Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    Tremendously clever fun, Masterpiece Mystery! presents the first of three modernizations of the Sherlock Holmes tales.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    There have been many great "Masterpiece" offerings over the decades, but I can't think of a single one that is as much out-and-out fun as Sherlock, a modern-dress Conan Doyle that crackles with superb writing, brilliant performances and snappy direction, and does it all while somehow managing to be oddly faithful to the original source material.
  3. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    90
    The stories are complex and contemporary, with references to a remembered past. But it's easy to forget the past--the present Sherlock, droll yet naive, is so wonderfully weird.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    The result is a sharp, funny, clever series that remains faithful to the spirit of Doyle's stories while infusing them with a vibrant spirit of modernity.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Oct 22, 2010
    90
    Sherlock is the rare reinvention that's likely to enchant purists as well as those yearning for a new look at an old favorite. Should you bookmark it now on your DVR? The answer, my dear reader and viewer, is elementary.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 21, 2010
    100
    Cumberbatch and star British producers Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss ("Doctor Who") have performed quite a remarkable feat here--they've created something unique and pleasurable where so many have trod before.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 798 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 108
  1. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    UTTERLY intriguing, excellent dialogue. plots: They are elaborate, yet, totally spectacular. Sherlock will compel you to the edge of your seat and captivate you with this twenty-first century adaptation. Benedict does a good job as Sherlock Holmes . Full Review »
  2. Aug 15, 2010
    10
    An absolutely brilliant murder mystery. All the 3 episodes were genius. I won't say how it ended, but it was a corker!!!! I Really hope there's gonna be a season 2!!!! Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    10
    This show is amazing. The dialogue is wonderfully written. It is fast-paced. There's some witty commentary here and there. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are wonderfully cast together. I have recommended to many of my friends and all are glad that I did. Full Review »