Skins (US) : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 46
  2. Negative: 20 out of 46

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 9, 2011
    10
    I really like this show. it has good actors plus they are all really good looking (bonus!!). I don't really care what other people say about this show, its good and not that...racey as the parents may think. Already can't wait for the second season.
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    This series is just as better as the United kingdom series. The Acting Is Good. The Story lines are really good & The series is being planned out for 10 episodes
  3. Feb 2, 2011
    8
    In comparison to the original skins, it's actually very good. It's got the same unique, artistic style and the characters are very good, especially the non-original ones, such as tea. It's only major flaw is that it keeps changing between replica episodes (Chris), jokes and plots and US original ones. Tea's episode was completely new and it was great, but the replica episodes are justIn comparison to the original skins, it's actually very good. It's got the same unique, artistic style and the characters are very good, especially the non-original ones, such as tea. It's only major flaw is that it keeps changing between replica episodes (Chris), jokes and plots and US original ones. Tea's episode was completely new and it was great, but the replica episodes are just mediocre. They probably do a good job of introducing the UK skins to a new audience, but this show would be better off if it cut all ties with the original, except for the style and mood. Cut this show some slack, it's actually very good! Expand
  4. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    I was lucky enough to get to see two episodes of the show before tonight's premiere. I was pleasantly surprised that the show lived up to my expectations. As a fan of the original, I was somewhat worried that I'd feel the charm of the show would be missing, even if the acting was on point (it was) and the casting was good (it was). Thankfully, I was wrong. The charm is there as well.I was lucky enough to get to see two episodes of the show before tonight's premiere. I was pleasantly surprised that the show lived up to my expectations. As a fan of the original, I was somewhat worried that I'd feel the charm of the show would be missing, even if the acting was on point (it was) and the casting was good (it was). Thankfully, I was wrong. The charm is there as well. There's still a chance that fans of the original show will hate this on principle. But really, the North American version of Skins (as they're calling it...North America in this case refers to the states and Canada) is for the plethora of teenagers in "North America" who haven't seen the show. Who haven't seen themselves represented on television in a way that is - while still very much a heightened reality - at least somewhat honest and relatable. (Being a teenager myself and having graduated high school in 2009, I can attest to that). So for all those teens who are about to be introduced to Skins for the first time, you guys are in for a wild ride. Hold on tight. And for fans of the original, such as myself, if we go into this with an open mind I am sure that we can all get some fun out of it as well. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2011
    7
    While Skins is as raunchy as teen television can get, it bluntly focuses on real life problems teenagers are forced to deal with daily, that being sex and drug abuse.
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I think Skins is terrific. The British versions are probably better -- the 5th series and the 1st two series are for sure -- but this is pretty good for US TV. It really reminds me of what it was like to be a teenager. I hope it gets recommissioned.
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first, I thought Skins was OK. But was watchable! Probably after Tea's episode I became hooked! I loved the show! It really hits sex and drugs right on the money and shows outcomes as a result of doing these things (for instance Michelle contracting an STD from Tony). I've watched the UK Version of Skins, the first 2 episodes, and honestly wasn't keeping me as hooked as the MTV version did. However, I have to add, MTV Skins isn't as bad as what most people think. The UK version, when it comes to censorship is much worse compared to its American counterpart. The "F" word is used frequently without censors compared to the American version. Full frontal nudity is included in the UK version as well. And also much more graphic scenes compared to the American version. The only "graphic" scenes that I've seen on the American version, was mostly on Chris' episode, showing his full nude back and the scene in which he wakes up with a boner. But despite the fact of allegations of child pornography, the show is a great watch for teens. Most teens like me are smart enough to know not to prance around naked in the suburbs, or have sex with a teacher, or even use drugs. Most teens over the age of 15 can relate to what is going on in the show. Unfortunately, what most parents apparently don't know (judging from the PTC's rambling) most teens are surrounded or possibly do some of the actions on the show. Drugs, alcohol, sex (Teen Mom is perfect proof of that topic). The show is great and I'm giving it an 9, crossing my fingers that the show will go on with season 2 and possibly even more season! :) Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    This was the best show on MTV until they pulled the plug. Worst move ever by MTV. Even though it didnt have good ratings what other show on mondays @ 10PM was better than SKins? NONE. I WISH IT WAS STILL ON MTV
  9. Jan 25, 2017
    9
    Out of all the teen dramas there are on American television, Skins US was a British remake that depicted the most realistic way teenagers live today. Airing in 2011, this show had real teenage actors playing teenage roles which included them simulating doing drugs, drinking alcohol, having sex, and partying. MTV cancelled early after one season due to advertisers backing out of commercialsOut of all the teen dramas there are on American television, Skins US was a British remake that depicted the most realistic way teenagers live today. Airing in 2011, this show had real teenage actors playing teenage roles which included them simulating doing drugs, drinking alcohol, having sex, and partying. MTV cancelled early after one season due to advertisers backing out of commercials and the constant criticism from the Parents Television Council. But, I found this show to be amazing because it was the opposite of Gossip Girl or some other "high school" drama where all of the actors are twenty or older and have the non-achievable and unrealistic appearance of a super model. This perfect depiction of teenage adolescence has an awkward, extremely lazy, peculiar boy with long blonde hair named Stanley that is perpetually tortured by his better looking and more popular best friend, Tony, who has a girlfriend that Stanley is in love with. One of the characters Cadie, portrayed by Britne Oldford, is a tall, skinny, mixed girl with fluffy hair and huge eyes that give you an eerie and mysterious feel as you look into them. With the cast being as young as 15 years old the show reached huge criticism and backlash. Even before the show aired many fans of the original British version refused to even give the American version a chance. If the viewers and adults would have been more accepting of the most realistic teenage show yet to be made maybe there could have been more seasons to follow. And for those reasons I rate this show 9 out of 10 stars and recommend it mature teenagers to watch. Expand
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Jan 25, 2011
    50
    The show--a sporadically excellent adaption of a British teen drama--is superlative teensploitation, enabling youth to rejoice in the fantasy of their corruption, among other things.
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    75
    What keeps it from being exploitative--just--is the sense that these kids know such dangerous exhilaration won't, can't, lead to the happiness they're looking for. [31 Jan 2011, p.40]
  3. Reviewed by: Paul Schrodt
    Jan 18, 2011
    50
    Skins is, alas, many types of teen drama to many types of teens--a raunchy good time and an Afterschool Special on The Way Youth Live Now rolled into one. It's a viewing experience akin to going to a coke party only to be given a lecture. Where's the fun in that?