• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 16, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Sleepy Hollow Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ichabod Crane (Tom Mison) wakes up 200+ years in the future and meets Sleepy Hollow police Lieutenant Abbie Mills (Nicole Beharie). Together they aim to stop the headless horseman, who is the fourth horsemen of the Apocalypse.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Sep 15, 2013
    91
    Sleepy Hollow works because it approaches everything with a relatively straight face, yet never seems to be taking itself too seriously.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 16, 2013
    80
    It’s fun, it’s entertaining, it’s got some scares and some action and plenty of secrets to unveil.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 10, 2013
    75
    Suspend disbelief, not to mention your knowledge of Washington Irving's classic tale, because the illogical hodgepodge of myth premiering Monday night is great fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Cultural commentary mixed with the mystery, along with lavish production values, gives Irving’s tale a clever twist. The hour is trying to cover a lot of bases, but it may find its focus.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 3, 2013
    63
    Sleepy Hollow has an interesting premise and some terrific CGI effects (re: the Headless Horseman), but I didn’t buy into the show’s mystical/mythological/sci-fi overtones, a mishmash of history, witchcraft and muddled Biblical prophesy that left me confused instead of intrigued.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 16, 2013
    60
    Success is the exception for shows that try to weave mythologies this complex, and Sleepy Hollow falls back early on predictable conventions like having Abbie’s deceased ex-boss leave copious files on mysteries he could never solve.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Lucas
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    This could be a watershed moment in TV's long and inglorious history of idiocy, a drama that unintentionally almost matches Arrested Development for laughs.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    I love, love, love, the show it keeps me wating more. I love how it reference the bible. The actors are great and I think they have great chemistry it makes you believe the story. I look forward to more seasons Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    10
    While I can see why one might have had doubts over this show, after seeing many episodes I think the show is great. I think it's one of the best new shows out there. One thing I especially like is that unlike other shows (where some episodes don't really contribute to the overall story, and are somewhat random) every Sleepy Hollow episode adds something to the story arc or characters. Character development is pretty evident, such as seeing Ichabod become more and more stressful, worried and anxious, as the final battle between good and evil and possibly the apocalypse approaches.
    I honestly don't see why people criticize this show for being generic and cliched. I liked Tom Mison as Ichabod Crane (who's incredibly like-able as Ichabod Crane) and Nicole Beharie as Abbie Mills and seeing the two of them be partners. The entire cast is excellent. I like the plots of each episode and the modern retelling of the old legend. The show will scare you with the occasional creepy scene, but it also has funny dialogue in the script as well. I will eagerly wait for season two. This show looks very promising. (In case you were wondering, FOX renewed Sleepy Hollow for a second season. I think it'll have three seasons or The only complaint I have with this show (and pretty much every show) is that the episodes end a bit too conveniently; they're able to wrap up just before the hour is up. But that is a very minor complaint.
    If you liked this review, read my other ones on a wide selection of movies, TV shows, and videogames and mark this review as helpful.
    Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    This show has had a lot of mixed reviews since its release in early September and I only came across it myself recently. This show is by far the best NEW release this fall and had me gripped from episode one and sweating with anticipation for the next! I agree and acknowledge that the show wont be for everyone especially with the strength of the mythological roots that it holds in each episode. Would definitely recommend to any horror action fan!

    However due to the amount of mixed reviews, its not something I would bank on returning next year so if your looking for a series like supernatural or lost that will keep you entertained for a good few years, this is not the series for you. As always though this is not set in stone and for me is very much worth the risk.
    Expand
  4. Oct 11, 2013
    8
    Good show, interesting plot, great actors, pretty good dialogue.

    Only thing missing? Need better 'plot of the week' styled episodes.

    The
    main actor deserves a call out for his performance, and the writers too... for his lines. He OWNS the show. (but I kind of want the female cop to die, because she is way too much of the "skully" type.

    Skully-type Someone who should know better, but doesn't and gets away with it. Sillyness... get rid of her. Her sister is fine though!
    Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    Very promising. Mison is incredibly like-able as Ichabod Crane. Beharie, who places LT. Abbie Mills, is a little rough at first but finishes rather strong in my opinion. A bit fast paced but very like-able, entertaining, and manages to suck you in quite nicely. I'd happily give it a few more episodes, It seems rather promising. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Not a bad show but really guys, the Apocalypse again. Four horsemen, end of days, witnesses, kitchen sink. The writers of Johnny Depp's movie about the headless horseman legend rewrote the story in a far more effective and creative manner. This show (and, yes, I did give it a 7) reminds of the American Horror Story's writing formula. Throw absolutely everything at them and they'll love it. Not always. Cute, though, that the Orlando Jones character is named Capt. Irving. Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    I really did NOT enjoy this. The acting was barely satisfactory, the accents were completely forced. It seems like they tried too hard, and just made an awful mess of a great story. I would not recommend wasting your time watching it. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews