• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 11, 2013
Sharknado Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a storm causes sharks to fall from the sky and attack people in Los Angeles, Fin (Ian Ziering) and his friends drive to his ex-wife's (Tara Reid) house to save her as more tornadoes cause more sharks to kill.
  • Genre(s): Movie/Mini-Series, Action & Adventure, Horror

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    This brilliantly executed concept--the title, the casting, the squiggly tornado CGI--was the most delicious chum, and we are creatures of instinct.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 12, 2013
    80
    It's the whole over-the-top insanity of it all, the splendid and glorious belief that if you say even god-awful lines firmly enough, if you look hot while drawing some weapon with which you clearly have no familiarity, if you acknowledge the yawning chasms in plot by saying things like "This is crazy" and "Do you trust me?" often enough, your audience will stay with you. Which is the creative spirit that drives this town, shared by the masterpiece and the utter mess alike.
  3. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 18, 2013
    80
    It’s absurd. It’s ridiculous. If you’re a fan of low-budget horror movies and you miss it, you will regret it for the rest of your life.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 36
  2. Negative: 18 out of 36
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Sharknado is a classic among Syfy's B movies. It combines awesome sharks, guns, Hummers, and natural disasters into one epic movie. What someSharknado is a classic among Syfy's B movies. It combines awesome sharks, guns, Hummers, and natural disasters into one epic movie. What some people don't understand is that the bad acting, the cheesy lines and the unrealistic plot make it funny. That's half the fun, laughing at the horrible mistakes. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2016
    8
    This movie is great and started off the great series! This one is my second favorite out of the four sharknado movies (my first is the secondThis movie is great and started off the great series! This one is my second favorite out of the four sharknado movies (my first is the second one). So this movie is hilarious. Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2017
    7
    This film is a joke but unlike the emoji movie it is a lot better and funnier even with a equally terrible story. I found my self loving theThis film is a joke but unlike the emoji movie it is a lot better and funnier even with a equally terrible story. I found my self loving the characters and the climax was actually fun. Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2018
    3
    As there was going on a massive hype over the miraculous appearance of SHARKNADO and as I usually find intentionally bad movies to be veryAs there was going on a massive hype over the miraculous appearance of SHARKNADO and as I usually find intentionally bad movies to be very entertaining, this movie seemed to be a must watch.
    The point is, that even when you know how low the quality of SHARKNADO is (which is honestly not that hard to be found out) you can still be disappointed about how bad it ACTUALLY is. If you don't get what I mean; this movie differs from the other bad movies out there solely by by being even worse. The thing is that the developers claimed to have taken effort to make this movie as ridiculous as possible and in the end this only lead to SHARKADO becoming a horrible and seemingly effortless piece of the Mockbuster genre.
    To give you my own definition, SHARKNADO is nothing but overhyped. And I am not saying this because I had honest intentions when watching it, but my hopes for SHARKNADO to become at least a joke suitable to bring in as the subject for a stupid conversation were completely anihilated after seeing this. Remember one thing: Maths do not apply in reversion: Only by making a movie extraordinarily bad it does not automatically become good. This movie surely has some legitimation, but there is a borderline between good because good quality and good because bad quality, and they clearly failed to menage that correctly so it eventually landed in between, bad because bad quality.
    I still give SHARKNADO a 3, as it is still somewhat enjoyable if you want to be a part of the hype and in respect for the huge impact it managed to create by standing out of all that bad movies made before, but for me this movie doens't deserve even that score.
    Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2013
    1
    Sharknado is awful...just terrible. I'm not entirely convinced there was actually a script. There's no plot and barely a story. The actingSharknado is awful...just terrible. I'm not entirely convinced there was actually a script. There's no plot and barely a story. The acting reaches unheard of levels of bad and it's clear a small boy came up with the premise...it's your basic film from The Asylum and SyFy. However, it's in all these bad qualities that makes the film a joy to experience. It's one of those films that are so bad, they are automatically funny and a blast to watch and make fun of with friends. Expand
  6. Jan 20, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is more stupid than a movie that the great Ed Wood did drunk, and on drugs, First of all sharks won't last a second out of the water, second sharks don't go around eating **** everything in front of them, third you can't blow up a **** tornado, or any kind of air for that **** matter, even not counting those things it is still a godawful, poorly acted, and filled with **** effects piece of **** movie. Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    0
    It is unfortunate that liking this mental diarrhea is trendy and cool right now when it lacks all the heart and feel of genuinely "good" badIt is unfortunate that liking this mental diarrhea is trendy and cool right now when it lacks all the heart and feel of genuinely "good" bad movies. Honestly the writing felt more like several recent big blockbusters just with worse acting, less production value, and a few "you got to be kidding me, did they just say that" lines thrown in to really drive the "joke" home. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews