretty sad that Disney couldn't find two main characters who could actually dance! With all of the talented kids out there, this was the best they could do? Pathetic! Between the sloppy dance moves and extra cheesy facial expressions, I can't stand to watch! The acting is horrible yes, but they could have at least got the dancing right, it is a show about dancing after all! Hopefully this show will be canceled after season 1. Expand
  21. Jul 10, 2011
    0
    I enjoy Disney Channel, I can watch it all day and I'm 20 years old. They got some great shows like good luck charlie and Phineas and Ferb. NOW SHAKE IT UP is a total mess. Acting and dancing are bad. Why couldn't they put some girls that could at least shake it up? there are a lot of talented teens that would do better than those 2. And The show is kinda stupid. I know they trying to be funny but it's not working. Why is the show still on anyway? shake it up is a BIG no no. I have watched it once and I regret cause I wasted my time. Expand
  22. Nov 12, 2011
    1
    I thought Disney Channel hit rock bottom with the show Hannah Montana showing kids to be someone their not. This show is far worse. Showing the complete opposite of what fate does. With the dancing they used to try out for the show they would not have made the show. Also if Cece just joined the show because of Rocky might as well just let everyone join! Also when they dance they make it as if they are just magically in sync. Real dancing takes weeks to rehearse. The worst actor on the show is Davis Cleveland. Yes he's little, but with the experience he should have with acting by now he should know how to put on a better performance. All and all this show is not that good. Expand
  23. Dec 16, 2011
    4
    It is evident that Disney Channel is aimlessly attempting to engage with the tween audience a bit more, as younger actors are dominating in this series. Dancing is excellent and there are quite a few good themes present. However, it is a bit "cheesy" on the side and unoriginal - considering we have already encountered several other TV shows where the characters have to deal with fame. On the bright side, though, it is good to see occasional family moments where kids can relate to, and how Disney is entering the modern world. Expand
  24. Nov 25, 2011
    0
    I hate this show!!! It seems like disney is running out of good shows!!! the girls are horrible actors and they dont act their age! I hope they take this show off of disney! The way the girls dress is like ''really'' no 13 year old dresses like this everyday well at least not the ones i know!!! This show is HORRIBLE lamest disney channel has i have so much more to say but i dont want to bore people!!! Expand
  25. Nov 17, 2012
    1
    Disney needs to stop it with these "Original" Series all they have is bad acting, dancing, music, singing and this show is the perfect example of what I'm talking about this show is absolutely terrible.
  26. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Worst show I have ever experienced. It's so boring and unfunny that i'm surprised I watched every episode of all the 3 seasons. Terrible writing to. BAD SHOW.
  27. Jan 3, 2014
    1
    I really don't like this show. At the beginning, it was OK, but the show just started going down the drain. At the beginning of the show, it was kind of normal, but at the end, the characters got way to crazy and dumb. Rocky and Cici weren't very good actresses. But Rocky was an okay dancer, but Cici wasn't very good. Since it was on Disney, they couldn't take gods name in vain. So they said things like "Oh my Godfather" And "Oh my Gondulla". And at the end of the show, Cici became more and more self centered.

    When they announced this show was over, I was really happy!
    Expand
  28. Apr 16, 2014
    3
    When you add barbie and dance it you end up with girl tv show face its just gay . when you create a show make it a better them . Grade D-.Walt Disney's Productions needs to make better show with now girly crap .
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 10, 2010
    50
    Shake It Up doesn't shake up the kid-com formula one bit, but it's something more than the usual shiny-sparkly cuteness. [20 Dec 2010, p.44]