Sherlock : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3
Sherlock Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1036 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Part of PBS's Masterpiece Mystery, the three Sherlock Holmes stories set in modern-day London were created and written by Stephen Moffatt and Mark Gatiss. Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman play the detective and Dr. John Watson.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    Tremendously clever fun, Masterpiece Mystery! presents the first of three modernizations of the Sherlock Holmes tales.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Oct 22, 2010
    100
    The result is a sharp, funny, clever series that remains faithful to the spirit of Doyle's stories while infusing them with a vibrant spirit of modernity.
  3. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Oct 22, 2010
    90
    The stories are complex and contemporary, with references to a remembered past. But it's easy to forget the past--the present Sherlock, droll yet naive, is so wonderfully weird.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Oct 21, 2010
    80
    The appeal is elementary: good, unpretentious fun, something that's in short supply around here.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Oct 24, 2010
    80
    It is cinematic in the sense that nothing in it looks quite real. But it works: This is not the London known as jolly and old, but the new chilly city of glass, a place of missed connections, of aliens and alienation. And the smart dialogue and warm performances--even Holmes has a discernible beating heart, or perhaps two--keep ice from forming on the production.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Oct 22, 2010
    80
    A viewer who knew nothing of the earlier incarnations could come to this one and find it immediately engaging, like a good modern police buddy-team drama.
  7. Reviewed by: Rachel Michaels
    Oct 24, 2010
    70
    The major flaw of "The Great Game" is not allowing Sherlock and Watson to work enough as a team. This flaw makes clearer what the other episodes do well, which is to emphasize the most interesting and important aspect of the original stories, Holmes and Watson's complicated and entertaining relationship.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 146
  1. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    UTTERLY intriguing, excellent dialogue. plots: They are elaborate, yet, totally spectacular. Sherlock will compel you to the edge of your seatUTTERLY intriguing, excellent dialogue. plots: They are elaborate, yet, totally spectacular. Sherlock will compel you to the edge of your seat and captivate you with this twenty-first century adaptation. Benedict does a good job as Sherlock Holmes . Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    Sherlock is my second favourite show on tv and for good reason. The acting is top notch, the writing is awesome and each series is only 3Sherlock is my second favourite show on tv and for good reason. The acting is top notch, the writing is awesome and each series is only 3 episodes long (90 minutes each episode)
    10/10
    Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Intelligently written and very well acted, just how television shows should be. My only gripe is it's only 6 episodes long (series 1 & 2). IfIntelligently written and very well acted, just how television shows should be. My only gripe is it's only 6 episodes long (series 1 & 2). If you want a break from the dumb shows that plague our TVs today, then this show is for you. Expand
  4. Jun 5, 2016
    10
    How can you dislike this? This is clearly above average and close to perfect Sherlock Holmes interpretation in modern days. This isHow can you dislike this? This is clearly above average and close to perfect Sherlock Holmes interpretation in modern days. This is masterpiece TV show. I cannot imagine who would rate this yellow or red scores, maybe weird people. But this is very clever, nicely produced TV series. Superior to American movies, I think. 10/10 hands down. no TV series come closer Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    I never thought I would say that a three-episode TV season would be the greatest bargain I've ever received. Sherlock is an unbelievableI never thought I would say that a three-episode TV season would be the greatest bargain I've ever received. Sherlock is an unbelievable experience, taking every recent iteration of the iconic sleuth and overshadowing each one with its witty dialogue and incredible lead acting. Cumberbatch, who flawlessly portrays the lovably heartless sociopath, and Freeman, the humane war veteran Watson, come together as one of the best on-screen duos quite possibly in any medium. Their banter both in and outside the crime scenes, ranging from deductions to social conflicts, give the series an unquenchable spirit that keeps the audience begging for more. The mysteries are also cleverly adapted from the source material, taking Doyle's masterpieces and reinventing them with a modern twist that adds a sense of relevance to the episodes. Even the supporting cast is memorable, featuring performances that make me seriously rethink my opinions of the Robert Downey films. Lestrade is not a bumbling idiot but a useful ally. Mrs. Hudson isn't an irritable landlady, but a sweet, naive mother figure. Everything feels better and allows me to invest in the story even more.
    In short, it says a lot about a series to produce three episodes a season. They need to uphold a strong level of quality to make up for the lack of content they provide. However, Sherlock needn't worry about all this. The characters, mysteries, and dialogue not only come together like cogs in a machine, perfectly working off one another to produce an exceptional final product, but also go above and beyond the source material with a modern spin that truly shines. It is my sincere hope that Sherlock lasts forever, because its undeniable charm has forever been implanted into my mind, taking root and, like a good mystery, will never escape until the case is closed.
    Elementary.

