• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 9, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 11 out of 50

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnS
    Jan 8, 2010
    0
    A disgusting show with disgusting people. If enough Americans watched it we would probably convert en masse to communism.
  2. leslier
    Aug 16, 2009
    1
    Awful show - without having more than just watching s pitch and negotiation from a bunch of so-called sharks - this show becomes a quick bore. if there was a story that went with it - where it reviewed prior investments made and how the idea turned in to a success (or not) -would add something to humanize the experience. Instead - what's the point in watching? like watching a car Awful show - without having more than just watching s pitch and negotiation from a bunch of so-called sharks - this show becomes a quick bore. if there was a story that went with it - where it reviewed prior investments made and how the idea turned in to a success (or not) -would add something to humanize the experience. Instead - what's the point in watching? like watching a car chase - captures brief attention and then it's time to turn the dial. Expand
  3. asdasda
    Aug 17, 2009
    0
    The sharks are all bargain hunting. Who the heck would accept ANY of their deals (especially without a lawyer?) ... the sharks have all the negotiating leverage and they collude. The ONLY thing of value for the guests is exposure.
  4. RonV
    Aug 17, 2009
    3
    Burnett didn't invent this show or concept!!! It's been going on up here in Canada for 2 years - in fact Kevin O and Robert are both on the CBC show up here in Canada!!
  5. DonaldC
    Aug 19, 2009
    3
    I've been an avid fan of the British version of this show for about a year and was rather excited when I saw that an American version was being made. I was underwheled though once the show aired. Just about everything that made the British show a hit was taken out. I don't know who any of shark's are and the warm tones of Dragon's Den are replaced with drab hues of I've been an avid fan of the British version of this show for about a year and was rather excited when I saw that an American version was being made. I was underwheled though once the show aired. Just about everything that made the British show a hit was taken out. I don't know who any of shark's are and the warm tones of Dragon's Den are replaced with drab hues of blue and cheesy lights. The investors ask for way too much and seem overly pushy. I realize that they have the money and don't want to invest in something thatts nt worthwhile but they don't have to beat the people up while getting information from them. I'll watch the next episode just to see if it gets any better. It kind of has to though because I can't see it getting much worse. Expand
  6. TonyL
    Oct 19, 2009
    0
    If you ever want to see a show where people with ideas get shot dead because a shark wants to own their company and make profit for themself this shows for you. The show had a good idea turned bad, each one of these sharks always seek the highest percentage of ownership in the inventors stock, basically so they can manipulate the company on their own terms without the consent of the If you ever want to see a show where people with ideas get shot dead because a shark wants to own their company and make profit for themself this shows for you. The show had a good idea turned bad, each one of these sharks always seek the highest percentage of ownership in the inventors stock, basically so they can manipulate the company on their own terms without the consent of the owner, which is kind of stupid. I mean the show only shows me that if you have a good idea hope you know someone with money and that won't throw you to the dogs. Thats basically what this show is. In simpler terms. This show seeks to spark drama where it is'nt need. Business has always been serious so there's no need to make it dramatic, its either good or not, no need to be a complete douchebag or ravaging mongrel who wants everything for themself. Expand
  7. SHawnA
    Aug 23, 2009
    0
    A bunch of rich people trying to rip off good ideas and products. Didn't like it in Canada either.
  8. ChrisP.
    Sep 29, 2009
    2
    This show gives me a headache. They demand much too much, and take so much from their contestants. To them, they wager 100,000 of their MILLIONS, why for each of the individual contestants, this is their LIFE. Not to say their ideas are good or bad, just stating an observation. And always, I see these individuals not as entrepreneurs but as hustlers.I think the true entrepreneur has a This show gives me a headache. They demand much too much, and take so much from their contestants. To them, they wager 100,000 of their MILLIONS, why for each of the individual contestants, this is their LIFE. Not to say their ideas are good or bad, just stating an observation. And always, I see these individuals not as entrepreneurs but as hustlers.I think the true entrepreneur has a sense of adventure, the want, no the NEED to take risks, whether it be for money, a cause, or what have you. All these "sharks" see are dollar signs. Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2013
    3
    Personally, I've never been a fan of shows like this the ones with a panel of judges. American Idol doesn't even appeal. Yes, some of the products are nice, but honestly, I just found it boring.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Laura Bennett
    30
    The show is like watching fish getting shot in a barrel. It offers up poor souls with harebrained schemes and makes merry sport of eviscerating them.
  2. Reviewed by: Paige Wiser
    25
    There are so many things I hate about his new show, In the Shark Tank, that I started numbering them just to calm down. Where to start?
  3. Reviewed by: Josh Wolk
    83
    The moneymen ask informed questions and make shrewd decisions, a welcome relief from Donald Trump's capricious calls on Burnett's "Celebrity Apprentice."