• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
Sharknado Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a storm causes sharks to fall from the sky and attack people in Los Angeles, Fin (Ian Ziering) and his friends drive to his ex-wife's (Tara Reid) house to save her as more tornadoes cause more sharks to kill.
  • Genre(s): Movie/Mini-Series, Action & Adventure, Horror
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    This brilliantly executed concept--the title, the casting, the squiggly tornado CGI--was the most delicious chum, and we are creatures of instinct.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    It's the whole over-the-top insanity of it all, the splendid and glorious belief that if you say even god-awful lines firmly enough, if you look hot while drawing some weapon with which you clearly have no familiarity, if you acknowledge the yawning chasms in plot by saying things like "This is crazy" and "Do you trust me?" often enough, your audience will stay with you. Which is the creative spirit that drives this town, shared by the masterpiece and the utter mess alike.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 18, 2013
    80
    It’s absurd. It’s ridiculous. If you’re a fan of low-budget horror movies and you miss it, you will regret it for the rest of your life.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 17 out of 31
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Sharknado is a classic among Syfy's B movies. It combines awesome sharks, guns, Hummers, and natural disasters into one epic movie. What someSharknado is a classic among Syfy's B movies. It combines awesome sharks, guns, Hummers, and natural disasters into one epic movie. What some people don't understand is that the bad acting, the cheesy lines and the unrealistic plot make it funny. That's half the fun, laughing at the horrible mistakes. Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2014
    8
    The intended use of this movie is to be made fun. Best with a couple of open minded friends, sharing some drinks and laughter. That is justThe intended use of this movie is to be made fun. Best with a couple of open minded friends, sharing some drinks and laughter. That is just what we did and yes we had a lot of fun.

    If you want to watch ice age or gravity. Go and watch ice age or gravity and have some fun. But hell do not put sharknado in the dvd player and expect to magically get some ice age, gravity or schindlers list on your tv screen. Expectations...
    Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2015
    7
    Summary: Awfully acted, but stupidly enjoyable. Sharknado is a very insane TV film that will entertain horror buffs and beyond. 70/100 [B-]Summary: Awfully acted, but stupidly enjoyable. Sharknado is a very insane TV film that will entertain horror buffs and beyond. 70/100 [B-]

    A freak hurricane hits Los Angeles, causing man-eating sharks to be scooped up in tornadoes and flooding the city with shark-infested seawater. Surfer and bar-owner Fin sets out with his friends Baz and Nova to rescue his estranged wife April and teenage daughter Claudia. Sharknado is an awful film, but I enjoyed its awfulness and critics are right, it is "so bad it's good". The special effects were intentionally bad done and the sharks looked terrible. It's kind of a guilty pleasure.

    But there is something that I really liked about Sharknado... and that's the humor. This movie was hilarious and so damn entertaining. It reminded me a lot to Zombieland because both have the same sense of humor and insanity. I dare to say that Sharknado is the most hilarious horror-comedy since Zombieland. Even though some scares and deaths were very predictable, I still love this movie because it's great to have a film that knows what it's doing and does it well.

    Tara Reid is probably one of the worst actresses in recent memory, she sucks, but that's the point! Sharknado is awfully good and... I don't know if that makes sense to you. In addition, Ian Ziering was amazing, he was badass in the movie. Also, the direction was kinda interesting, especially in its final 10 minutes because there's a strangely awesome moment that blew my mind. In conclusion, the first half is kinda boring and predictable but the second half is more bloody, unpredictable and highly entertaining. I loved it! [B-]
    Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    2
    Sharknado is yet another terrible Asylum movie. It it ridiculous, cheap, has poor acting, a plot that doesn't make sense, and is just an allSharknado is yet another terrible Asylum movie. It it ridiculous, cheap, has poor acting, a plot that doesn't make sense, and is just an all around pathetic film. I watched it to see what people liked about it and, like the rest of their movies, the only thing people liked is how bad it is. The only reason I'm rating it a 2/10 instead of a 1/10 is because there are some parts that are actually so bad that I laughed. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2013
    1
    Sharknado is awful...just terrible. I'm not entirely convinced there was actually a script. There's no plot and barely a story. The actingSharknado is awful...just terrible. I'm not entirely convinced there was actually a script. There's no plot and barely a story. The acting reaches unheard of levels of bad and it's clear a small boy came up with the premise...it's your basic film from The Asylum and SyFy. However, it's in all these bad qualities that makes the film a joy to experience. It's one of those films that are so bad, they are automatically funny and a blast to watch and make fun of with friends. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    One of the worst movies I've ever seen, this is not even a real horror movie, it's just typical bad Cliche filled American crap B-movie.One of the worst movies I've ever seen, this is not even a real horror movie, it's just typical bad Cliche filled American crap B-movie. hilarious, I should have been high, then I could have laughed instead Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    0
    Some may call it a B I call it a Z movie. So bad not only does it make no sense and it was just that hokey and unbelievable. I think this isSome may call it a B I call it a Z movie. So bad not only does it make no sense and it was just that hokey and unbelievable. I think this is one of those movies where you have to be stoned or drunk to watch. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews