• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 16, 2001
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 10
Smallville Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Smallville tells the tale of a teenage Clark Kent in the days before he was Superman. It is the town where he came from where very strange things started happening with his arrival in a spaceship in the midst of a meteor storm of green rocks. Clark must deal with a variety of individualsSmallville tells the tale of a teenage Clark Kent in the days before he was Superman. It is the town where he came from where very strange things started happening with his arrival in a spaceship in the midst of a meteor storm of green rocks. Clark must deal with a variety of individuals given powers by the green rocks, keep his powers a secret, cope with his friendship with a young Lex Luthor, and balance the two girls in his life, Chloe and Lana. The show also shows us how Lex Luthor develops from a friend of Clark's and kinda-okay guy to (presumably) the villain who will plague Superman in his later years. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Smallville
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. The Hollywood Reporter
    Reviewed by: Barry Garron
    Aug 6, 2013
    90
    Purists might balk, but for the rest of us, the latest retelling of the Superman tale is a brilliant blend of tradition and contemporary sensibility. Not only is it a Superman for a new generation, it's a Superman for every generation. [15 Oct 2001]
  2. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    Aug 6, 2013
    90
    The writing is intelligent, wittily playing off our knowledge of the Superman lore, and the production values are on par with top-quality fantasy / sci-fi shows like "The X-Files."...Smallville is the most purely enjoyable dramatic series of the new season. Like Clark, this baby's destined to fly. [16 Oct 2001, p.B27]
  3. St. Louis Post-Dispatch
    Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 6, 2013
    80
    Only the darkness of the show is disconcerting. Poignancy is great, and presumably Clark will triumph in his battles against evil. But in post-Columbine, post-Sept. 11 America, humor has never been a more valuable commodity. If Smallville can strike the right balance, the series should fly. [16 Oct 2001, p.F1]
  4. The Detroit News
    Reviewed by: Tom Long
    Aug 6, 2013
    75
    Simply put, Smallville is super. A new spin on the modern myth of Superman, it's part action series, part teen romance and part high school drama, done with superior production values and featuring an array of new faces that could quickly become familiar. [16 Oct 2001]
  5. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Aug 6, 2013
    75
    Not to quibble about issues of plausibility in a story about a boy with superhuman powers who arrives on Earth on a spaceship from an alien planet, but the star of Smallville is just too beautiful to be believed. As a geek, that is. [16 Oct 2001, p.E-3]
  6. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Brandon Easton
    Aug 6, 2013
    75
    Possibly the best comic-book-to-TV-series ever made. It is a show that respects its source material without exaggerating the visceral bombast. It's a show that will entertain you in a single bound. [16 Oct 2001, p.44]
  7. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Aug 6, 2013
    20
    This entire personification of Superman is so whiny and self-pitying that it's really an insult to the comic book mythology. [16 Oct 2001, p.C01]

