Sherlock : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Sherlock Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Part of PBS's Masterpiece Mystery, the three Sherlock Holmes stories set in modern-day London were created and written by Stephen Moffatt and Mark Gatiss. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman play the detective and Dr. John Watson.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sherlock
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    Tremendously clever fun, Masterpiece Mystery! presents the first of three modernizations of the Sherlock Holmes tales.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    The result is a sharp, funny, clever series that remains faithful to the spirit of Doyle's stories while infusing them with a vibrant spirit of modernity.
  3. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    90
    The stories are complex and contemporary, with references to a remembered past. But it's easy to forget the past--the present Sherlock, droll yet naive, is so wonderfully weird.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 21, 2010
    80
    The appeal is elementary: good, unpretentious fun, something that's in short supply around here.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 24, 2010
    80
    It is cinematic in the sense that nothing in it looks quite real. But it works: This is not the London known as jolly and old, but the new chilly city of glass, a place of missed connections, of aliens and alienation. And the smart dialogue and warm performances--even Holmes has a discernible beating heart, or perhaps two--keep ice from forming on the production.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 22, 2010
    80
    A viewer who knew nothing of the earlier incarnations could come to this one and find it immediately engaging, like a good modern police buddy-team drama.
  7. Reviewed by: Rachel Michaels
    Oct 24, 2010
    70
    The major flaw of "The Great Game" is not allowing Sherlock and Watson to work enough as a team. This flaw makes clearer what the other episodes do well, which is to emphasize the most interesting and important aspect of the original stories, Holmes and Watson's complicated and entertaining relationship.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 156
  1. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    UTTERLY intriguing, excellent dialogue. plots: They are elaborate, yet, totally spectacular. Sherlock will compel you to the edge of your seatUTTERLY intriguing, excellent dialogue. plots: They are elaborate, yet, totally spectacular. Sherlock will compel you to the edge of your seat and captivate you with this twenty-first century adaptation. Benedict does a good job as Sherlock Holmes . Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2014
    10
    Sherlock is, by far, one of the best TV shows I have ever seen. The portrayal of Sherlock and John is fantastic, and the plot is witty andSherlock is, by far, one of the best TV shows I have ever seen. The portrayal of Sherlock and John is fantastic, and the plot is witty and never tiresome. However, the show is aired infrequently, with an average of 3 episodes every two years; there are only 3 seasons, 9 episodes to date. Expand
  3. Ido
    Sep 6, 2011
    10
    "Sherlock" is an excellent series. As the series progresses, it gets better, until the amazing climax at the end of this episode.
    the director
    "Sherlock" is an excellent series. As the series progresses, it gets better, until the amazing climax at the end of this episode.
    the director has done a great job, he hasn't used too much effects, and instead he has used some amazing editing things like camera movement, unusual camera angles and very nice focus games. All these effects did the series, and this episode especially, so good.
    I want to point out that the music was amazing, too.
    the cast did their job on the best side. Cumberbatch gave us an excellent role, which I liked it more than Downey Junior's Sherlock Holmes.
    I hope that Cumberbatch will do the transition from TV to the big screen.
    The third episode's plot was very good, the director keep us suspense until the last minutes, with the amazing finish. What can I say? please give us more episodes, and not just 3 more. Elementary, my dear Watson.
    Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2017
    10
    Adil olmayan bir durumla karşı karşıyayız. Bu yapım dizi değildir. Bildiğin filmdir. Birçok filmden iyi sinematografiye sahiptir.Adil olmayan bir durumla karşı karşıyayız. Bu yapım dizi değildir. Bildiğin filmdir. Birçok filmden iyi sinematografiye sahiptir. Unutulmayacaktır. Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    The first season of Sherlock is very witty and smart. Brilliant acting and stellar scripts are part of what makes this one of the brightestThe first season of Sherlock is very witty and smart. Brilliant acting and stellar scripts are part of what makes this one of the brightest shows on TV. Expand
  6. Jan 8, 2017
    9
    In our modern-day society, we are used to seeing crimes. But the cases our friends Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock Holmes) and Martin FreemanIn our modern-day society, we are used to seeing crimes. But the cases our friends Benedict Cumberbatch (Sherlock Holmes) and Martin Freeman (John H. Watson/Dr.Watson) solve are of those that are out of this world, but also extremely possible. They are also featured in other movies and TV shows. Martin Freeman was casted in Captain America: Civil War (2016) and The Office (2001-2003). Where Benedict Cumberbatch was seen in The Imitation Game (2014) and 12 Years a Slave (2013). They’re both in a variety of different genres of shows and movies, and are not new to working together on a set. They can be seen together on The Hobbit: an Unexpected Journey (2012) and The Hobbit: The Battle of Five Armies (2014).