    9.5/10
    Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    A very entertaining contemporary version of the classic. The new Sherlock is even more of an obnoxious prick (and, as Willow would sayA very entertaining contemporary version of the classic. The new Sherlock is even more of an obnoxious prick (and, as Willow would say "slightly gay") than the legendary Jeremy Brett and the new dr. Watson might just be my favourite yet. The writing is smart and crisp and we even get the on screen graphics to follow the processing of clues. I sincerely hope there will be a series 2. Expand
  7. May 8, 2012
    0
    The wife and I saw the brilliant un-aired pilot to Moffat's Sherlock reboot. It was tightly directed and scripted I like Moffat's work onThe wife and I saw the brilliant un-aired pilot to Moffat's Sherlock reboot. It was tightly directed and scripted I like Moffat's work on Doctor Who and was excited about the show. . . . Until I saw the official pilot plodding, dull and stupid -They show the damn murder in the first scene- It was like they sent it to be re-written by a committee of 11 year old american boys and told them to dumb it up. I say to the wife "we are prolly are just underwhelmed because of how good the un-aired pilot was." or maybe she said it to me because she is clever like that.
    We watched the second episode "The Blind Banker" another murder in the first scene another give-me pseudo-mystery. Don't get me wrong there is some delightful racism throughout, fortune cookie accents, and inscrutable Asians. So it was not a total loss. the show is fun it is just not smart and worse it assumes we are not smart.
    Then came the "The Great Game" and the worst Moriarty ever. He plays a hyper-controlled super-genius criminal like Jim Carey playing "gay". Speaking of which the already have in the cast the perfect Moriarty Mark Gatiss. When he appeared in the Pilot I thought what a great choice of Moriarty. Not only is Mark number 3 on the list of people I would go gay for. He is wasted on Mycroft. He is the right age a -generation older than Benedict Cumberbatch-, the right temperament, he is a member of the league of gentlemen and can actually act. More importantly he is believable as a math-professor that controls the criminal world like a chess game. The fool they have playing the part, screams and chews the scenery any time he gets a cellphone call. The "I am sOoOo changeable" line had me on the floor laughing and not in the good way.
    I guess I should be grateful Moffat has presented me with a real mystery - why does this show only have good reviews?
    Expand

See all 146 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews

    2014 Emmy Awards: Full Winners List + Critic Reviews Image
    Published: August 25, 2014
    Find a list of this year's Emmy winners, see how accurate expert and user predictions turned out to be, and read reviews of the broadcast (including an assessment of Seth Meyers as host).
  2. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Books Image
    Published: August 13, 2014
    The trend of adapting the written word to the small screen has been accelerating in recent years, and especially this summer, when nine such shows will launch. We look back at the best and worst TV adaptations of books from the past 30 years.
  3. Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season

    Best and Worst New Shows of the 2011-12 TV Season Image
    Published: May 23, 2012
    We've reached the end of another TV season, so it's time once again for our annual look at the best and worst shows. Find out which first-year series impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  4. Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series

    Summer TV Preview: The Best New & Returning Series Image
    Published: May 3, 2012
    Summer will bring some of TV's best shows (including "Breaking Bad" and "Louie," and--possibly--new shows like "The Newsroom"). Inside, we look at the 20 most noteworthy series, specials, and miniseries coming this summer. You'll also find a full calendar of premiere dates from now through August.