User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 41
  2. Negative: 17 out of 41

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I too had the pleasure if watching seasons 1-4 this past fall and instantly fell in love with the charm and troubles of these groups of teens from the UK. Then I had the intense displeasure of tuning to MTV tonight only to see one of the best depictions of teenage angst be transformed into something with the depth and emotion of watching paint dry. Dialog that came off as fresh and clever on the original appeared stiff and emotionless in the American version. And then there's Maxie. Apparently, Maxie is now a girl who, if the commercial for next week's episode is any indication, will only resemble Maxie in her sexual orientation. All in all, the U.S. Skins is a hollow shell of the original. If anything, this Skins only serves to increase my excitement for the return of E4's Skins series 5 at the end of this month. Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2011
    1
    Unfortunately the recycling of characters, dialogue and plot hasn't worked. Transplanting these British characters into an American environment leaves me feeling confused as to their identities, as their interactions feel forced and out of place.
  3. Feb 1, 2011
    1
    I guess if the Hills made stars of idiots like Heidi Montag and Spencer Pratt, there's no reason this tripe shouldn't turn out to be another MTV hit. I just remember our icons being a bit cooler. Thank god, these kids are wealthy enough to attend private school. They would get the crap kicked out of them on a daily basis in most public venues.
  4. Jan 18, 2011
    1
    I loved the UK version, but after 5mins of the American one I lost my interest. They are not creating a new show, instead they are re-doing existing scripted elements of the first season of the UK version. The actors are half rate, nobodies that have about the same skill as the highschool drama class. Rubbish.
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    0
    I have to say before I watched this show I thought it was going to be very unrealistic but it actually is realistic, for some people. Of course not all teens are like this but it does portray the popular kids well; otherwise besides the pop group, the majority of high schoolers are different and vary. It is relatable for some and brings up issues. In a way it does glorify bad behavior, but it's too early in the season to tell if it truly does. It's best traits are the dynamics between the characters and that the characters actually feel like friends. The acting and technical aspects however are horrible. The acting brings the show down so much. The actors simply don't know how to act; I don't need to explain this because you can just watch and see. Secondly, the directing and lighting are ameatur because they don't change anything! They don't know how to manipulate the audience through lighting and basic film techniques to create a mood. The mix of bad acting and bad tech is bad because after you watch an episode, about a girl who passes out from drugs and an escalade falling into a river or a girl so confused about her sexuality she hooks up with a girl and her friends boyfriend, you somehow feel as if nothing happened. This is due to the show's inability to create drama. I also have to say watching it felt like watching child porn, and I'M 19 but these kids look so young, it feels disgusting to watch those scenes lol. Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2011
    0
    I think the first season of skins US sucks ass, the actors are terrible, the dialogue is stiff and awkward, the choice of music sucks and the directing of the show is also very poor. I might be exaggerating a little bit, but obviously im comparing the US version to the original series which was great. Skins UK is one of the most bold, believable and real shows about being a teenager and the different issues and problems teenagers often have to deal with, its also a funny and charming series that makes you truly care about the characters, the american version on the other hand sucks, because of their lack of all the great things that the original had, bold and honest writing, great directing and real and original dialogue. if the US version starts being a bit more original and truly try to make an AMERICAN version of the series instead of a **** copy, it might be ok someday. but so far im just pissed off that Mtv had to partially ruin the name of this great show! Expand
  7. Feb 10, 2011
    2
    OMG, please see the acclaimed UK versions if you want quality TV. The US version is poorly acted, horribly cast, and basically just a rip-off of Season 1 of the British series of the same name. Some of those poor kids can't act their way out of a paper bag, and the chemistry between the characters is non-existent. Another example of ruining a good UK show. And the UK version has some great music, proving that MTV is clueless about good new music. Thank God they never made AbFab into a US version. Expand
  8. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    Some episodes were alright. But if this remake is ever compared to it's British original...it will never live up to the standards American television pushes.
  9. Feb 4, 2013
    0
    I haven't watched and don't plan to. This is just another example of how British shows don't always work when America waters it down. (I have to write more than 150 characters so yeah that's what I'm doing here, IGNORE THIS)
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jan 25, 2011
    50
    The show--a sporadically excellent adaption of a British teen drama--is superlative teensploitation, enabling youth to rejoice in the fantasy of their corruption, among other things.
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    75
    What keeps it from being exploitative--just--is the sense that these kids know such dangerous exhilaration won't, can't, lead to the happiness they're looking for. [31 Jan 2011, p.40]
  3. Reviewed by: Paul Schrodt
    Jan 18, 2011
    50
    Skins is, alas, many types of teen drama to many types of teens--a raunchy good time and an Afterschool Special on The Way Youth Live Now rolled into one. It's a viewing experience akin to going to a coke party only to be given a lecture. Where's the fun in that?