• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 16, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 222 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Ichabod Crane (Tom Mison) wakes up 200+ years in the future and meets Sleepy Hollow police Lieutenant Abbie Mills (Nicole Beharie). Together they aim to stop the headless horseman, who is the fourth horsemen of the Apocalypse.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Sep 15, 2013
    91
    Sleepy Hollow works because it approaches everything with a relatively straight face, yet never seems to be taking itself too seriously.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 16, 2013
    80
    It’s fun, it’s entertaining, it’s got some scares and some action and plenty of secrets to unveil.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 10, 2013
    75
    Suspend disbelief, not to mention your knowledge of Washington Irving's classic tale, because the illogical hodgepodge of myth premiering Monday night is great fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Cultural commentary mixed with the mystery, along with lavish production values, gives Irving’s tale a clever twist. The hour is trying to cover a lot of bases, but it may find its focus.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 3, 2013
    63
    Sleepy Hollow has an interesting premise and some terrific CGI effects (re: the Headless Horseman), but I didn’t buy into the show’s mystical/mythological/sci-fi overtones, a mishmash of history, witchcraft and muddled Biblical prophesy that left me confused instead of intrigued.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 16, 2013
    60
    Success is the exception for shows that try to weave mythologies this complex, and Sleepy Hollow falls back early on predictable conventions like having Abbie’s deceased ex-boss leave copious files on mysteries he could never solve.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Lucas
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    This could be a watershed moment in TV's long and inglorious history of idiocy, a drama that unintentionally almost matches Arrested Development for laughs.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 45
  2. Negative: 6 out of 45
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    I love, love, love, the show it keeps me wating more. I love how it reference the bible. The actors are great and I think they have greatI love, love, love, the show it keeps me wating more. I love how it reference the bible. The actors are great and I think they have great chemistry it makes you believe the story. I look forward to more seasons Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2014
    10
    An interesting show that adds an interesting twist to The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. It adds many interesting twists and fun "inaccuracies" likeAn interesting show that adds an interesting twist to The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. It adds many interesting twists and fun "inaccuracies" like referencing the Bible, adding twists to history, and even adding crazy twists to George Washington and Benjamin Franklin. This show has action, suspense, a few laughs, interesting plots, and simply the feel of Sleepy Hollow. If you like mystery, comedy, and monsters in present time, this is the right show for you! I mean what other show would depict the headless horseman with shotguns, or Ichabod Crane working for the police, or seeing Frankenstein face off against the headless horseman?!? Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    Great show. The season is very good with a lot of suspense, action, drama, character development, and surprises. The end of season left meGreat show. The season is very good with a lot of suspense, action, drama, character development, and surprises. The end of season left me wanting more. However, I was confused during some parts of it, but everything is explained as the series progresses. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    Great show. Not a big cop drama fan, so reluctant to watch. Glad I did it's keeps you watching with just the right amount of comedy,action,Great show. Not a big cop drama fan, so reluctant to watch. Glad I did it's keeps you watching with just the right amount of comedy,action, and drama. Really enjoy the combination of time travel, religion, and humor. Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    We'll see how this goes, but I liked the pilot overall. You have to suspend your disbelief a good deal, but only a little more than say someWe'll see how this goes, but I liked the pilot overall. You have to suspend your disbelief a good deal, but only a little more than say some of those cop or doctor shows which are nearly as fantastical. The pace was fast, and the production and acting was solid, and even has the promise of some good chemistry between the leads. The writers seem to be blending in different ideas, stories, and worlds. And I assume that in this alternate universe Irving never wrote the story of the Headless Horseman and Ichabod Crane. I hope they can make sense of the stories and ideas as they go, as there is the danger that this can turn into another Hero’s. Fingers crossed. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2013
    7
    Do you like Teen Wolf (TV), True Lies, Vampire Diaries kinda shows? If so, then you won't mind this. Nothing original...just another way toDo you like Teen Wolf (TV), True Lies, Vampire Diaries kinda shows? If so, then you won't mind this. Nothing original...just another way to pass a hour or so without feeling like watching a Duck Dynasty re-run. I wonder if it would last more than 2 Seasons though.... Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2014
    0
    Buffy the Vampire slayer reboot. The overacting and typical...two people talk, action scene, three people talk, multiple two people talk,Buffy the Vampire slayer reboot. The overacting and typical...two people talk, action scene, three people talk, multiple two people talk, action scene formula is so friggin tired....only people of lesser intelligence watch this show. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Trailers