Sherlock Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 773 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Part of PBS's Masterpiece Mystery, the three Sherlock Holmes stories set in modern-day London were created and written by Stephen Moffatt and Mark Gatiss. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman play the detective and Dr. John Watson.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    Tremendously clever fun, Masterpiece Mystery! presents the first of three modernizations of the Sherlock Holmes tales.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    The result is a sharp, funny, clever series that remains faithful to the spirit of Doyle's stories while infusing them with a vibrant spirit of modernity.
  3. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    90
    The stories are complex and contemporary, with references to a remembered past. But it's easy to forget the past--the present Sherlock, droll yet naive, is so wonderfully weird.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 21, 2010
    80
    The appeal is elementary: good, unpretentious fun, something that's in short supply around here.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 24, 2010
    80
    It is cinematic in the sense that nothing in it looks quite real. But it works: This is not the London known as jolly and old, but the new chilly city of glass, a place of missed connections, of aliens and alienation. And the smart dialogue and warm performances--even Holmes has a discernible beating heart, or perhaps two--keep ice from forming on the production.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Oct 22, 2010
    80
    Sherlock is an enjoyably clever mixture of character drama and adventure tale.
  7. Reviewed by: Rachel Michaels
    Oct 24, 2010
    70
    The major flaw of "The Great Game" is not allowing Sherlock and Watson to work enough as a team. This flaw makes clearer what the other episodes do well, which is to emphasize the most interesting and important aspect of the original stories, Holmes and Watson's complicated and entertaining relationship.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 105
  2. Negative: 6 out of 105
  1. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    This is a very well made and well written series. I love the fresh take on Sherlock Holmes and the fact that they stayed so true to book character. I only wish they were releasing more than 3 shows! Expand
  2. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    UTTERLY intriguing, excellent dialogue. plots: They are elaborate, yet, totally spectacular. Sherlock will compel you to the edge of your seat and captivate you with this twenty-first century adaptation. Benedict does a good job as Sherlock Holmes . Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Intelligently written and very well acted, just how television shows should be. My only gripe is it's only 6 episodes long (series 1 & 2). If you want a break from the dumb shows that plague our TVs today, then this show is for you. Expand
  4. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    Every episode is of movie quality. I find myself analyzing every movement of every character in hopes that i will have taken part in the intricate unraveling mystery of each episode. EVERY MAIN CHARACTER IS SPOT ON. My wife and I stare into other people shopping carts, deducing their intentions and previous motives. We all need a Sherlock in our lives. Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    Wow this is one of the best shows i have ever seen, it came out of nowhere and just blew me away. I didn't even knew it existed but my friends really loved it so i thought i should give it a try. Sherlock is utterly brilliant, clever, sharp and funny. This show is genius with the plot, twists and stories told in such a different way that really holds your attention and makes you glued to the screen and on the edge of the seat throughout. I hardly see any flaw and it has brilliant performances too both Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are well cast as Sherlock and Watson and they share a brilliant chemistry. Everything about this show is just purely flawless. Two thumbs up for the amazing work. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2012
    9
    The best modern interpretation, of Sherlock Holmes there has ever been. Captures the character right but fits perfectly in the modern world with out seeming out of place. Benedict Cumberbatch and Jeremy Brentt are the two best Holmes to ever be put on screen. Expand
  7. May 8, 2012
    0
    The wife and I saw the brilliant un-aired pilot to Moffat's Sherlock reboot. It was tightly directed and scripted I like Moffat's work on Doctor Who and was excited about the show. . . . Until I saw the official pilot plodding, dull and stupid -They show the damn murder in the first scene- It was like they sent it to be re-written by a committee of 11 year old american boys and told them to dumb it up. I say to the wife "we are prolly are just underwhelmed because of how good the un-aired pilot was." or maybe she said it to me because she is clever like that.
    We watched the second episode "The Blind Banker" another murder in the first scene another give-me pseudo-mystery. Don't get me wrong there is some delightful racism throughout, fortune cookie accents, and inscrutable Asians. So it was not a total loss. the show is fun it is just not smart and worse it assumes we are not smart.
    Then came the "The Great Game" and the worst Moriarty ever. He plays a hyper-controlled super-genius criminal like Jim Carey playing "gay". Speaking of which the already have in the cast the perfect Moriarty Mark Gatiss. When he appeared in the Pilot I thought what a great choice of Moriarty. Not only is Mark number 3 on the list of people I would go gay for. He is wasted on Mycroft. He is the right age a -generation older than Benedict Cumberbatch-, the right temperament, he is a member of the league of gentlemen and can actually act. More importantly he is believable as a math-professor that controls the criminal world like a chess game. The fool they have playing the part, screams and chews the scenery any time he gets a cellphone call. The "I am sOoOo changeable" line had me on the floor laughing and not in the good way.
    I guess I should be grateful Moffat has presented me with a real mystery - why does this show only have good reviews?
    Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  2. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.