Sit Down, Shut Up : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 19, 2009
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 70
  2. Negative: 28 out of 70

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. MichaelP
    Jul 3, 2009
    3
    It could be good, like an 7 or 8, however its missing something. But I can't figure out what...
  2. Scott
    Apr 20, 2009
    0
    Absolutely dreadful. I hope this show dies a painful death after a few episodes.
  3. B.E.SP
    May 2, 2009
    2
    I had hope that this show would be funny, but I was sadly mistaken. I don't understand all these comments likening this show to "Arrested Development." "Arrested Development" had interesting characters who were funny because of their ridiculousness. This painful cartoon has flat characters who mistake being crude with being funny. There won't be a second season. No one will I had hope that this show would be funny, but I was sadly mistaken. I don't understand all these comments likening this show to "Arrested Development." "Arrested Development" had interesting characters who were funny because of their ridiculousness. This painful cartoon has flat characters who mistake being crude with being funny. There won't be a second season. No one will watch this show. Expand
  4. Dangles
    Jun 6, 2009
    2
    Just because it has a great cast, doe snot make this show of the same caliber as arrest development (where many of the cast members are leeched from). This is simply an awful comedy with nothing to laugh about except maybe the failure that the show truly is.
  5. Dusti'n
    Apr 19, 2009
    0
    Wow. Absolutely lame, uninteresting, predictable and simply awful. Didn't even crack a smile.
  6. DanielK
    Apr 20, 2009
    1
    Very poor.. tries too hard. Truly a disaster. Nothing about it feels natural and the comedic timing is nonexistent.
  7. WaltJ
    Apr 22, 2009
    0
    This is loathsome garbage. Please don't cancel King of the Hill. It didn't mean any harm. This new cartoon is painful to sit through. It is like a childrens' show. It desperately attempts to get the viewing audience to laugh at jokes that are either sex related, or something a kid would laugh at on Spongebob. The worst part was the catchphrases. I hate repitition and the This is loathsome garbage. Please don't cancel King of the Hill. It didn't mean any harm. This new cartoon is painful to sit through. It is like a childrens' show. It desperately attempts to get the viewing audience to laugh at jokes that are either sex related, or something a kid would laugh at on Spongebob. The worst part was the catchphrases. I hate repitition and the overkill of a sing joke, especially one that wasn't funny to begin with like the repeating catchphrase, "I need a catchphrase." or "catchphrases are for losers. Please FOX, do yourself a favor and get rid of this show...it drove me to attempt in suicide...it's that bad. Expand
  8. diannac
    Apr 28, 2009
    1
    Completely awful show. Horrible portrayal of teachers.
  9. JT
    Apr 29, 2009
    3
    Although the show has funny actors such as J. Bateman, W. Arnett, W. Forte, H. Winkler, T. Kenny & C. Oteri, SIT DOWN SHUT UP fails to deliver. It may be full of subtle humour but the problem is the humour isn't that funny.
  10. ShaunC
    May 20, 2009
    1
    Considering the cast, supremely disappointing.
  11. AdamB.
    Apr 22, 2009
    1
    Poorly written and animated, insulting, and disposable.
  12. mikec
    Apr 26, 2009
    0
    It's like a cartoon, without the humor. They want to replace King of the Hill with this tripe? You have got to be kidding me! I'd rather watch a show about Cotton Hill's remains after it was flushed down the loo!
  13. Mike
    Apr 27, 2009
    1
    Instantly stale, with characters who never mention a second dimension and a subject matter (schools and teachers) for which the writers seem to have neither insight nor interest.
  14. StanS
    Apr 27, 2009
    0
    This thing was actually PAINFUL to watch - worst TV i've seen in the last 30 years.
  15. MacT
    Apr 29, 2009
    0
    Excruciatingly terrible.
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. It's almost impossible to discern the comedic intelligences behind this drab cartoon about a high school faculty.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    25
    Sit Down is raw, vulgar and blithely offensive, with so many triple and quadruple entendres for so many sexual acts, I lost count.
  3. Bateman and Arnett make the most of what they're given, but Sit Down, Shut Up seems to be caught up in actually trying to have a plot and then partly tossing off zany one-liners (with a focus on anatomy).