Siberia : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 1, 2013
Siberia Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jul 1, 2013
    80
    The reality show has become a nightmare, which isn’t a terrible premise. But setting it in the woods and turning the contestants into prey for some malevolent force harks back more to “Friday the 13th” than to “Survivor.” This wouldn’t be as noticeable if Siberia leavened the whole thing with dark humor.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jul 1, 2013
    70
    The well-trod format of Siberia may be its biggest asset, quickly building the kind of sturdy perimeters that horror so often needs; real fear emerges when the familiar and predictable become shockingly distorted (is any ghost as scary as a child ghost?).
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 1, 2013
    63
    Siberia can be pretty annoying with the shaky single-camera and fake reality premise and all--but then it picks up in the last ten minutes when things go horribly wrong and the best character in the bunch gets killed off.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 1, 2013
    60
    Written and directed by Matthew Arnold, the pilot does a nifty job of capturing the tics of such unscripted programs, from the convincing casting and first-person interviews to the shaky camerawork and overhead helicopter shots. In fact, the producers have done their mimicry a little too well; it’s easy to zone out on the blah, blah, blah of the contestant banter while waiting for the twist to actually happen.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jul 1, 2013
    40
    Poorly acted, drearily written, Siberia is just the thing for those who've tuned into a new reality show and, while watching the same old beats play out, muttered to the screen, "I could have written this."
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    The best summer series of the year. Everyone SHOULD watch Siberia and i mean it. This show is not what you think it is at first sight andThe best summer series of the year. Everyone SHOULD watch Siberia and i mean it. This show is not what you think it is at first sight and you'll have to wait the entire season to find out what happened on this island. Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2014
    10
    I waited a few months before watching this and I ended up watching the whole 11 episodes in 2 days. This is amazing, the beginning is calm andI waited a few months before watching this and I ended up watching the whole 11 episodes in 2 days. This is amazing, the beginning is calm and shows the characters off, but then without warning hits you. The show has so many quick turning points and in the final few episodes the whole thing just explodes. Absolutely amazing show. The final episode ends at a really unusual point and makes you think that there is a second season to be filmed. There are so many things that happen in the show that some people may miss and is definitely worth a second watch to put all of the pieces of the puzzle together. 10/10 Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Great. This show is such a great thriller. I love the writing and the acting. It's so addicting. This is probably one of my new favoriteGreat. This show is such a great thriller. I love the writing and the acting. It's so addicting. This is probably one of my new favorite shows. I cant' wait for more. Expand
  4. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    My earlier opinions of this show were hasty. It's really starting to pick up, and what I thought was going to turn into a terrifyingly badMy earlier opinions of this show were hasty. It's really starting to pick up, and what I thought was going to turn into a terrifyingly bad trainwreck actually saved itself through smart reveals of necessary exposition of the threats the contestants face.

    It's quickly getting into LOST territory, but in some ways, it's even smarter than that- instead of hiding behind illusions and lies and omission in the maddening JJ Abrams fashion that turns suspense into frustration, the show knows when to drop the plot-bombs and when to pick up on the portrayal of emotions. It's quite nice.

    Sure, the actors got off to a rough start, and maybe the producers and directors didn't know their exact aim from the start- but now they're in the swing of things, and hopefully it can get even better from here.
    Expand
  5. Jul 30, 2013
    7
    So bad that you will want to see more of it.
    The acting is terrible, the plot is laughable and the lack of realism is outstanding. If you
    So bad that you will want to see more of it.
    The acting is terrible, the plot is laughable and the lack of realism is outstanding. If you suspend your logic for a minute you will get a decent mystery thriller... otherwise you can joke about the disaster that's unfolding before your eyes.
    Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    4
    As boring as a reality show. The mystery plot is almost nonexistent. The characters are so obnoxious as real contestants. In the worst I'veAs boring as a reality show. The mystery plot is almost nonexistent. The characters are so obnoxious as real contestants. In the worst I've seen this year. Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2013
    0
    Siberia is probably the most fake, poorly acted, and poorly written show, I have ever had the misfortune to watch. Half the time i wasSiberia is probably the most fake, poorly acted, and poorly written show, I have ever had the misfortune to watch. Half the time i was watching it, I would bust out laughing at how ridiculously terrible it was. Maybe they should have branded it as a comedy. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews