• Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 185

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    The best show ever made. Feels real. It's honest. It's everything you want from a tv show. Great acting. Great Writing. All of the characters really grow on you. Especially, Nate and David. Phenomenal season.
  2. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    In my honest opinion, the best show ever made. Superb acting. Solid writing. Just amazing. Keith and David's relationship was/is the most beautiful and honest relationship I have ever watched on tv. And the fact that they are gay, makes it even more groundbreaking. Well Done HBO, Well done.
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    This show is really one of the best pieces in television history. I still enjoy watching every single episode after so many years. It's truly great. All of it, the acting, the writing, the storyline. Just AMAZING.
  4. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly the best show ever made. Is it even a show? Felt pretty real to me.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    10
    This show kept me hooked after watching one episode and had drama that I enjoyed watching. All of the characters acted to perfection as their role/character. I simply loved ALL of this season, all of the plots, subplots, characters, and fuenerals.
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    The best show I've ever watch. Period. Beautifully acted. Even though the writing is not always perfect, the message of this show is marvelous
  7. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Uma excelente primeira temporada que, mesmo não tendo um cliffhanger, faz você salivar pela segunda temporada. Nunca vi personagens tão bons numa mesma série.
  8. Dec 26, 2017
    10
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
  9. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    I loved this show. The story was inspiring, albeit that it revolved around the life of a family running a funeral home. It could be morbid and depressing at times but its unique creativeness sets it apart from other TV shows. Plus the writers often explored some very interesting ideas about reality, life, death, fate, etc. I highly recommend this show to anyone who's a thinker andI loved this show. The story was inspiring, albeit that it revolved around the life of a family running a funeral home. It could be morbid and depressing at times but its unique creativeness sets it apart from other TV shows. Plus the writers often explored some very interesting ideas about reality, life, death, fate, etc. I highly recommend this show to anyone who's a thinker and enjoys serious drama. Expand
  10. Feb 13, 2017
    9
    Created by Oscar winner Alan Ball, of American Beauty fame, Six Feet Under may never have received the same level of attention as other HBO series but it is certainly amongst the best in terms of quality, and to this day there has never been another show quite like it.

    Telling the story of the Fishers, a family that own and operate "Fisher and Sons" funeral home, Six Feet Under is a
    Created by Oscar winner Alan Ball, of American Beauty fame, Six Feet Under may never have received the same level of attention as other HBO series but it is certainly amongst the best in terms of quality, and to this day there has never been another show quite like it.

    Telling the story of the Fishers, a family that own and operate "Fisher and Sons" funeral home, Six Feet Under is a character drama at heart but its darkly comic edge really sets it apart (highlighted best by the ‘death scene’ that open every episode). The writing in this first season is excellent right from the pilot and the talented cast, who have virtually all gone on to further success, only aids further in making the show such a fascinating watch. It could perhaps be a little too uncompromising for some but if you’re looking for something just that bit different Six Feet Under could be the show for you.
    Expand
  11. Apr 18, 2016
    9
    One of the best TV series of the early 00s, absolutely. There's a character or storyline for every viewer, and the acting is incredible. Honestly, I've never seen any actor from this series act better anywhere else.

    The show's slightly dated by now, but it's still recommended.
  12. May 25, 2018
    10
    This Series IS one of the components of The Golden Age Of Television. Writing ,acting cinematography all are superb. Ball is an Artist.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jun 28, 2013
    70
    A singularly apt pairing of subject and writer. ... It is often funny but never exactly fun; it's icier, more rarified and easier to admire than to love. It's also audacious, psychologically acute and beautifully shot.
  2. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 27, 2013
    83
    Slightly ghoulish but engrossing.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jun 13, 2013
    83
    Extremely well acted, 'Six' is a show I'll keep watching; I'm just not convinced it'll be sucking up the same pop-culture air that 'The Sopranos' did.