• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 16, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Sleepy Hollow Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ichabod Crane (Tom Mison) wakes up 200+ years in the future and meets Sleepy Hollow police Lieutenant Abbie Mills (Nicole Beharie). Together they aim to stop the headless horseman, who is the fourth horsemen of the Apocalypse.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Horror, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Sep 15, 2013
    91
    Sleepy Hollow works because it approaches everything with a relatively straight face, yet never seems to be taking itself too seriously.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 16, 2013
    80
    It’s fun, it’s entertaining, it’s got some scares and some action and plenty of secrets to unveil.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 10, 2013
    75
    Suspend disbelief, not to mention your knowledge of Washington Irving's classic tale, because the illogical hodgepodge of myth premiering Monday night is great fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Cultural commentary mixed with the mystery, along with lavish production values, gives Irving’s tale a clever twist. The hour is trying to cover a lot of bases, but it may find its focus.
  5. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Oct 3, 2013
    63
    Sleepy Hollow has an interesting premise and some terrific CGI effects (re: the Headless Horseman), but I didn’t buy into the show’s mystical/mythological/sci-fi overtones, a mishmash of history, witchcraft and muddled Biblical prophesy that left me confused instead of intrigued.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 16, 2013
    60
    Success is the exception for shows that try to weave mythologies this complex, and Sleepy Hollow falls back early on predictable conventions like having Abbie’s deceased ex-boss leave copious files on mysteries he could never solve.
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Lucas
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    This could be a watershed moment in TV's long and inglorious history of idiocy, a drama that unintentionally almost matches Arrested Development for laughs.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    I love, love, love, the show it keeps me wating more. I love how it reference the bible. The actors are great and I think they have great chemistry it makes you believe the story. I look forward to more seasons Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    Love this show! Naturally it has some flaws, and sometimes the storylines and arcs can be difficult to follow, but the cast and scripts have found the perfect balance of drama, humour, social commentary and history (albeit, not quite what you read in the history books!) Love the Apocalyptical theme. Just wish there was more Headless Horseman on screen... when he first uses that pump-action shot gun, I was hooked! Please, please, don't cancel this show. Keep the writing and the characters strong because, apart from Almost Human and Sherlock, Sleepy Hollow is the only show on the box worth watching. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    Sleepy hollow is a pretty awesome show that involves crime, drama, mystery and fantasy. I loved the first few episodes tho literally I fell asleep during episode 6. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    8
    While I can see why one might have had doubts over this show after seeing the first episode, I have watched all of the ones aired so far and I think the show is great. I honestly don't see why people criticize this show for being generic and cliched. I liked Tom Mison as Ichabod Crane (who's incredibly like-able as Ichabod Crane) and Nicole Beharie as Abbie Mills and seeing the two of them be partners. I like the plots of each episode and the modern retelling of the old legend. The show will scare you with the occasional creepy scene, but it also has funny dialogue in the script as well. I will eagerly continue watch to see how this show turns out. This show looks very promising. (In case you were wondering, FOX renewed Sleepy Hollow for a second season. I think it'll have three seasons or so.)

    If you liked this review, read my other ones on a wide selection of movies, TV shows, and videogames and mark this review as helpful.
    Expand
  5. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    Very promising. Mison is incredibly like-able as Ichabod Crane. Beharie, who places LT. Abbie Mills, is a little rough at first but finishes rather strong in my opinion. A bit fast paced but very like-able, entertaining, and manages to suck you in quite nicely. I'd happily give it a few more episodes, It seems rather promising. Expand
  6. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've reserved judgement on this so far, but the introduction seems a bit interesting. However, I'm finding some of the characters flat thus far.

    Spoiler Alert below:

    Okay, so you've been handed a supernatural mission from beyond the grave, wake up 250 years later, everything is different, you're still wearing clothes appropriate to the era you died in, and lo and behold, it turns out you've been hauled back because your nemesis is out to do some Apocalypse Now, and the one thing you comment on is that the old livery stable is now a Starbucks.

    ...what?

    Not that your wife was burned at the stake (historically inaccurate as hell, the Salem witch trials didn't spread into New York and the last person to be executed in the US for witchcraft was a Huron named Leatherlips in the 19th century) not long after your death, not that you suddenly are presented with all modern technology in all its marvels, not that the town you died in that had a grand total of, say, 60 residents and now sports a good 150,000 or so.

    Nope, the most important thing to note is that you happen to be passing by a coffee place in a modern conveyance of a most speedy clip in a strangely new land.

    Granted, having been awoken by the fact that the guy you beheaded prior to dying is running around chopping people's heads off again might strain credulity in the first place, so why bother with little things like crazy fish-out-of-water situations in the midst of hunting down the personification of Death?

    Get it together, Sleepy Hollow writers. Either Ichabod is the most stable guy in all of the world (almost EXACTLY counterpoint to every single interpretation of the original Sleepy Hollow tale) or he's barely holding it together in the modern world.
    Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    horrible show...bad acting with a very slow plot! The Cast could have been better selected...No surprises, very predictable...mediocre show at best! Good luck surviving beyond season 1! Expand

See all 40 User Reviews