• Network: E4
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 25, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 121

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AdamH.
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    this is a great show and very realistic of teens in Britain. im from england and this is how a lot of schools and colleges are like!!
  2. BeckyW
    Mar 22, 2009
    10
    Skins is edgy, cutting-edge and very realistic. Very, very realistic... and that's coming from a British teenager!
  3. luci
    May 15, 2009
    10
    Reviewers don't understand skins. skins is for the youth. You people obviously don't understand the connection and realness to life skins actually is.
  4. GavinC
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    'Skins' is competent when it comes to tackling humor and drama while still portraying average British teens honestly.
  5. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    The first series was an exceptional piece of television that offered a vivid, yet often exaggerated representation of teenage life. The main cast contained some promising character such as Sid Jenkins, Cassie Ainsworth, Tony Stonem and Chris Miles who are amongst the most-rounded, entertaining depictions of teenagers in contemporary fiction. The ending supplied a powerful moment of emotionThe first series was an exceptional piece of television that offered a vivid, yet often exaggerated representation of teenage life. The main cast contained some promising character such as Sid Jenkins, Cassie Ainsworth, Tony Stonem and Chris Miles who are amongst the most-rounded, entertaining depictions of teenagers in contemporary fiction. The ending supplied a powerful moment of emotion throughout a controversial, but unflinching portrayal of some teenager's lives. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    Of course the plot is exaggerated for entertainment. If the show merely depicted average teenagers, it would be extremely boring. The first generation was great, the second was marginally less good, but nonetheless still very entertaining. However, the third generation was just a mess, the characters were just boring. That said, I'm very excited for the 7th and final season, with theOf course the plot is exaggerated for entertainment. If the show merely depicted average teenagers, it would be extremely boring. The first generation was great, the second was marginally less good, but nonetheless still very entertaining. However, the third generation was just a mess, the characters were just boring. That said, I'm very excited for the 7th and final season, with the cast being from the first two generations. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    Great show. The 5th season wasn't that impressive, but I really enjoyed the 1st and 3rd season. Relatable characters, surprisingly good acting for amateurs, excellent music directors, stunning production.
  8. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    With screenwriters with an average age of 21, 'Skins' is a show is written by the youth of britain about the youth of britain which is why it is realistic, as some people don't seem to realise. A funny and emotional rollercoaster ride of a tv show, and definitely up there as one of my favourites.
  9. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Skins is one of those British television shows that has tried to represent the youth of Britain accurately, but unlike other attempts, Skins has succeeded in making a realistic portrayal of teenage Britain. A truly great television series from 1 to 4.
  10. Feb 6, 2011
    9
    Really great!Really great!



    00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
    Expand
  11. AllenH
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    Great show that's finally found is way across the pond. The characters really grow on you, and it was hard to leave them at the end of series two.
  12. MaxH.
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    Better than most of the TV shows on American TV.
  13. WillM
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    It is controversial and admits that we as the youth are a lost generation. Critics in the UK love it but in the US everything has to be superficially sugar coated.
  14. JulieJ.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    This show is worth sticking with whatever age you are, although it's a bit uneven. Series 1 and Series 2 are different but it's fascinating to watch the stories, the young actors, and the writers developing. Don't miss it!
  15. Riley
    Aug 17, 2008
    10
    This show is quite possibly the best piece of television aimed at the "teenage" audience in a very very very long time.
  16. PatrickW.
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    The critics miss the genius of this every time, maybe if they were a bit younger they would realise how good it is.
  17. PatrickM.
    Aug 17, 2008
    9
    A highly stylish series. I found it's amazing indie music and cool style very good but what made it great for me is the real life plots about actual teen problems such as anarexia, bring a gay teenager, and being in love with your friend. All these are shown in a comedic and racy way just on the edge of possibility but that is exactly what makes it so good.
  18. DarrenR.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Highly stylized but an emotional roller-coaster of a series which for once transcends the UKs ability to make decent tv dramas. Stick with Season One and you'll be crying your eyes out by the last episode. Come back for Season Two and you'll spend most of the entire Season in tears.
  19. WillL.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    Great show - and much less of a soap opera than other teen dramas like The O.C. (though some parts are still a little over done). Really fun and and all around well done... I'll definitely be tuning in again.
  20. THATTVGUY
    Jan 14, 2009
    10
    A perfect show, or close enough. Just brilliant writing, acting, directing, and production in every ounce of this show. It portrays high school and being a teenager so well and does with such deceptive ease, as if the creators might have ripped off some great stuff from 2018, and brought it back to us. I shouldn't overhype this (more than I already have). It's the type of thing A perfect show, or close enough. Just brilliant writing, acting, directing, and production in every ounce of this show. It portrays high school and being a teenager so well and does with such deceptive ease, as if the creators might have ripped off some great stuff from 2018, and brought it back to us. I shouldn't overhype this (more than I already have). It's the type of thing that should only be discussed amoung people who have already seen it, and to those who haven't... enjoy. However, this is the one show EVER that I didn't really enjoy much until the 5th episode or so, but by the end of the 2nd season I felt like I might have had a screw loose for doubting it. Expand
  21. StephanieB
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    love this series! I'm British and it makes SUCH a change from seeing those stupid USA dramas- they have actors who look about 30 trying to look like they're 17- CHRIST, no wonder US teens are so messed up. They don't know what they're supposed to look like. Plus their American nasally drawl is SOOOO annoying- you can't understand what they're going on about.
  22. JennH.
    Nov 12, 2008
    10
    Fast-paced and magnetic. I wonder about the characters when I'm not watching them -- that may be my own obsessive nature showing, but I really tried to not watch this show, and failed miserably.
  23. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    Season 1 and 2 of this show was some of the absolute best TV ever made. Every commercial break had me sitting on the edge of my seat. I couldn't wait for the next week's episode to come out. Then season 3 happened... ugh, from best to worst. If you are reading the reviews to find out if you should waste your time, only do so for Season 1 and 2 of the British show. Not season 3 andSeason 1 and 2 of this show was some of the absolute best TV ever made. Every commercial break had me sitting on the edge of my seat. I couldn't wait for the next week's episode to come out. Then season 3 happened... ugh, from best to worst. If you are reading the reviews to find out if you should waste your time, only do so for Season 1 and 2 of the British show. Not season 3 and not the US show. Expand
  24. Jun 7, 2011
    10
    Though obviously the exact quantity of pills they take i exaggerated it's pretty realistic fro Britain.
    Even though it seems they depict as being like that every single day one must remember the timeline where it's weeks and sometimes months between episodes, the directors just don't waste their time.
  25. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    It's the perfect show for anyone who enjoys watching rebellion on a screen. It will teach you what it's like, and also entertain you through inappropriate conduct you wish you could show.
  26. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    i love it
    :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)
  27. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I really liked Skins, it is very realistic and portrays what teens are like in Britain, while at the same time it provides humor and drama that keeps you entertained throughout the whole episode.
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. 60
    The glimpses of old-fashioned heart in Sid’s story, and the characters’ deadpan humor, make this show a mildly intriguing chronicle of youth.
  2. It's all elevated by looking really beautiful (though not -- and this is the crucial difference -- stylish). The pictures fill in the blanks, and even as Skins strains credibility, it achieves moments of poetry.
  3. I nearly wrote off Skins after the first episode. But as it continued--I've now seen three, the first two of which will air back-to-back on Sunday--I found some of the characters, including a dreamy anorexic named Cassie (Hannah Murray), starting to get under my own skin.