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    The Best Superman TV series Ever IMO. This show is even better than Superman Returns the Movie. Great cast, cool fight scenes( even tho theyThe Best Superman TV series Ever IMO. This show is even better than Superman Returns the Movie. Great cast, cool fight scenes( even tho they could be longer ) , great stories. We are in the last season now, season 10, i do hope they continue if the ratings pull way up, i think this show can go on for a few more seasons. I love this show and i enjoy ever min of it. :) Remember folks, Season 10 starts 9/24/2010 8pm Fridays. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    Hell yeah, season 1. Great cast and characterization (and Kristin Kreuk, what more could you want?). I feel like with most shows, theHell yeah, season 1. Great cast and characterization (and Kristin Kreuk, what more could you want?). I feel like with most shows, the storyline gets too convoluted as the seasons pass. Overall though, I would highly recommend this show. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    It almost seems pointless to write a review of Smallville since the show appeals to a very specific, niche group of fans. Of the 5 ratings,It almost seems pointless to write a review of Smallville since the show appeals to a very specific, niche group of fans. Of the 5 ratings, the average Metacritic score is 9.8. So...yet another 10 seems pointless. However, what I do want to write about is how rare Smallville is in terms of quality of live action shows based on comic books. Ever since the success of the Batman movie done by Tim Burton in 1989, Warner, who has since purchased DC Comics and done a magnificent jobs re-inventing the comic-based animated series with the Bruce Timm-produced Batman, Superman, Justice League and Batman Beyond programs, took a chance on a couple of live action versions of certain heroes. Birds of Prey wasn't as successful, but the Miles Millar and Alfred Gough-created concept, which initially appealed to comic fans and teenage drama watchers alike, has put a unique, yet sustainable and modern spin on the classic canon. I was never a fan of the Smallville-era Superboy/Lana Lang portion of the Superman mythos, but tying it to an early Lex and making it modern hooked me from day one. And now, 10 seasons later, the series has done wonders in transitioning to Metropolis, Lois Lane and even superb renditions of the Justice League. While Tom Welling may never win an Oscar for his acting ability, he has been the perfect naive farm boy learning his purpose in the world. I can't say enough about the appeal of Allison Mack as Chloe and the transition into Erica Durance's PERFECT portrayal of Lois Lane. I will be sad to see this show end in a few months. If you never got a chance to see this show and had any interest in Superman, buy the series on DVD/Blu Ray and spend time watching it. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2011
    8
    Smallville is a pretty great show. Spanning 10 years. Its about Clark Kent (A.K.A Superman). Who knew it could of last this long. The FirstSmallville is a pretty great show. Spanning 10 years. Its about Clark Kent (A.K.A Superman). Who knew it could of last this long. The First season was great, and the show seemed to loose its quality at the seasons kept coming. But the last season kind of put the spark back into it. It was a good show while it lasted. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2013
    7
    The first season of Smallville provides our first glimpse at Tom Welling's Clark Kent growing up. It is very fun, despite the fact that it hasThe first season of Smallville provides our first glimpse at Tom Welling's Clark Kent growing up. It is very fun, despite the fact that it has no real arc to speak of and most of the episodes are based around high school monsters of the week. The interactions between the characters and the great cast involved keep it interesting, such as the developing friendship between Clark and Michael Rosenbaum's Lex Luthor and Luthor's own awkward relationship with his father Lionel. The highlights are probably ''X-Ray'' and the finale ''Tempest'', which ends the season on several riveting cliffhangers. Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2016
    6
    The epitome of bipolar tv shows. When it is good, it is fantastic, but when its bad, its indescribably bad and unfortunately there are so manyThe epitome of bipolar tv shows. When it is good, it is fantastic, but when its bad, its indescribably bad and unfortunately there are so many filler episodes and bad actors that it drags the show down considerably. 1st let talk about the good. Tom Welling does a good job at playing a young confused and immature Clark who is about to enter adulthood. He does not overact (often) and his relationship with Lex was well portrayed though it started to get silly towards the middle seasons. The real star of this show is Lex (Mike Rosenbaum). He is the best Lex Luthor of any show or movie I have seen despite the many plot holes in various episodes and his journey from a wishful well meaning teen to a paranoid pathological villain, at the hands of his father (also a great character in the show), was really heart breaking to watch (in a good way). The show really struggled when Lex was removed for a few seasons, that is how good he was.

    But not all is good in this show. For one thing, Lana Lang is unbearably atrocious (both the actor and character). She has one facial expression and her character is very one sided and plain stupid. To make matters worse, they kept her alive through the whole series, and she remained an interest of Clark to the end despite how stupid her character is. On top of that, whenever she is around, Clark loses about 95 IQ points and becomes a complete retard making the episodes she was involved in, nearly unwatchable. They should have killed her like they did in the comics. Other horrible actors and characters include the green burrito (Oliver) and Pete who was a mopey mess in high school and became even more mopey and dopey as an adult.

    I really liked Louis Lane (Erica Durance) and thought that she played the best Louis of any production to date as well. Chloe was also a good character and unlike the two rejects, Lana and Pete, she actually develops over the seasons and was a pleasure to watch.

    Definitely a show worth watching overall but many episodes are horribly bad as are some of the supporting characters.
    Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    Superman can't fly.....what a pity! If I remember my comic books, he started flying even as a baby and even his dog "Krypto" flew. This showSuperman can't fly.....what a pity! If I remember my comic books, he started flying even as a baby and even his dog "Krypto" flew. This show is a disappointment to the entire franchise! Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books

    Ranked: Best/Worst TV Shows Based on Comic Books Image
    Published: June 18, 2015
    Find rankings for all TV series based on comics and graphic novels from the past 30 years.
  2. Ranked: Best and Worst Superhero TV Series

    Ranked: Best and Worst Superhero TV Series Image
    Published: September 27, 2010
    This week's new ABC series "No Ordinary Family" is the latest in a long line of superhero TV shows. We take a look back at the best and worst examples of the genre.