    In the show, Dr.Watson first meets Sherlock Holmes, and Mr.Holmes tells him that they are to get a flat together. There is currently an open case of what they think is suicides, and are soon convinced they are murders due to all the deaths being caused by the same poison. Sherlock already figured they were all murders, and was soon allowed by the chief of police to help in the investigation. Sherlock wants Watson to join in. Soon found many clues and a way to find the victim's “lost” phone. But you’re going to have to watch the show to figure out what happens in the end. Needless to say, it was not expected.
    Watching this show constantly leaves you sitting at the edge of your seat. You’re always wondering what’s going to happen next. You also look forward to the seeing the end and what happens overall. I personally do not belive it’s idealistic in our modern society, we would not witness anything like this in our current days. I mean, it’s possible for an absolute genius and a former army men to meet randomly and start solving crimes together, But it is highly unlikely. But overall it is an extremely exciting and exotic, thrilling.
    Overall, it is a very great show and series. Even if it not as realistic as I imagined it would be reading the books, it is very exciting to see Sherlock and Watson come to life. The show is very true to itself. The actors that Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss (directors) have chosen to impersonate Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes and John H. Watson, were how I had imagined them looking, as weird as that is. They execute their parts perfectly and were a great choice of people to have chosen to work together. I would give this show a good nine out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2017
    0
    Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s most famous series turns to the screens in the new BBC One drama Sherlock. In the first episode of the series, “ASir Arthur Conan Doyle’s most famous series turns to the screens in the new BBC One drama Sherlock. In the first episode of the series, “A Study in Pink” the big mystery is whether the string of suicides are actually murders or not. The series opener begins Watson being introduced to Holmes, and becoming flatmates. The show starts off slow, but picks up when the lady in pink is found dead. Watson and Holmes work together to solve the mystery of the ‘unrelated’ deaths that keep occurring. The show was developed and written by Steven Moffat and Mark Gatiss, and stars Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman as the lead roles.
    The show being set in modern times, doesn't take away from what Conan wanted. The episode takes off when Holmes begins singing and dancing, after he finds out the fourth suicide left a note. Holmes brings Watson along because he knows of Watson’s past military service. This is the first time we see Watson and Holmes work together. The two are brought together by a mutual friend and soon become friends themselves. Watson is taken, and meets a strange man, who calls himself Sherlock’s archenemy. Holmes and Watson begin working together to solve the strange series of deaths, that look like suicides. Sherlock and Watson are at the last crime scene, which is a lady dressed in pink. Sherlock’s deductions help lead him to the killer. Sherlock comes face to face with the serial killer, who is determined to murder Sherlock.
    The first episode of Sherlock was intriguing from the moment we met Sherlock. The shows atmosphere and plot line, were very similar to how Conan originally wrote it. The show itself had a slow start, but soon picked up when another suicide occurred. Sherlock’s deduction of people, really helped move the show along. The show had a lot of great moments, and some strange ones too, like Watson meeting an unidentified man who referred to himself as Sherlock’s Archenemy. The modernization of the show was a hit. There’s even a minor character who never gets off of her phone, and Watson has a blog and Sherlock has a website. The show really comes together as a whole and the characters really adjust to the 21st century. The only negative is Watson returning from Afghanistan, and becoming roommates with a consulting detective, whom he barely knows. The show was definitely a success though, Cumberbatch as Sherlock was a great choice. He suits the role, and plays a believable modern Holmes. Freeman who plays Watson, underplays Holmes brilliance, and gives the show some balance between a brilliant detective and an Army doctor. Sherlock has all the characteristics of a good detective story. Significant crime, brilliant detective, worthy opponent, characters are introduced at the beginning, all the clues were given to us, and the solution was logical. The show Sherlock does a good job of incorporating these characteristics and keeping the watcher entertained.
    The first episode had a lot of good parts, and overall was pretty good. The only negative is how Sherlock met Holmes and began solving crimes together. It was rushed, and they barely knew each other and became flatmates the day after they met. Overall the show was well written, and something to watch. The series is definitely something to recommend to others, especially those who like mystery and crime shows. It was very entertaining and it played along with Conan’s stories very well. The show would get a 9.5/10, because of how the two met, and the slow beginning.
    Expand

See all 156 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: August 25, 2014
    Find a list of this year's Emmy winners, see how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be, and read reviews of the broadcast (including an assessment of Seth Meyers as host).
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  3. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  4. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.